We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay above a brewery!”
Review of Spezial

Spezial
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spezial
Ranked #5 of 12 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay above a brewery!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Brauerai Spezial was probably one of our favourite stays of our Germany trip.

It is located within an easy walk from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station), before you cross the bridge into the center of town. The accommodation is located above the brewery and appeared newly built. We had a large bedroom and clean and spacious modern bathroom.

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate and was a filling, German style buffet.

One of the highlights was drinking a Rauchbier (smoked beer) downstairs in the traditionally Bavarian Spezial pub which was poured fresh from the keg.

We were within an easy walk of all the sights of Bamberg which really is a lovely town.

We would absolutely recommend Spezial Brauerai to anyone who wants a more cosy and traditional experience, and also to anyone who loves German beer.

Room Tip: We chose a room with ensuite, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

In Bamberg for Bieres sans Frstaff ontieres meeting. Spezial is on walk from hauptbahnhof and city centre. Family Merz and staff make you welcome, with room, food and beers upto a high standard. Buffet Breakfast is just what is required, if you cannot find it ask the breakfast staff.And don't foreget. to take a walk up to Spezial Bierkeller on otherside of city.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salopcamraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a brewery with rooms above. We stayed in the newly renovated rooms (we were the first) and they are lovely. Well thought out. Breakfast is hearty (included). And you can have a bedtime beer before going to your room. Easy walk from the train station. Easy walk over the bridge to the "old town". Warning: no elevator. You need to be able to carry your bags up the stairs. No internet available. There is a laundromat next door that you can connect to the internet for a fee if you absolutely need to get online. And you can do your laundry while you surf! I heard that Bamberg is trying to wire the town but has not happened yet.

Room Tip: The only downside is that we got a room facing the street and we had 2 or 3 weekend nights of interr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This brewery is a little way out of the bustling and tourist areas BUT it is situated on the main train station side of the Bamberg. The walk into town and the famous tourist attractions is only about 5 -10 minutes away. We just LOVED our two nights here. Really good value for money, wonderful atmosphere, great traditional food and excellent Rauch (smoked) beer. Even the rooms, although fairly simple, are spacious and comfortable with well equipped bathrooms. I also loved the quaint beer garden in the central courtyard. Perfect place to relax after a days sightseeing. They even supplied us with safe parking for our car just behind the building in an underground parking garage. The staff were friendly and most hospitable. The fact that this brewery was constantly "packed" with people eating, drinking and chatting, simply says it all. Brauerei Spezial is an absolute must for a quick stopover in Bamberg!!! Cannot wait to go back...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waveracercraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Rauchbier was not quite as good as the Rauchbeir at Schlenkerla. I did like the atmosphere better at Spezial. After I had some beer and my wife had some wine we had some fun conversations with the locals. The Germans are amazing and I am grateful to their politeness to Americans who speak horrible German. I would go to Schlenkerla to drink beer but to have fun Spezial is my kind of place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Bamberg has many many places to eat and drink to suit all tastes. However, Brauerei Zum Spezial, as its name suggests, is special. It is a traditional Bamberg, half timbered brewery/pub. It brews a a very delicious and moreish smoked beer much loved by the locals and visitors lucky enough to try it. The food is very traditional, good and portions are large. Whenever I go to Bamberg (which is quite frequently) I try to stop here as guests of the Family Mertz. I'm not always successful because it only has seven (I believe) rooms. The rooms are quiet and very clean.Breakfast is simple but good. TV has been installed recently but it is all German channels - had there been a variety of countries represented it would have got another star. But hey, you're not in Bamberg to watch the telly! If the weather is fine go to the Spezial-Keller(beer garden) in the evening (800 seats and in Sternwartstrasse). The guesthouse is centrally situated enabling the visitor to sample many of the Bamberg beers. Don't miss Schlenkerla or Mahrs breweries.
One feature of all the Bamberg kellers is that as long as you drink their beer you can take your own food and have a picnic - and many families do! Cooked meals are also available. There are other beer gardens in this area and they are worth visiting.
There is building work going on next to the brewery and I believe this to be adding more hotel capacity to Spezial. Bamberg is well worth visiting (I have been going there for thirty+ years) and I still manage to find new experiences and re-live old ones. I believe the name Spezial comes from the local dialect word "Spezeln" meaning a gathering of friends. If Bamberg is the heaven of beers then Zum Spezial is surely the pearly gates!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front may occasionally suffer from noise from "over refreshed" revellers and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very reasonable priced rooms, right above the brewery. Well, actually rooms are on the second floor, so you´ll experience no noise from the restaurant.
Within walking distance of everything Bamberg has to offer! The perfect spot, if you want to do a beer tasting tour of Bamberg and the surrounding area.

Rooms are very basic: No TV, no phone, no safe, no WIFI. “Just” a bed, small desk, chairs, closet and bathroom with toilet and shower. But it´s all clean and quiet.

Breakfast is served in a small and cozy room in the restaurant (First room on your left when you enter).
Let the staff now the night before, when you intend to get up the next day, and they´ll have the breakfast ready when you come down. Just perfect.
Simple breakfast (Selection of bread, boiled eggs, coffee/tea, juice, yogurt), but plenty to give you a good start on the day.

The restaurant serves good traditional food (Big portions) and some of the best beer in Bamberg.
Many locals, not many tourists. OPen for lunch (Until 14.00) and dinner.

Let them know if you arrive by car. Underground parking is available.

Fässla brewery is directly opposite the Spezial brewery.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel National
Hotel National
#19 of 40 in Bamberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spezial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spezial

Property: Spezial
Address: Obere Koenigstr. 10, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing