We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming setting, convenient location, but pricey”
Review of Hotel Brudermuehle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brudermuehle
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Reviewed 22 August 2009

It would be hard to find a more conveniently located hotel in beautiful Bamberg. It would also be hard to find a hotel in the city with a more charming setting. Backing onto the river, the hotel sits very close to the famous and highly impressive Bamberg Rathaus and right beside a quaint, flower-lined wooden footbridge across the water. The hotel is in the old town, close to the fabulous Dom and very near to the city's numerous and wonderful brauhaus. For us, it was a perfect base. The breakfast buffet was also very good and the room was modern and comfortable.

That was the wonderful. Now for the weird...

The staff were confused and at sea when we arrived, and our room smelt strongly of roasting hamhock when we entered it. We also raised an eyebrow when we saw one member of staff applying clingfilm to the hotel stairs and another applying tinfoil to the walls of a makeshift kitchen at the front of the building. Thankfully there was an expanation for these intricisies: Brudermeuhle was readying for Bamberg's enormous annual beer festival, which (sadly) began the day we left.

The hotel is family run and friendly and due to its location, we wouldn't hesitate to recomend it. However, the location comes at a price. Our two nights at Berdermeuhle cost more than three nights at the exceptional hotel we stayed at just before in Garmisch-Partenkichen.

A tip for anyone booking - ask for a room overlooking the river. Our room overlooked the front, which meant that when we opened our windows, we were over-powered by the smell of food from below.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTripperBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed here in June after booking a triple room with an extra bed and extra baby cot. However, our reservation on booking.com turned out to be for a triple room with a baby cot only. As it turns out, triple rooms can only accommodate one extra bed, nothing more. I am pretty sure booking.com's website says max 2 extra beds allowed - in our experience, not so. Therefore we had to get an extra room (120 euro extra) in addition to our 155 euro triple room.

The rooms are recently renovated, bathrooms (albeit small) also renovated with Yves Rocher lotion and shower gel/shampoo. Free wireless is available throughout the hotel. The parking is relatively far - across the bridge - and pricey (12 euro/day), although an on-site 4 euro/day parking option is advertised (but none was available). The staff is nice, friendly and accommodating, but the reception desk is often not attended. Not very safe or convenient if you're in a hurry trying to get your room key. The on-site restaurant is very good, for both breakfast and dinner (didn't try the lunch). The hotel/restaurant are both kid-friendly, even if some of the customers are less so.

Overall, a nice experience and we did enjoy Bamberg. The inconsistencies between booking details requested and what the hotel can offer should be resolved.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

After a week of sub par hotel stays I made it to the Brudermuehle and was thrilled. Its a beautiful little hotel in a great location right on the river in old Bamberg. The rooms were big, clean, and very comfortable. I never ate in the restaurant but heard it was outstanding. The staff was quick to bring up your luggage, delivery a beer, and recommend sight seeing areas around the city. Definitley a gem of a hotel in a wonderful sight seeing town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thertzler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We normally return to Bamberg every year having been stationed there in the l960's. We love everything about Bamberg. The people are very friendly and the city is known for its beauty. The last time we stayed there overnight, we stayed at this Hotel and found it to be exactly what we wanted. The food was very good - wide choice of foods at breakfast, and absolutely the best schnitzel anywhere around. The owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank charlotte08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

I stayed in a double room at this hotel for a few days in December. The hotel is extremely charming and in the perfect location to walk everywhere in Bamberg. Make sure to request a room over looking the water- we felt like we were floating! Breakfast was included and it was perfect- lots of breads/cheeses. The only negative was that there is really no service at the hotel- not that we really needed it BUT I had been traveling around Europe for 2 weeks and we were staying in American hotels with over the top service. Comparatively, this hotel failed in that aspect. We didn’t have anyone to carry our bags down (we were on the second floor, bags were heavy) and the front desk woman was really rude when we checked out. She didn’t want to store our luggage for the few hours before our train departed nor would she allow us to split the room on two credit cards- all of this coupled by some serious eye rolling on her part. An extremely nice gentleman intervened and split the room charge and also stored the bags. Not really a big deal and not enough for me to deter staying there again or recommending the hotel- I would do both. Some people are just miserable by nature. Overall Bamberg is a gorgeous city and well worth the visit. If you have enough time- do a day trip to Nurnberg- also well worth seeing. If you can get there in the next two weeks the Christmas market there is the biggest in Germany. Feel free to email with any questions.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2007

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Brudemuhle in October. It was lovely and in a great location in the center of the city. Everything was within walking distance. The Bamberg Information Office was just over the pedestrian bridge outside the hotel. Rooms were very clean, staff helpful and the breakfast buffet had a great variety of items. Dinner was excellent as well. We did have a little trouble getting to the hotel.

Some of the streets in the central area had construction and we had to do detours. There are many pedestrians, bikes and other cars in the area, so we really had to be careful with the driving. After much patience and a second loop around the area, we arrived safely. Parking was a few blocks away in a public lot.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

On the spur of the moment we decided to take a bike trip along the Main River when the bad weather over Easter finally disappeared. After researching hotels in Bamberg where we decided to begin, I chose the Brudermuhle. I'm so happy I did. It was one of the best hotels we've stayed at in recent years. We arrived on our bikes from the train station and were immediately shown where we could lock them up for the night. We had a room right on the water which was pretty loud, like being next to a waterfall. We slept like babies. The room was very nice and we much appreciated the little things that were there, like a figure on the wall with needles and thread for mending. (See picture.)

We don't usually eat in the hotel we stay at but the smells coming from the restaurant when we arrived convinced us to try it out and we had a very good evening meal. Breakfast the next morning was even better. I think I would go back just for the breakfast that they offered.

The hotel is very centrally located, just a few minutes on foot from the cathedral and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Bamberg is a lovely town and we will certainly be back in order to spend another night in this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank living-in-germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brudermuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brudermuehle

Address: Schranne 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bamberg
Price Range: £124 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brudermuehle 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brudermuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudermuehle Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing