We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovingly refurbished little hotel”
Review of Hotel Alte Muenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alte Muenze
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Goslar
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovingly refurbished little hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here in November 2013 on a business trip. This hotel is in the centre of the lovely town of Goslar, which has a very well kept old town. The whole town looks like you are a few centuries back. Anyway, the hotel is very quiet and a modern refurbishment. Rooms were clean and staff frendly. Wifi was available for free from memory, although I don't remember how well it had worked.

Breakfast is quite small but ok. All considering the price constitutes good value.

My only quibbles would have been that you have to wait until 8am to pay, so if you want to leave early remember to pay the night before.

The other thing was that the water coming out of my shower was not properly hot but that was probably an isolated problem (my colleague who was in a different room did not have any issues).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    44
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
95
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a superb hotel; quirky, full of history, friendly, unusual, comfortable, great staff, lovely breakfasts, brilliant location and amazing bathrooms! The hotel itself was a complete experience; so much history - every corner has a story to tell. They have the balance exactl right about highlighting the history but delivering 21st century quality and comfort. The Prien family have done a splendid job here. Goslar itself is a really lovely experience; the setting is stunning, and the alte stadt area is like stepping back in time. We were there for only two days but I'll remember it always.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kemenate suite on the ground floor. It translates as 'Boudoir' because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, Hants
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

If only I could have the place a score of 4.5 I'd have done so.

Amazing atmosphere - quirky and massive rooms. We had a massive suite upstairs with 2 rooms, the main bedroom having a 4-poster bed - the floor sloping perhaps a foot from one corner to another! Bathroom is immaculate with enormous with stand alone bathtub and separate shower. There was very old graffiti on some of the walls!

The only negatives are the lack of front desk availability after 8pm which means that if problem arises you have no-one to talk to.

And the breakfast was not good - and was not replenished. Coffee was weak filter coffee and the orange juice thin. There was very limited fruit, the choice of meats and cheese poor and identical each 4 days we stayed, and rather limited as were the stale rolls. The boiled eggs were stone cold. Possibly the worst breakfast we've had in Germany for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freediveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London and Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

"Wow" was precisely our audible reaction when we were shown our room. Beautiful spacious apartment like room, lovely bathroom, very friendly staff members, great breakfast, a beautiful converted mediaeval mint (hence the name). We simply cannot fault this place. Love it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA_and_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
After arriving at Goslar Hbf, it is an easy 10 minute walk to the hotel.
The hotel is located in a quiet part of town but only about 100 metres from platz.
Our room, Kemanate, was on ground floor overlooking the courtyard. It was a spacious, comfortable room with very nice ensuite bathroom with large shower recess, separate bath and double basins.
Free internet access is provided via a LAN cable.
The reception staff were very welcoming provided a map and good recommendations for restaurants.
Breakfast was a very generous buffet style. The food was very fresh and regularly replenished. Some variety was provided each day.
We arranged for some laundry to be done and it came back the next day, and at a very reasonable price.
If you prefer to stay in smaller hotels, then stay here when visiting lovely Goslar. We recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel was a delight
Beautiful room, lovely country breakfast
Staff were exceptional
Everything was wonderful

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The "Alte Muenze" is a beautiful little hotel in the heart of Goslar, a town with many half-timbered houses in the Harz mountains. The hotel offers a unique atmosphere, blending many historical features with sleek interior design. Reflecting the centuries-old building, our second-flloor room had a low ceiling, somewhat slanted floors, small windows, and exposed timber, yet the bathroom could have been from a Grohe sales catalogue, with a modern layout and expensive fixtures. The beds were extremely comfortable, offering us one of our best sleeps in Germany. Breakfast was excellent, with many choices and attentive staff. The hotel honored our request for a parking spot in the courtyard, which was important in light of the limited parking possibilities near the hotel (some parking garages are 10 minutes away).

The hotel is in the heart of Goslar, in a very small and narrow street, and, as such, extremely difficult to find. This proved even a challenge for us as Germany-savvy travellers and in spite of a google map. But once you are there, you will enjoy a beautiful hotel at an affordable price, which is just a two-minute walk from the town's main sights.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goslar hotels
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Kaiserworth Goslar
0.3 mi away
Niedersachsischer Hof
Niedersachsischer Hof
#2 of 36 in Goslar
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
#10 of 36 in Goslar
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Njord
Hotel Njord
#1 of 7 in Hahnenklee-Bockswiese
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
H+ Hotel Goslar
H+ Hotel Goslar
#6 of 36 in Goslar
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiefer Hotel
Schiefer Hotel
#5 of 36 in Goslar
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Muenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Muenze

Property: Hotel Alte Muenze
Address: Muenzstr. 10-11, 38640, Goslar, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goslar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Goslar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alte Muenze 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Alte Muenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing