We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rooms but good breakfast and excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Taunusstein, Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Basic rooms but good breakfast and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here while on a short break to Bamberg. The hotel is only 2 stars so we didn't have high expectations but were generally happy with what we got.

The room was a decent size although it was very outdated and needs renovation. You open the door and the bed is imemdiately in front of you (so if somebody was in the corridor they could see whoeever was in bed) and the sink was located in the bedroom. The bathroom was also old fashioned and again needs renovating.

The free wifi is good, and the quality was a bit hit and miss so streaming videos probably isn't possible but for basic surfing it is OK.

The location is excellent, just around the corner from the bus station and right in the city centre with plenty of restaurants, bars, shopping and culture very close.

The breakfast was very good. A very good range and excellent quality in a very nice breakfast room with outdoor seating area as well.

Overall for 2 stars we thought it was OK, although a little pricey this seems to be typical for Bamberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    38
    28
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
44
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is well located we walked everywhere from the train station to the breweries. Breakfast was a nice spread the rooms were very basic for a hotel in this price range with cheap carpeting that gave it a musty sort of feel. They did have the radiator heat turned on something I did not find common in September in much of this area. I was glad to have it as it was cold. The weekend I spent in Bamberg was a evidently a popular one. When I went to make reservations a few weeks in advance very few rooms were available. Definitely few rooms at the below $200USD range. We ended up paying for a triple room at this hotel as it was the only one available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel was found on a whim, after we were getting ripped off by the on-post hotel on Bamberg base. After visiting the hotel, I was completely surprised by the poor reviews of the hotel. The hotel rooms have gone under a complete reconstruction, as my experience is completely opposite of previous encounters by tripadvisors. The room was so brand new, you could actually smell it! The room appears tiny, but had enough room for our britax stroller without bumping into it or each other. The bed linens were crisp, the room clean, and we had a balcony. Ceilings were tall, and our favorite part was the shower...it was one of those rain like showers and was the best shower of our ten day Germany tour (including the moevenpick in berlin)- literally washed away the hard day of driving. Only complaint is if you shower for a long time (40min like my hubbie) the water will leak from the bathroom into the carpet...so maybe not a long shower! ;) There was an elevator to bring us to the third floor- but it was super tiny! Just barely big enough to fit us and stroller in it. Location fantastic--- 10min walk from the beautiful dome & another five to the castle. Complete gem of a city and of the hotel. Never written a review, but wanted to for this hotel, because it deserved a good one. The staff too were so friendly!! Absolutely recommend. Just stayed for one night, as we were on our way to berlin... And wished that we had stayed longer at this city and this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Of the ten hotels we stayed at during our recent European trip, the Central was disappointing. The hotel is barely three star, old and its rooms are in need of renovation and far below all the other three star hotels we stayed in. Our room was basic with a tiny bathroom where movement was restricted. Breakfast was adequate but again well below the generous and attractive offerings of other hotels. The hotel is conveniently situated and the reception staff are very efficient and helpful but we would not stay there again as we did not think it represented value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Hotel is in a great location. The rooms are large and clean. The bathroom is also large. Breakfast was fantastic, great choice of food. Staff is very friendly. Parking is located nearby. If you want to find a good and affordable hotel in the city center, this hotel is for you

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snezana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I wanted a cheap and centrally located hotel in beautiful Bamberg, and that's what we got. On arrival we were reminded by the friendly and helpful receptionist that the room we booked came with a shared toilet. Neither of us minded - we knew this was why it was so cheap.
We got to our room to find it clean and pleasant, if a little dated and sterile.
We then checked out the shared toilet and it was pretty grim. It stank of a fresh one and looked completely out of place compared to the attractive decor of the hallway. It looked like that tiny little bog a school caretaker might have in his office. It needs to be sorted because it really isn't pleasant.
After a comfortable night's sleep we headed down to breakfast. We were welcomed by the friendly and diligent host, who was very attentive to all the guests. The continental breakfast was excellent. Lots of varieties of meats, pâté, cheeses, bread and all fresh and authentically German. Thoroughly enjoyable.
The hotel is perfectly placed. Just a 5-10 minute stroll to the UNESCO World Heritage centre and ideally placed for the train station too, which is about a 20 minute walk away.
Overall we were pleased with our choice to stay at Hotel Central. Good value for money if you're on a budget, especially with the fantastic breakfast, but the toilet on the third floor needs a makeover and a good clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Hotel Central is a no-frills lodging in a fairly good location, offering friendly service at competitive rates. However, its rooms, decorations notwithstanding, feel rather cold and soulless, and are not so clean.

The hotel occupies a historic building that is close to geographical center of the city as well as to ZOB (central bus station) and a taxi stand. It is also located in-between Bamberg Bahnhof (train station) and Altstadt (old city), and can provide a convenient base for exploring the city. This does not mean that it is at the center of all the action; it is at the edge of the UNESCO world heritage designated zone that contains virtually all the tourist attractions. For sightseeing, hotels near the famous Altes Rathaus and the Dom are even more convenient. As for the access to Bahnhof, it’s still a bit of a walk through some not-so-interesting neighborhoods. Proximity to good shopping is one strength, since nearby Grüner Markt and Lange Straße are full of interesting shops and bakeries.

The hotel façade looks atmospheric, staffs are friendly and accommodating, and breakfast is okay. The room, however, was below-average. Somehow, the color tones, furniture, and wall-hung pictures fail to create a sense of welcoming warmth and comfort, but feel more like an old hospital. Bathroom sanitation is below the usually high German standards; there are questionable colors on the toilet, along with mildew on the wall and the shower stall. The said shower stall is small and shower curtain hinders movement. Amenities are very basic, as to be expected from its low rates.

Hotel Central targets budget travelers looking for a good location to sleep in. In some aspects it satisfies what is expected, but unfortunately cleanliness and warm comfort are not among those. Depending on the guests’ requirements it could be a suitable choice; weigh your options.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.6 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Promenadestr. 3, 96047 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing