We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great service”
Review of Hotel Weierich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Weierich
Ranked #3 of 12 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked the Weierich through the Bamberg tourist agency's beer trip which turned out to be a great idea because it was so central and less than a minute from the Schlenkerla where dinner was booked as part of the trip. There is a great bakery across the road and you're close too all the attractions and breweries in Bamberg.
When we arrived an envelope was waiting for us at the desk with all our trip details. All the staff were so pleasant and helpful from booking in to holding our bags and ordering a taxi when we were leaving and letting me take a plate of breakfast food up to the room when my boyfriend couldn't make it down one morning

The hotel is quirky with fun decor from all times and places. It's like the home of an eccentric old aunt! The rooms, in contrast, are plain and simple but everything is functional. The shower was really strong. There was no mirror in the room and just one in the bathroom over the sink that was quite high- at 5'1" I had to stand on my tiptoes to put on my make-up so it's annoying not to be able to see what you look like going out. That would be my only complaint.

We were in room 3 on the first floor.

Breakfast had cereal, fruit and yoghurt choices but I mainly stuck with the amazing cheeses and breads. And lemon cake for breakfast! There was also a decent cold meat selection and the coffee was good.

I hope to visit Bamberg again and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be a lift but there are lots of stairs so if you have difficultly with stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    79
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
86
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A very old hotel in the middle of Bamberg which is good for sightseeing and all restaurants and cafes. The only disagreeable thing about it,(which spoiled the atmosphere of this old hotel) was the room decor. Very utility type 1950s - 1960s furniture,rather strange for such an old "romantic" looking hotel!

Saying that,it was a great location and the breakfast was very good. Staff also were very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't expect the rooms to be very modern or up to date in decor and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of four ( Mum, Dad & two boys 11 & 14) from Sydney Australia stayed here in September 2013. We had a wonderful family room in this lovely quiet hotel. Great central location in old city centre - parked our car a few minutes walk away in public parking station. Walking distance to all historic sites in scenic Bamberg. Great breakfast dining area. The highest recommendation for this hotel!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
707 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This time we were in room 27 on the second floor. This standard room is larger than other standard rooms. As always the room was very clean and everything worked properly. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

The location two blocks from the rathaus is great. Bamberg is an easily walked city and this location is close to both sides of the Regnitz River with the dom only a couple blocks walk as well.

This is a very nice hotel that we like a lot. Beware their prices are increasing pretty dramatically in 2014 (about € 20 per night more). To be fair their prices have been stable in the three or four years we've been staying here so an increase is not out of order.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great hotel in a great city and perfectly located - walking distance to the Dom Platz & cathedral, the magnificent bridge, shops, restaurants - everything so easy & accessible. When we booked in somehow we ended up with the family suite - 2 large bedrooms and as expected everything was spotless and comfortable. Free WIFI in the rooms.
The breakfast is magnificent - and served downstairs in a lovely room - plenty of choice. The owners were helpful and friendly - so welcoming.
It is a distance from the train station - 25 minute walk as we found out so we decided to catch a taxi to the station when we left Bamberg. This is such a pretty town and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very friendly staff and an excellent location - right in the heart of everything - and importantly near to the bridge. Parking was a little bit of a hassle, but thankfully we were travelling light. Those that have a lot of suitcases might struggle, as the nearest cheap (we paid €7) car park for overnight stays is about 10 minutes walk.

The room was a great size. Leaving an apple on each pillow was very cute and very much appreciated! Breakfast was superb - on a par with a Radisson. Tons of choice with breads (I think from the bakery opposite?), cheeses, meats and decent coffee. The Wifi was good and handy.

Be careful if you have little ones here. They leave the internal stained glass windows open whilst you walk to your room. It's very easy (as our little person did) to bang your head straight into one of these open windows on the walk.

We had beers at the nearby brewery where they did a lovely, smoked dark Bavarian beer.

Bamberg is a lovely town. Not as good as Rothenburg, but still worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great location in Bamberg. Charming family run pension. Nice traditional decor. Very nice breakfast . Clean. And very cheap, especially if you can get a smaller room- 45Euros a night.,

Now that is a real bargain. 45 Euros to stay in the best location in the most beautfiul city in Europe.

Room Tip: Smaller double rooms are exceptionally good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddyfrombucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#7 of 40 in Bamberg
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weierich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weierich

Property: Hotel Weierich
Address: Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weierich 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels with a very nice flair in the center of the old city. You can reach everythig by feet in 2 or 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Weierich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weierich Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing