We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - everything works here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Goslar
denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - everything works here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a big hotel with all facilities. Cleaing absolutely ok. The room was not large. Breakfast was super. Staff very accommodating. Parking in parking garage linket to hotel. Located in the city next to the railway. That was not a problem. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    66
    72
    21
    7
See reviews for
26
82
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Recently returned from a weeks holiday in Germany. Stayed for three day/nights at the Der Achtermann Hotel. Ideally located near the centre of Goslar, a large and imposing hotel. Most probably a previous Hunting style lodge/hotel. Very close to main bus/train services. Access by road slightly more difficult and parking could be a problem. Awkward flight of steps to access the main hotel, possibly not very easy for the older visitor. Limited to one accessible lift which may be a problem in busy times. Conferences are held here frequently. The atmosphere was good, welcomed at desk, and the room uses old fashioned key (Yale style, not really a problem). You certainly wouldn't want to walk away with it. Good food, buffet style in the large Marble room, excellent selection, still a number of stairs. Not ideally suited for elderly or disabled people. Breakfast a very good selection of breads, cheese, cereals, fruit and cooked food.We had an excellent and well serviced room facing the front of the building. A lovely location to stay whilst in Goslar, a quiet location in spite of being within 10 minutes of the main town squares. Would need to be 'reasonably' active to attempt the stairs and steps involved. Slightly dated 'old' style t.v but adequate picture.

Room Tip: The rear rooms face the railway track, the central stairwell rooms (on the front facing landings) ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank congenital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights during a conference in this hotel. The hotel was fully booked for that conference, so I did not expect too much. The rooms are basic, but clean. Despite the many activities the room was quite and that was the most important. The breakfast was very basic, but during a crowed conference, this was may be to be expected. The location is good and the staff is friendly, but I would certainly not come back, if I would not have to participate in a similar conference. However, for a business trip the hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Beautiful view, near from the train station and excelent to walk to the old marketplatz. Big room, new bathroom, clean and people very friendly. Brekfast so nice, great cheese options, several fruits and all kind of cereals. Staff happy, friendly and qualified. Great structure for conventions. A nice place for vacations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Situated very next to the Goslar main train station, this hotel serves as a perfect one for the people to relax as well as for groups for conferences!

Pleasing staff members with rich breakfast in one of the attractions of this hotel. Sauna was good, however the swimming pool was too small for such a hotel.

The restaurant attached with the hotel was excellent and over all I say a PERFECT PLACE to stay on in Goslar.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgprashanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I liked how close it is to the train station. No more then a 4 min walk from door to door. Hotel staff is friendly. Everyone at the desk spoke both English/German.
Our room was a double and up on the 5th floor. Room 610 actually. Clean and the bathroom was modern. Flat screen tv with a comfortable bed. Refrigerator in the room and plenty of outlets to plug stuff into. A nice touch of sparkling wine was on the desk for us.
Breakfast is great. There was plenty to eat and was included in our 99.00 euro a night stay.
The pool is also a nice size and there is a hot tube to relax in. Full bar next to it as well.
There are four saunas to enjoy as well. All a little different and do not be surpriesed to have either a naked women or man sit right next to even though there was plenty of space in the sauna. Dont get me wrong, your supposed to be naked. There was no sexual implications, I suppose it was just convenient to set RIGHT next to me for the three times I went in. Got to laugh it off.
My girl and I had dessert only at the restaurant because we had dinner at some other place in town. My other review talks about how great our dinner was there.
All in all the Hotel is a deal for what you get and I would stay there again. Location, clean, friendly, pool, sauna, food.
Hope this helps!

Room Tip: We had room 610 and was fine for two people. Next time I would try to see the rooms in the tower. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damion21075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Having stayed here before in December we were looking forward to another pleasant stay. Having been offered and booked into a new and special design room at a considerably greater cost, we were rather disappointed with the accommodation. The room that we were first allocated looked onto a wall and inner stair well, and also a busy main road. There was no air conditioning. After the first night we asked to be transferred to a quieter room as we were staying for a week. The staff were reluctant to accede to our request, but did so when we said that we would leave and find another hotel. Our second room on the 5th floor was marginally quieter, but we were still wakened at 7am by the city street cleaners. The room itself was comfortable, but the drapes were ill-fitting and there was only 1 armchair and 1 wooden chair provided. In Britain I doubt if it would be termed a "design" room. The hotel`s emphasis appears now to be on bus parties and conferences, with not much of the personal touch for those staing longer. It would be suitable for an overnight stay or weekend break at maximum.

Room Tip: Insist on a room which does not overlook the main road which passes the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criagendinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goslar hotels
0.1 mi away
Niedersachsischer Hof
Niedersachsischer Hof
#2 of 36 in Goslar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Muenze
Hotel Alte Muenze
#1 of 36 in Goslar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
H+ Hotel Goslar
H+ Hotel Goslar
#5 of 36 in Goslar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Kaiserworth Goslar
5.2 mi away
Hotel Njord
Hotel Njord
#1 of 7 in Hahnenklee-Bockswiese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schiefer Hotel
Schiefer Hotel
#4 of 36 in Goslar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DER ACHTERMANN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DER ACHTERMANN

Property: Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Address: Rosentorstrasse 20, 38640, Goslar, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goslar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Goslar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel DER ACHTERMANN 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
154 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel DER ACHTERMANN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing