We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, incredibly basic”
Review of Hotel Brudermuehle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Brudermuehle
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, incredibly basic”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Firstly, the location is fantastic. Slap-bang in the centre of town, right beside the river and oh-so-picturesque. However the rooms are BASIC. Think YMCA basic. The bed is like a cot and the pillow is non-existent. Have you ever crashed out in a mate's house? Slept on a sofa? If so, you will be well prepared for this hotel.
Oh, and don't expect to come rolling in at the heady hour or, say, 12:30 and expect to be greeted by a roaring fore and a warm welcome. Think locked door, ringing the bell and being greeted by a pissed hotel owner in scruffy, torn tracksuit bottoms <shudders at the memory> ....
The breakfast was OK, though be prepared to be welcomed with the Bavarian charm of a calving iceberg.

Avoid.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJennette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    32
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
39
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We came to Bamberg for a day trip to visit the Romanesque Cathedral. Bamberg is a charming town. A Festival was occuring so we decided to stay for the night and found a small apartment from the Hotel Brudermuhle. What started out on the surface seemed to be a wonderful night with a charming view of Old Center and Dam ended up with someone from the Hotel with a key breaking into our room in the middle of the night and robbing us! The Management did not believe that we were robbed even after locking our door! The outside door was never locked either as we were assured that it would be. Be aware of this establishment! The management are aparently in the side business of taking advantage of travelers. Don't be lulled into thinking you are safe. These people and the staff are theives! They even had the nerve to charge us for the night stay we did pay however...we would never recomend this place to anyone! There is no way to secure your safety and valuables!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother you can find something safer and more beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

last December, 2013 we did a reservation for two nights as a regular reservation, we couldn`t arrived and the hotel charged the no show for two nights instead the first night, Hotel arbitrarily charge two nights when that was not the agreement, we are aware to pay the first night as a penalty but not all nights, has contacted the hotel and no response by mail, in truth is a lot of care to deal with this hotel bad attention on problem solutions

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank RMC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is right in the center of historic Bamberg, along the water. We had an amazing room on the water, directly above the dam and weir. We loved the sound of the rushing water at night with our window open, but if you are a light sleeper you might want a room facing another direction.

There are many restaurants within an easy walking distance and the hotel has a very nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it. the location can't be beat..right next to the #1 sight in Bamberg..the staff was very nice, good selection for breakfast.internet is 2 euros for 12 hours. The negatives are..we were put in a room overlooking the parking lot and being unseasonably hot, we had to keep the windows open. since its right in the center of everything, next to bars and and restaurants, it's very noisy til very late, around 2 am it quieted down. I think it's a little expensive for the rooms unless you can get a room with a view over the river. Also their restaurant is very popular being next to the rathaus

Room Tip: rooms with view, stay away from the street side, very noisy
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
456 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A great place to stay in Bamberg! Located right along the river with great views of the Rathause. Everything is within walking distance of hotel, so location can't be beat.

Rooms: Bed and Breakfast style rooms with no thrills.

Price: Comparable to other hotels with worse locations.

Food: Breakfast is free and has plenty of options. Ate outside several nights and had great experience. Food was not bad or pricey.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Our room overlooked the square which could be a little noisy at night but otherwise everything was fine. Room was clean & comfortable. Unfortunately there was no safe in the room. Breakfasts were great and we ate downstairs one night & that was good too.
Location is super central.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brudermuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brudermuehle

Property: Hotel Brudermuehle
Address: Schranne 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brudermuehle 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brudermuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudermuehle Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing