We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cathedral bells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barock Hotel am Dom
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This hotel is close to the cathedral and center of the old town of Bamberg. It is small and charming, and you can see the tower of the cathedral from the window. In the morning I loved listening to the chiming bells. Our room was on the ground floor which was OK but the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor were even better, with windows that opened wide. The high ceilings made the room feel spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining and finding places. The front door is locked at night and the key code is a little tricky so be sure to test it before you leave if you are planning to come back late at night. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is in the old part of town that was built centuries before there were cars, so be sure you have a good map because it is hard to find; the streets are narrow. We had to unload our bags and then park at a public garage across the river, but this was Ok, because you really don't want to drive in Bamberg. It is a great place to walk.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Barock Hotel am Dom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2006

The hotel is in a house built in 1520 on the site of an even earlier building. Located on a quiet cobbled street in the city centre, it offers all comforts and in how many other places can you breakfast in a vault dating back to the 15thC? There are several other nice touches such as the sweets freely available at the reception desk.

The owner Christine is a native Bamberger and with her partner Andries, is a mine of information on what to see and do in the city. They recommended an excellent restaurant nearby, and Christine even organised a personal walking tour of the city for us with a guide who lives nearby for just 10 euros! Parking is however very limited and reasonably priced overnight parking is available at an underground car park about five minutes walk away.

The Barock Hotel offers a warm welcome and we would recommend it to anyone planning to visit Bamberg.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

The Barock Hotel am Dom is a great two star hotel right in the center of Bamburg. It's in generally a quiet neighborhood, without much traffic or cafes. The breakfast was very good, and inlcudes a soft-boiled egg. The staff is friendly, speaks perfect English, and is helpful in making suggestions of things to see in the town. The room itself was a little dingy. Our double room was very narrow and had two single beds end-to-end. It was advertised as having a view of the Cathedreal, but the view was really of a retaining wall that supports the Cathedreal. But, we got a good night's sleep and had a good breakfast, which is really the point.

Note that the reception closes at 8PM, so you need to be sure to arrive before then.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AndyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

The Barock Hotel is in a beautiful historic building literally feet away from the famous Bamberg Cathedral. Neighborhood is extremely quiet, hotel is well kept with nice, helpful owners. Breakfast was great in a beautiful room with a vaulted ceiling. All modern conveniences and comfortable bed. Rooms were quite big as well. The location was also great -- right in the historic heart of the city. There is also free internet access for guests in the lobby. Very reasonably priced. Would recommend to anyone going to Bamberg.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MonicaSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 August 2002

Frau Goller - owner/proprietor speaks English fluently. She is a wonderful innkeeper who enjoys sophisticated American visitors. Fabulous location in Alt Stadt Bamberg -old town. I have been staying at Barock Hotel am Dom for over 15 years - every time that I visit Bamberg. Moderate price, great authentic atmosphere.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chiedere le stanze al piano alto che si affacciano sul Dom
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank larossPavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#8 of 40 in Bamberg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barock Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barock Hotel am Dom

Address: Vorderer Bach 4, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range: £96 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barock Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barock Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barock Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing