We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good two star hotel, nothing more.”
Review of Hotel Knoblauch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Knoblauch
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is good if you're here for business (e.g. for the air show; it's a ten minute drive from it) but I would not recommend to stay here on a leisure trip.

The rooms are spacious but the furnishing is cheesy and tired-looking. Bed is comfortable; pillows are really thin.

No amenities whatsoever are provided. The cheapest liquid soap ever is supposed to be used for your hands, your hair and as a shower gel... Probably not a massive deal for guys, but I'd recommend the ladies to bring their own shampoo and shower gel.

The restaurant is only just ok; big choice of good-sounding offers; unfortunately everything I've tried was quite greasy and pretty heavy.

One good thing is the breakfast buffet; the choice of cold cuts and fruit is not bad, even if far away from what is expected at a four star hotel.

The service: some of the people who work there are fairly friendly, others are just not bothered at all.

All in all an ok experience for a business trip. However, if you can choose, try and look for a more modern, nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPerfectBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

We spent one night there shortly before Christmas and enjoyed our stay. The room was perfectly clean, large enough and came with a flat-screen tv, free wifi and a well-stocked minibar. The bathroom didn't have a bathtub, only a shower and was a bit on the small side but immaculate clean. The hotel offers sauna and a swimming-pool, too.
There's ample parking right in front of the door. All the staff we encountered were smiling, friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out was very fast and efficient.
The breakfast buffet was well stocked with all kind of foods you can think of. Coffee came fresh and was brought to the table.
The only letdown was our dinner the night before. One dish had a very strong taste of garlic which wasn't mentioned in the menu, therefore we returned it almost untouched.
Anyway, an overall very positive stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed just one night in the new block (with the pool). Modern comfortable room with plenty of space. Hotel staff were all very friendly and the restaurant food was good - better than we expecting. Location is a mile or two outside of town which means a car would be essential if you were planning on exploring. This was just an overnight stop for us but all round it exceeded our expectations. Great modern pool too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgksussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Please bear in mind we were a family with young kids so our requirements might differ from yours.
The place is situated 5-10 min drive away from the lake but we had a car to get there if we needed. So if you need a lakeside it does not offer it.
THE GOOD
We loved the place so much! Exceeded our expectations. It is unbelievable how just a few small things can change the whole hotel but those paying attention to these small things deserve the highest rates. It is not a large resort but a normal hotel. Not a huge area but so perfectly designed! A lot of vegetation - but cleverly designed so everything looks very natural. It was a small natural hill I believe so the rooms sit on the top. But they've built another underground floor that faces the bottom of the hill - there is a health paradise down there with sauna, massage showers, quite comfortable relaxing zones, many things...But when you walk out from there to the back yard you're in a beautiful garden. A small essential river creates natural pool you can cool down in. They have some rabbits there our kid played a couple of hours with, great and very safe children playground, lush vegetation..Everything very essential and relaxing.. Definitely there was a big job done to create such an attractive landscape. Great, friendly and very supportive hotel team (is it a family?). Great food. Large comfortable rooms. Modern equipment. There is pool and gym in a new building two steps away from the first building. The restaurant is situated between the reception and the hotel buildings a little further from the entrance and from the street so you enjoy your meal in the fresh air watching the flowers and the back yard. You have three parking areas with large parking places. I loved the way the place is built and how it is managed now. Great stay for those who do not need to stay at the lake (I would never go to swim in!) And definitely my choice for the next stay!
DISSAPOINTMENTS? none!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have stayed here every year for the past 5 years. It's a family run hotel on the outskirts of Friedrichshafen. A taxi to the Messe Halls is approx €10 (10mins drive). The staff are very friendly and the food is superb..all the time.
However, this year on checkout I was told there were 2 (seperate) evening meals charged to my room.
I only had bought ONE nights evening meal and paid cash for it too. That awkward moment when you know you are right but the owner is not quiet sure as the staff member that charged it was not there..
I sent an email when home to ask her if the issue was resolved but have heard nothing back. It would be nice to know as I have stayed there a lot and they do recognoise us every year.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank dauphin_army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Higher rated trip advisor hotels were full so we stayed here and were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious, the bathroom was large with an excellent tub/shower, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was very nice. We ate dinner outside on their very pleasant terrace and thoroughly enjoyed it (the chanterelle mushroom soup was outstanding). Breakfast was also very good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have stayed in the Hotel Knoblauch twice (2009 and 2011) and found that it was a really nice relaxing place to stay. If you are looking for a quiet hotel (day or night), this is recommended. The rooms are always spotless and clean. The food in the hotel is excellent and we eat there most evenings . Beautiful swimming pool that is nearly always empty so you have it for yourself.
Its a bit out of town , but we all have legs! and the bus stops outside.
Staff are always friendly.
this was recommended to my friends who have returned to the hotel every year - they were right!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smartymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#4 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Traube am See
Hotel Traube am See
#6 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Knoblauch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Knoblauch

Address: Jettenhauser Str. 32, 88045 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range: £86 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Knoblauch 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For 120 years, the Knoblauch family have been welcoming their guests "home". Stylish and modern, cosy and informal, our hotel offers 63 comfortable rooms."We endeavour to retain the charmingly traditional while meeting modern requirements. Make yourself at home!"Our hotel invites you not only to stay overnight but also to stay longer and enjoy. This is reflected in our wide range of services on offer, in our personal style of hotel management and also in the choice of room furnishings.All rooms are non-smoking rooms; two "Superior" double rooms meet the requirements of a modern room with facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Knoblauch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing