We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great choice!”
Review of Hotel Weierich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Weierich
Ranked #1 of 13 Bamberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We four beer drinkers had stayed in Bamberg once before, in a brewery, and although that was great, on this occasion we went looking for something a little more central. We happened across the Weierich here, in Tripadvisor, and decided to try it. Great decision! It is indeed central, clean, friendly, great breakfast (continental of course), room cost was brilliant.

The only thing to be aware of, I think, is that you need to check in by 5pm. Once done, the door is 24 hours with a key. Other than that, everything is as you'd expect. Although we were single blokes, there for the beer, there were plenty of couples in the hotel and they all seemed happy. I'd have no hesitation in taking my wife there.

I believe that our next trip would probably find us in that hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom_in_UK_and_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

The location of the hotel is ideal for tourists. The hotel really is in the heart of the old town. All the tourist attractions are a short walk away from here. The breakfast buffet in the morning is very nice. Lots of varieties and tasty food. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and all equipped with TV and all basic amenities. To summarize fantastic location and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed in an apartment that belong to the hotel, very clean, spacious, comfortable and fully equipped. A few steps from City Center and the main building. There were many places to shop and eat nearby. Bamberg is simply wonderful ! If you like beer, your are in the right place ! The staff was very very nice, just remember to call them if you think to arrive after 6 PM, because the reception is closed. And if you are so lucky to find a free parking, leave your car there and visit the city by foot, the best way to discover it and to taste great food and good beer !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Be warned there is no management at night for this hotel. We suffered a thankfully false fire alarm at this hotel. All guests were made to wait outside the hotel as its alarm rang for over 1 hour after midnight. The number to call for the hotel management did not answer. Police had no contact number. firefigters had no contact number.
If you book and arrive after 6 your room key will be left at the unmanned reception desk. you can only gain entry after this time by a guest opening the front door. You are not allowed to access your room before 2pm. the front rooms are very noisy as this is a street junction for late night revellers. This hotel is overated.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiserSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

After wandering down the twisting streets of Bamberg from the train station, we found Hotel Weierich and its utterly perfect location. When we headed inside, we were led up to the 3rd floor to one of the biggest rooms they had. We had only booked a standard double room, so I wanted to make sure our booking was not mixed up and we would not be charged for the larger room. When asked, the woman running the hotel said "Since you are staying more than just a night or two, we wanted to make sure you were very comfortable." It was this sort of treatment and service that made the Hotel Weierich one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in.

From the lobby to the staircase and hallways, they are all decorated in a curiously quirky way that brings a lot of character to the place (especially that red chandelier). The room we had was comfortable and tastefully decorated and most importantly, quiet. Our room faced what could be considered a busy intersection in Bamberg, but we didn’t hear a thing through the great windows they had and hallway noise was never a concern, thanks to the three (yes, three!) doors between the bedroom and the hallway in our room. Besides the German style double bed (which is just two beds pushed together) and its no sheet/only comforter (which is certainly not limited to just this hotel!), the only other complaint I would have is the shower, in which the light curtain would flap around making the small space even smaller. And the wireless internet? It was the best we’ve ever used in a hotel. Just ask downstairs for the passcode.

Between 7-10a during the week (and 8-11 on weekends), a great breakfast was served in a bright room on the ground floor with bread, cheese, meat, eggs, yogurt, granola, fruit, coffee and tea was available, often with the same person who ran the front desk also playing waitress. That woman was our savior those few days we stayed in Bamberg, as my wife came down with strep throat. When I mentioned this to the woman (whose name I sadly never got), she immediately called up her personal doctor, got us an appointment that evening and even made up a pot of chamomile tea that I brought up to my wife. It was this sort of stuff I was missing out at when staying in the Marriott’s and Hilton’s of the world.

When (not if) I’m back in Bamberg, Hotel Weierich will be my temporary home when I’m there.

P.S. Don’t forget to take your keys with you if you’re out at night; they lock the front door at around 9:00pm!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeGallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

A charming hotel full of character. It's location is very central and quiet. We stayed only one night prior to starting our Bike tour, but this one night was extremely pleasant. The stairs are a little narrow and it was a little exercise lugging our suitcases up to our rooms. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeep-travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I was in Germany for a wedding and my extended family took up the entire Hotel Weierich. We loved it!! It's charming and quaint. With the "honor system" fridge downstairs, you feel like you're at home. The hosts are warm and accommodating, and we found the daily included breakfast to be satisfying and yummy, with a nice selection of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, and especially delicious coffee.

The best part about the Weierich, though, is definitely the location. It's perfect! Close walking distance to the Dom, Residenz, and river, and surrounded by great places to eat, drink, or enjoy an afternoon eis kaffe.

Bamberg is incredibly beautiful and charming, and it's somehow overlooked by most tourists, making it the perfect place to go on a trip to Europe. The Weierich is in the "Old" section of town, the most beautiful area. You can't go wrong booking here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martini_A_Go_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel National
Hotel National
#23 of 40 in Bamberg
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#20 of 40 in Bamberg
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#7 of 40 in Bamberg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weierich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weierich

Address: Lugbank 5, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bamberg
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weierich 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels with a very nice flair in the center of the old city. You can reach everythig by feet in 2 or 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Weierich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weierich Hotel Bamberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing