We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt as though fending for ourselves. Hit and miss.”
Review of Hotel Theophano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Theophano
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
263 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Felt as though fending for ourselves. Hit and miss.”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel location and room were great. Typical of British B and B in facilities but spotless and Room 20 great just watch the step. However reception closed at 6pm when we arrived so we could not request non feather pillows. Sorted day after but real feeling that hotel was a B and B with absent owners. Breakfast good buffet but again one morning wanted to grab bread and drink to catch Harz train and felt we were not allowed 10 mins prior to official start time. Luckily I explained in German we had a train to catch. Parking is a nightmare to find without knowing it is at another location and marketplace dig up makes driving a nightmare. Once we had sat nav parking and non feather pillows were happy and enjoyed large room with great view. Fantastic market town and great for base for railway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    39
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Quedlinburg is a beautiful small town. It could be the setting for a fairy tale. All the buildings have been restored with great care. The hotel overlooks the town square , which was unfortunately being improved but even so was delightful. The hotel is very old but has been restored and is very clean and comfortable. The food is good,especially the breakfast. The service is excellent. Christopher the receptionist?manager(?) is particularly helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheila414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for five nights and as we were staying that length of time the hotel gave us a good rate for a good room. The hotel is situated on the square and for that alone it is well worth staying in - coming back to hotel at night through the square is heavenly - Quedlinburg is an absolute gem - very beautiful indeed. Our room was old worldy - very clean - with nice character. The breakfast was good - a nice selection of food - coffee was excellent. We had been told our room had a balcony and overlooked the courtyard - which in the pictures on this site looked lovely; however the entire eaves of the hotel were swarming with wasps - making the balcony basically unusable - and the courtyard has seriously deteriorated from the shown pictures and was quite neglected and a little grotty. I pointed this out to reception when after first seeing the room but I didn’t get the most helpful response. The staff were by and large friendly and helpful - overall our stay was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank signpostk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was recommended by a friend from the Netherlands, and we are so thankful he did!! This was our first stay in a smaller town, and it was great. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms were great, breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and the staff is incredibly kind and helpful! The location is perfect, right in the market square. I would love to go back and stay there again. You cannot go wrong with this choice of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alison625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was a bit leery when my husband chose this hotel because I have stayed in old buildings before -- these date from the late 17th century, but there were no pigeons overhead or rats in the wall. The building is in excellent condition, very solid, and no noise problems. Every room is decorated differently. We loved our large room overlooking the market place (#20) with a huge rug in the middle, a large wooden armoire, a long wrought iron luggage rack, and lots of space. The bathroom was very modern and spanking clean, large soft towels.

I couldn't see that the hotel was ranked, but it felt like a 4-star to me in terms of quality of linens, furnishing of rooms, up-to-date bathroom, provision of hair dryer and tissues. But there's no lift in this historic building, and there are no little packets of amenities. So bring your own washcloth, shampoo, and shower cap. There's no mini-bar or coffee maker and no room service, but the cafe on the ground floor is open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Breakfast is a buffet with fewer choices than larger hotels, but there's a bit of everything. And the fruit salad is so fresh that they can include apples and bananas and they weren't brown! Boiled eggs, also very meats, etc. Very satisfactory.

Lunch in the cafe was excellent. So good that we ate there all 3 lunches. I especially liked the salad with turkey strips that have been sauteed with some soy sauce. My husband loved the cakes, and there's a large selection. Soup also good.

Don't miss the hotel's restaurant which is located about 5 minutes away in the Kornmarkt. I had trouble finding it because, though there are maps to it, the only sign is flat against the wall. Another couple got to the entrance of the building and couldn't figure out how to get in. Walk through the courtyard, through the glass doors, and you will see the restaurant's entrance.

The dinner we had was so delicious that we went back a second night. The Wiener Schnitzel we had was great.

My only caveat is a warning for people who have trouble with stairs of any kind. An entry to the cafe is from the market place and so flat. But there are 8 steps up to Reception from the front door, and there were an additional 47 steps up to our room. The first flight of stairs is normal, but the second two had such narrow treads that these were widened and made an overhang over the tread below. So you could walk upstairs normally, but you had to go down rather crab fashion. There were also single steps in the middle of the hallways, so you had to be careful even on what you would expect to be flat surfaces. There was even a step in the middle of our room. The hotel was made by combining more than one building so it's a maze of rooms and different levels. The staff will help with luggage, but you're on your own after that.

This was my favorite stop on our tour of the eastern part of Germany. This small historic city and this hotel are not to be missed!

Room Tip: Each room is different. Some are up under the roof -- the largest room is 47 steps up from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susanmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

On our return trip to Norway (from France) we decided for at detour to the remote village of Quedlinburg in the old East Germany. Quedlingburg is a story of it's own being on the Unesco list. Theophano fits into this, old wooden hotel, excellent welcoming, friendly and helpful staff, lovely and "romantic" room with private balcony and a large bathroom. So quiet and peaceful. If you should be in the region, go for the Theophano!! Best value for money!
Try their restaurant as well. A gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GiroNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donhead Saint Andrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This hotel is in a beautifully restored merchant's house in this lovely town. Our spotlessly clean room was spacious, furnished with exquisite taste, and had a lovely view of the market square ( which was quiet at night ). The buffet breakfast was superb, and dinner at the hotel's vaulted restaurant nearby was a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sv007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quedlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Am Bruhl
Romantik Hotel Am Bruhl
#1 of 22 in Quedlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domschatz
Hotel Domschatz
#2 of 22 in Quedlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quedlinburg Stadtschloss
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zum Baer
Hotel Zum Baer
#5 of 22 in Quedlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Aurora
Hotel Maria Aurora
#13 of 22 in Quedlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Theophano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theophano

Property: Hotel Theophano
Address: Markt 13-14 | 06484 Quedlinburg, 06484 Quedlinburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Quedlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quedlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Theophano 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel mit Bistrorant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Theophano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Quedlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing