We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxed place with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed place with good food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this via hotels.com, stayed 2 nights, room was good although a bit smaller than expected but not a problem, the food and service were very good (We had dinner one night), Very popular with families but this is not a problem. As previously said the only concern can be parking as there is limited space we did ok but you can park up the road if need be.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Dirk 28,

herzlichen Dank für Ihren Besuch im Hotel Maier. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich als Gruppe bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben und uns eine solch gute Bewertung geben.

Herzliche Grüße vom schönen Bodensee und bis bald,
Ihre Familien Maier & Fennel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    118
    41
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
140
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very good overall evaluation, for service, comfort, ...
I cannot evaluate restaurant, becauss we did not stay for lunch or diner.
Single room is very good, without any complaint
Just one minor thing: the missing of sufficient parking space

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gust M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, General Manager at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher Gust,

merci beaucoup pour votre séjour à l'Hotel Maier à l'occassion de la HAM Radio.

Meilleurs souvenirs,
Hendrik Fennel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel. And very good restaurant.
My son is in a wheelchair and the bathroom of the special room is appropriate.
The hotel is in a good place, near Bodensee. The staff is helpful.
We recommend the restaurant.

Room Tip: Nice room. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, General Manager at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Claudine,

nice review, nive recommendation. It gives us pleasure that the booked room has been appropiate for your son.

Kind regards from sunny Lake Constance,
Hendrik
Member of the managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked this hotel while on a driving tour between southern Germany and Switzerland. We needed a single evening and the city of Friedrichshafen (our destination the previous day) was booked solid.

While only at the hotel for 12 hours, we found it was a good, solid hotel. The only reason I did not rate it higher is were did not have the opportunity to use the hotel's amenities.

I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, General Manager at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Kirk,

thank you for your review and your recommendation. So next time maybe you will find time to have dinner in our restaurant and I am sure you will give us 5 stars ;-).

Kind regards from sunny Lake Constance,
Hendrik
Member of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After a long day we were happy to find this hotel not far from the Zeppelin Museum. We did not have a reservation, but the desk manager was most pleased to help us. We were able to park right in front!

A beautiful interior on the main floor, with a large comfortable, bright lounge area with a big television on the first floor so you didn't have to stay in your room.

A typical European staircase with the beautiful wrought iron railing etc. curving up to the first floor. Very elegant.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We always ask for another pillow as European ones are rather thin. The television was small, but had some English channels. After all we are not there to watch tv!

Dinner was wonderful (be aware that trout comes with head, tail and scales) and the staff very attentive. Locals also come there for dinner so it did not take long to fill up.

Room Tip: This is a relatively quiet side street. We were on the back and did not hear any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1946HappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Hendrik Fennel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

nice, cosy hotel with fancy old style common area (including restaurant) and ordinary room, although the room was equipped with Villeroy & Boch and had a stylish touch, but cosmetic renovation was needed (the paint on wall was not so fresh, some cracks on the wall). Breakfast was good but nothing special and very simple (eggs, beacon, sausages, cheese, yogurt, muesli)

PROS

Main restaurant !!!!
It appears to be Michelin rated, so you won't regret (we had only dinners at the main restaurant)
I would advise advance booking !!!

WHAT'S NEEDED
1) cosmetic renovation in the room
2) more hooks/handles in the bathroom (its common problem in many hotels I stayed in)
3) parking is confusing (you share parking with people coming just to the restaurant) - so you are allowed to park in the pathway (!).

NEARBY
we walked to the Bodensee shore, across the road + 300 meters; we drove around the See and visited most of the towns and cities. Recommend Bregenz

Room Tip: rooms facing the yard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, Manager at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Alex T,

thank you for your stay @ our hotel and your detailed description. It is great you have enjoyed the quality in our retaurant.

Kind regards from sunny Lake Constance,
Hendrik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Comfortable beds. Great food. Local and fresh products. Very friendly and customer oriented staff. All spoke English. Great choices of foods for breakfast. My room had a very small bathroom but it was new and well equipped. Full tv channel choices for all languages
The only critic I can think of is the tv is small and few parking spots but that' a looking into details

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrik F, General Manager at Hotel Restaurant Maier, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Mkunzi,

thank you for your stay @ Hotel Maier in Friedrichshafen in January 2014 and for your recommendation.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards from Lake Constance,
Hendrik Fennel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Traube am See
Hotel Traube am See
#4 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
#6 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Maier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Maier

Property: Hotel Restaurant Maier
Address: Poststr. 1-3, 88048 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Maier 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL-RESTAURANT MAIER!We are pleased to present our charming family hotel to you. The Hotel-Restaurant Maier is located in Fischbach, in the immediate vicinity of Friedrichshafen at Lake Constance.The hotel is ideal for relaxation and for holidaymakers - but due to its proximity to the exhibition for business travelers, too. It si characterized by the attractive 49 guest rooms, the attentive and personal service of the host family and, last but not least, excellent regional and seasonal dishes in our Swabian restaurant. Families will appreciate the excellent support and our own recreation yard, to short breakers and groups, we offer a variety of advantageous packages all year-round.HOLIDAY ON LAKE CONSTANCEEven sports enthusiasts get their money: the lake is only 300 meters away and it will take less than five minutes to enjoy the outdoor pool and the popular natural beach. Or you discover the attractive countryside with magnificent views of the "Bodensee" and enjoy the Alpine panorama. Many attractions are within easy reach.We are looking forward to your visit, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Maier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing