We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, But Not Great, Apartment in One of the Best Towns in Germany”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Weierich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Weierich
Ranked #3 of 12 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK, But Not Great, Apartment in One of the Best Towns in Germany”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We're budget travelers. I had originally booked a small double room at the hotel, but changed my mind after seeing that one of their apartments was available at a much lower rate.

We stayed 3 nights in the rear, ground-floor apartment on Mitteler Kaulberg Strasse. I have mixed feelings about our stay. You get what you pay for here.

Upon arrival at Hotel Weierich to pick up our keys, we were greeted by a somewhat frenzied gal who hurriedly pointed up the hill and told us to look for a red house. Whoa, slow down... I needed more specifics than that. Although I had looked up the street address before we arrived, I had to ask her to give it to me again. Finally, after much back and forth using my high school German, she then pulled out a xeroxed map (why she didn't do this initially, I don't know) and we were sent on our way. Thank goodness we're light packers and very fit, for the hill was a bit steep and the apartment seemed much further away than I had figured out on Google maps.

It was up to us to figure out which apartment door to enter, as there were several apartments in the same building. We finally found it, through the lobby, then through the back door into the courtyard. There were nice complimentary bottles of spring water in the building stairwell, as well as a basket of toilet paper.

The apartment, at first glance, was pretty nice and newly renovated with basic IKEA furnishings, including a nice kitchenette. There was ample storage and a small table/chairs. The bathroom was modern and the entire place was pretty clean.

It did have a few issues, though: The pillows were dreadful. Absolutely the cheapest, thinnest things I've ever experienced in a hotel. We had to fold them 3 times to get them to support our heads. We are not usually complainers, but after our first day, we left a note on the bulletin board in the stairwell that had a sign "If our guests need anything, please leave a note." Well, we did, but no one replaced our pillows. We made do the second night (didn't realize they weren't replaced until we returned to the apartment after the Weierich's front desk was closed). By the third day, we had given up.

The bathroom needs a better shower curtain, because water covers the entire bathroom floor each time one showers. It's a drag to have a wet floor for hours, sometimes all day.

If you rent the apartment, you won't get maid service (which was fine with us), nor will you get extra towels for your stay. We made do for 3 days with our 2 towels, figured we'd have as much luck getting fresh towels as we did getting new pillows.

There was a door missing from the wardrobe, which made it look like a rummage sale piece. The bed did not have a headboard. And the curtains/blinds are an issue. The door has a glass window that was feebly covered in a tattered blind, which had some of its slats missing. Anyone outside, looking in, could have seen us in bed. At night, I hung a towel over most of the door. The other blinds are too narrow for the window openings, but they had curtains over them, as well. The rods were about a foot longer than the windows. It sure was a bit odd.

The heat worked well, and it was quiet. I imagine in the summertime noise would be an issue, for our apartment overlooked another apartment's patio and outdoor garden area. So if folks are outside sitting or having a drink, you'll hear it all. And they'll see you, in your fishbowl apartment.

But, it was a cheap place to stay. But, if and when we return to Bamberg -- which knocked our socks off, by the way -- we won't stay here. In fact, we won't stay at the Hotel Weierich, either. It was a odd place -- the lobby was in disarray, with luggage and piles of papers and manila folders, plus a food cart or something in the middle of the place. We only saw the one staff person, who seemed to be constantly running. She wasn't unpleasant, she just didn't have time for pleasantries and we certainly didn't feel that welcomed.

The area of town where the hotel is located is somewhat quiet at night. There are restaurants and a few pubs/breweries, but we crossed the river almost every night for our meals or to hit a brewery. Next time, we'll stay on that side.

Bamberg was absolutely phenomenal, one of the prettiest cities I've ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    75
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
82
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
708 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We had room 5 on the first floor this time. The room was nice, decent sized, very clean, with a small but very clean bathroom. We had three windows, a large schrank, along with a couch and table/chairs. We had a few small issues that weren't worth reporting: the soap dispenser at the sink was empty (the same dispenser in the shower was full so no big deal), the shower appeared to, at one time, have had doors but now had a curtain. I hate shower curtains but it was clean. Lastly, and this isn't the hotel's fault, we were there in late November so of course it was cold outside. The bar/restaurant downstairs was packed Saturday night with apparently lots and lots of smokers. Some of that smoke found its way into the lobby and our room; not horribly strong, but we could smell cigarette smoke. The following morning the smell was gone and did not return Sunday night.

The location of the hotel is great; about two blocks from Bamberg's beautiful rathaus. Our corner room was away from the main road so we heard no road noise whatsoever (of course our windows were closed). Restaurants and shops are literally below and next door and the famous Dom is about 200-300 meters walk away. Parking on the street is quite difficult but we did manage to snag a couple spaces while there and only once had to feed the parkschein automat!

Breakfast was pretty good with the standard German fare. The bread selection was not stellar but adequate. Boiled eggs were the only warm/hot food but that is not a complaint. Coffee was plentiful.

This was our second stay at Hotel Weierich. When we return (probably next year) we'll no doubt stay here again. And lucky for us Americans, they accept VAT forms so we all avoid paying the German VAT for the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Central, clean, good value. Good breakfast. Near to all the pretty sights in the centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent: in the heart of downtown only minutes from both the Dom area and the shopping erea. Bamberg is a beautiful city (on the UNESCO list). Because of the many one-way streets in Bamberg, you may need a good map or GPS to find the hotel, but make sure you do find it for the hotel is excellent. We stayed with 4 adults in a single room, which turned out to be a two room suite with a full bathroom for the low price of Euro 135. I believe the hotel does not have an elevator. The breakfast was superb. The staff provided a good map to the nearby public parking garage (5 minute walk) and stored our luggage on the last day. If you expect to arrive very late, notify the staff in advance; I believe the office is not manned during the late evening and night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it to be adequate for our needs. Somehow we ended up getting a room that was split into 2 rooms (bedroom and bathroom) even though there were just 2 of us. It ended up turning out great since we had a lot of room to spread our 3 suitcases about. The bathrooms were very clean and the rooms were pretty quiet. Breakfast was decent---breads, meat, cheese, cereal, soft boiled eggs.

The hotel is very close to most of the attractions and several decent restaurants.

The wifi was a bit iffy. It would work in one of the bedrooms but the signal was not strong enough for the other bedroom.

I would stay in this hotel again if I ever came back to Bamberg, which I highly doubt I ever will. I found the town a bit dull.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beccal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I arrived on Sunday by train from Franfurth, it was a short 10 minute cab ride (less than 8 Euro's) to the Hotel. Our room was ready and we where well recieved by the staff. The hotel is located in the middle of the old town and there is something to see and do around every corner. We loved the location, staff, morning breakfast and overall feel of the Hotel. We plan to stay there again. It was a very pleasant stay, we where sad to leave.

Room Tip: Try the butcher shop next door and the bakery across the street, you can get great germany meats, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sojette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We loved this hotel. My husband, mother in law and daughter stayed here for a weekend getaway. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was large, we had one room for us and another with two single beds where our daughter slept in the crib provided by the hotel. My mother in law had a single room and was a decent size and impeccably clean. We enjoyed breakfast. Everything was perfect in our minds and the location could not be better to enjoy all the sights Bamberg has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevinandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#8 of 40 in Bamberg
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weierich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weierich

Property: Hotel Weierich
Address: Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weierich 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels with a very nice flair in the center of the old city. You can reach everythig by feet in 2 or 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Weierich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weierich Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing