We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, great indoor pool”
Review of Hotel Gerbe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gerbe
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice place to stay,
extensive breakfeast, and nice oustide seating restaurant
very close to the conference center (Messe),
indoor swimming pool and Sauna, very nice to relax after full day conference
will come back next year

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel-r34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was our first trip to the area, and indeed our first family holiday in Germany. As other reviewers have pointed out, it is in the smaller town of Ailingen rather than in Friedrichshafen, so you need a car. Also the decor is definitely old skool, the rooms were a little bit musty, the wifi is a bit of a pain (you have to log in every time you switch your device off) and dinner service is a leetle bit slow. I mention these things as it is a "four star" hotel and while they were just niggles for us, others might have different expectations.

Niggles aside, the staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel is a good size, set in nice grounds and the quality is good, the food is great, and the pool and the gym are small but perfectly usable (the pool is underground and quite charming). We had a room with a balcony and a view, which is definitely worth getting. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful, a plus for us.

Friedrichshafen is a great base. You can hire a small motor boat from the harbour for less than £20/hr and with no license, no experience and no fuss you are out on the Bodensee having the time of your life. You can drive/train/bike or boat to all the other main towns around the lake, and if you don't mind splashing out a bit (it's not cheap!) the Zeppelin ride over the lake is incredible.

I'd go back without a doubt.

Room Tip: Top floor with a balcony looking towards Friedrichsafen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We booked a room because of ease of parking. We were driving and wanted to make sure to have free parking. There is no lack of parking at Hotel Gerbe. We were there off season and appeared to be some of the only guests in this gigantic place. It is nowhere near any sites or activities, so would only really be good with a car. The rooms were strange, as someone else mentioned they were spotlessly cleaned, but were very outdated looking in strange carpet and wallpaper. But quaint and very quiet at night. It also has rather large grounds for walking and is located right near vineyards. All in all no complaints, we didn't eat here for dinner, but it the parking lot is packed at night with people there to eat. Breakfast was included and had a very large selection and good food.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrashRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel was a good choice for our family of five. The junior suite comfortably slept all of us, and the grounds were large enough for the kids to have a good run around. There was a small playground and pool, although without a shallow end, wasn't ideal. The hotel restaurant was a wondeful surprise, with excellent service and a gourmet menu. There were two slight drawbacks:
1. the hotel is not in "downtown" Friedrichshafen, but rather 4 km outside of town
2. the hotel last appeared to have been redecorated in the late 70s. Nothing is shabby, or worn - to the contrary - but the color schemes and choice of furniture is somewhat dated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

My husband and I holidayed here for a week in September 2008. It's an absolute gem of a hotel. We booked directly with the hotel and got a rate of 124Euro per day for 2 people on a B&B basis. Would recommend spending that bit extra for a room with a south balcony facing the hotel park side - as it has lovely views over the lawns of the hotel and further out to the fields of the area. Occassionaly, you'll hear the sound of the Zepellin going overhead as the hanger is not too far away - facinating to watch! Anyway, the grounds of the hotel are lovely with a huge chess set ! and bird cages in the gardens. The rooms and bathrooms are SPOTLESS. The breakfast was lovely but tended to run-out of the fruit salad and cheeses and juices quite quickly. Had dinner several times in the restaurant where the prices are reasonable and food is lovely. Good range of meals & drinks on offer, and menus in other languages too. Staff very helpful with tonnes of leaflets of 'things to do' and places of interest nearby and further afield (e.g the King Ludwig castles). This hotel was an absolute gem of a find and great base to tour the area - such as Friedsrichshafen or catching the ferry over to Konstanz. Car parking was free and plentiful. Pool area was unique as it's in the basement of the hotel and looks like a converted bomb raid shelter or wine cellar with curved brick ceiling. Hotel is beautifully and traditionally decorated and staff very helpful and nice. The time of year we were there was just after the popular cycling festival had ended so the hotel was quiet enough which was great. Can think of nothing to fault this hotel - but they are extremely strict on the check-out time which is early enough, so we found we had a day of extra wandering around until our flight which was early evening time. Would definately recommend and return here for a visit. If staying here and you've booked car hire, then would strongly stress that a GPS system is a must !!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennydean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Klv_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prinzessinreist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friedrichshafen hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
311 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel City Krone
Hotel City Krone
#1 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Knoblauch
Hotel Knoblauch
#7 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
Seehotel Friedrichshafen
#8 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerbe

Address: Hirschlatter Str. 14, 88048 Friedrichshafen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Friedrichshafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Friedrichshafe...
Price Range: £111 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gerbe 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gerbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing