We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewery Hotel”
Review of Fassla Brewery

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fassla Brewery
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Granville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brewery Hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

During my lastest trip to Germany I stayed in the Hotel Fassla Brewery. This is a working brewery with the hotel on the floors above it. Not many people can say they stayed in a brewery. The downside is there is no elevator and you must carry your suitcase up to your room. The rooms are very nice as are the bathrooms. They were a good size and very clean. They have a bier garden and it is a nice place to sit and enjoy one of their brews. They have a "magic window" where you just walk up and buy your bier, no need to go into the bar or restaurant if all you want is a bier and want to sit in the bier garden. The restaurant is small but the food is very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lowest floor so you don't have to carry you bags up to many flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck50390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    42
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
39
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wow---what a find. Booked Fassla as a surprise for my husband on our return trip from Austria post Christmas. We both enjoy good beer and German food but this place surpassed expectations. It is a genuine old working brewery---hence the cheap beer but now has some very modern clean ensuite rooms too. Read other reviews and cannot understand why anypne would be upset by the lack of a 'front desk' or a command of English.
I booked by email. Received a prompt reply and the staff and other customers were very welcoming.
After one of the best hotel showers I have ever experienced---hot and plenty of pressure---we had a lovely breakfast.
Remember---it is a working brewery and very popular with the locals so be prepared to immerse yourself in some old fashioned hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roefamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for the Christmas markets which are just a short stroll (300m) away. This appears to be a brewery/pub/restaurant with a hotel sideline in as much as this is where the staff attention is focussed. Parking is conveniently around the back and free. Double comfort room was spacious and clean. No fridge but that is not unusual in Germany it seems. Soap was not supplied and had to be requested. There is no lift and the hotel rooms go to the 3rd floor so be prepared for some stair climbing. Restaurant menu is in German and most of the serving staff do not speak English but fortunately one young lady was able to give us a basic translation. Food nothing special but perfectly adequate and reasonably priced. Their beer was tasty. Breakfast was included, plentiful and kept stocked. Overall a good stay which would have been improved if I had taken the time to learn something other than basic German.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fassla on the 9th/10th of October. We stayed in a comfort double room which was clean and tidy. There was a continental style breakfast buffet which did a very good pot of Earl Grey tea. The Fassla is in a good location about 10-15 minute walk to the train station and about 10-15 minute walk to the old town. The beer in the Fassla is excellent and I would recommend the Gold Pils.The staff were very helpful and spoke good English, I would have no hesitation in staying here again.
Andrew King
Nottingham
England

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A short walk from the train station and near-by pedestrian walkway. I communicated with staff in somewhat broken German and they seemed appreciative. I was able to make a reservation by emailing with them. The comfort double room was spacious, clean, and bright. Breakfast was crowded each morning, but with ample basics like coffee, meat, rolls, and cheese. The bed was comfortable and we also had a couch in the room. The only complaint would be the lack of wifi and the street noise, although, it was the Kirchweih celebration so the town seemed unusually busy. We ended each night by sampling the beer and listening to the exuberant locals until closing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was very clean but basic. Our room unfortunately was at the front of the hotel so we suffered from constant noise of traffic as we had to have the windows open due to the heat. The breakfast was adequate and staff were polite but not over friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcfc_fan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This brewery hotel is situated just outside the old tow a walkable 5 minute stroll. But it really is a great place to stay we had a terrific room on the corner (ask for 206) airy and spacious with a sofa as well to relax on after a day sight seeing in Bamberg. Comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. The breakfast was ample the usual German affair with cheese cold meat boiled eggs plus the usual cornflakes as well. The staff are friendly and you can relax in the bar after a hard days sightseeing. In a brewery 350 years old there is no elevator and no wifi. One other point when you call be prepared to speak German as the lady who might answer the phone does not speak English. If you have a car they will let you park in the brewery car park for 3 euros a day which is good because parking in Bamberg is tight and the car park will set you back 16 euros a day But over all what a great place to stay and a bargain at 65 euros for a double room with breakfast

Room Tip: Room 206 on the corner is a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_In_Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fassla Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fassla Brewery

Property: Fassla Brewery
Address: Obere Koenigstr. 19-21, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Fassla Brewery Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing