We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality and solid 3* inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shakespeare Inn

Shakespeare Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Shakespeare B&B and Inns
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality and solid 3* inn”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Brought a group of 25 university students for an overnighter & visit to the Stratford festival. The inn is quaint and yes, though modest, has everything you need. Reasonably priced, close to Stratford, free breakfast, and a warm, cozy gazebo that matches the welcome you can expect.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    9
    11
    2
See reviews for
11
14
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel and stay was great. Its a great place to stay for a school trip or family trip for the Shakespeare festival. The café had homemade bread and muffins and other great options. The room was exceptionally clean and overall the stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pub l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Beautiful café with delicious freshly baked goods, wonderful location for the Stratford festival, perfect for an educational class trip. The service and hospitality was superb. I would recommend the Shakespeare inn to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The rooms are dated, and cost us over $200 for one night including taxes.The rooms simply are not worth the price. Book early if you're going to Stratford, and get a room there. We paid less money for a fantastic suite in London the next two days of our trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 23_countries_so_far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shakespeare hotels

Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

While very basic in its presentation, the Shakespeare Inn hits all the important points, Clean, a good Value, Comfortable, and very Friendly. We spent a weekend here in Aug 2013 and the host made us feel right at home and did a good job answering any of our needs. The rooms were clean and comfortable and not to far from our ultimate destination, Stratford.

I'd recommend this Inn to anyone looking to offset the high costs of stratford.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssneideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here while celebrating our anniversary. Aug 9&10th. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel comfortable. The Innkeeper was friendly and charming. Despite the fact we came down late for the Breakfast (home cooked) They kept it going so we were able to enjoy it before starting our day. The Inn is located about 11km's from Stratford and I was concerned about not being close to the Festival Theatre but it proved to be an enjoyable and short drive to the Theatres

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Very clean and comfy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdisturber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked the Shakespeare Inn for a last minute, long weekend trip. While the inn was clean and quiet, and the owner friendly, I would not recommend this inn nor would I stay there again. The entire building and decor is incredibly dated. When we entered our room, there was quite a strong smell of cooked food. The light in the bathroom flickered a lot every time it was turned on, and the fan was very rattly and loud. The continental breakfast was, I'm sorry to say, just awful. The yogurt I picked up had expired two weeks ago and the muffin tasted as though it had been made at the same time.

The owners clearly take pride in their inn and are very nice, but it's time for an update if they want repeat customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakespeare
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
139 reviews
6.9 mi away
Newburg Inn
Newburg Inn
#1 of 1 in New Hamburg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
7.1 mi away
Puddicombe House
Puddicombe House
#1 of 1 in New Hamburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Inn

Property: Shakespeare Inn
Address: 8-2166 Shakespeare St, Shakespeare, Ontario N0B 2P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Shakespeare
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shakespeare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shakespeare Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shakespeare Festival Country. We feature country-quiet 4-Star accommodation in the Hamlet of Shakespeare, gracious European hosting, wonderful continental breakfast in our delightful Breakfast Cafe. Stay in our 50 sparkling bright rooms and suites, shop and play in the antique capital of Shakespeare, and enjoy all that Southwest Ontario has to offer. Enjoy the Stratford Shakespeare Festival 5 minutes away, St Jacobs Farmers Markets, KW Oktoberfest, local Dinner Theatres and relax in the local Amish country ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shakespeare Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing