We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schlosshotel "Zum Markgrafen"
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Zaragoza, España
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Old hotel, nice stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a hotel in a XIX century historic building. I stayed in a very nice room in the 2nd floor, which included an adjacent tea room (actually, it corresponded to one of the towers of the building). Nice wooden furniture and very comfortable bed. Wifi. Breakfast was also quite convenient for a long day work. Some cons: one has to be fit enough to climb quite a few steps, and this may be inconvenient when having large pieces of luggage. The water temperature in the shower was not easy to control. Also, no much service at night, in case you need it. Very quiet place, in a romantic-type environment. Will return for a business stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    8
    12
    11
See reviews for
12
35
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is the 64th hotel I review on tripadvisor, and i don't think I have ever had so much doubt in my mind toward which rating I should give.

So I will simply spilt it in to pieces and rate every indivual part that I usually look at, starting with the good parts, endning with the bad ones:

- When driving to Quedlinburg, we began having car trouble, we barely made it to the hotel, and had to return home to Denmark 2 days later. The owner knew a mechanic that lived right across the street, got hold of him and the car was fixed within a day. And in every other way the staff was service minded, and very friendly and helpful. So for that 5/5.

- The breakfast was plentyful, with lots of diffent choices, and the staff didnt seem to mind that our 7 month old daughter made a mess of Things. 5/5

- The hotel was placed so you could reach everything worth watching in Quedlinburg on foot, and right NeXT to the hotel, there is a Tower that gives a wonderful view of the town. Quedlinburg is World heritage, and the 50th World heritage site I have visited. 5/5

Those where the good parts, if only that had to be taken into consideration I would have given the hotel 5 out of 5 stars, but, there where some bad things:

First of all when booking, I got the impresson I would get a large room, with spa, and a extra livingroom area. What we got was a decent sized room, but only one room, and with a shower, and no spa. 2/5

The room it self only had a small window, with no curtains, the minibar was in a cupboard (so hot beer), and the internet connection only worked on the first day. 2/5

So when booking make sure, to contact the hotel directly, so you are certain you get what you expect. If the room had been just a bit better the rating could easy had been 4/5 or 5/5.

Also there is a bar and a restaurant in the hotel, but I did not seem to be open at any time, which I find strange.

Room Tip: Make sure to contact the hotel to have your room confirmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan_Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I travel for business and holidays at least 5-6 times per year, staying always in hotels- this over many years. I don't remember to have ever been in such a bad hotel before.
At best (and with much good will) this is a regularly ran pension, dreaming to become a hotel. The management (here the owner) should understand that *Guests go first* (yes, the best rooms in the house should be the ones offered to the guests, not the ones on the 3rd floor) and that there are certain international standards to deserve the stars and you need to keep to those standards. A pitty because location is great and Quedlinburg is really a jewel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quedlinburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We were travelling with our baby son across Germany to Poland when he fell ill just before we arrived at the hotel and despite the mess we made, the staff were very friendly and kind. The room was on the top floor, and there was always someone to help carry things as there is no lift, so that wasn't a problem.
The building is an old manor house set in its own grounds, just a short walk from the town square and is in a very peaceful location. The terrace was perfect for breakfast, looking out over the rooftops of the houses. We'd definitely like to go back, hopefully without a sick child!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

If you want to experience an old town with German 'Fachwerkhäuser' (Tudortype housing) Quedlinburg is a wonderful example. The Schlosshotel Markgraf is like a small castle overlooking the city, but you are right in the city. 12 beautifully renovated rooms (try to stay in the gorgeous Juniorsuite) in a bldg built around turn of the century by a wealthy German as a personal property. It stood empty for
years until it was completely renovated by the new owner with a lot of love for detail and reopened in early 2000. Good and personal service with an excellent restaurant in the arched winecellar. It even
has wonderful amenities like a fantastic sauna.

  • Liked — service, room, food, sauna and proximity to the town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cocolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quedlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Am Bruhl
Romantik Hotel Am Bruhl
#1 of 22 in Quedlinburg
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quedlinburg Stadtschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Theophano
Hotel Theophano
#4 of 22 in Quedlinburg
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domschatz
Hotel Domschatz
#2 of 22 in Quedlinburg
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balneolum Hotel
Balneolum Hotel
#18 of 22 in Quedlinburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel "Zum Markgrafen"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel "Zum Markgrafen"

Property: Schlosshotel "Zum Markgrafen"
Address: Wallstr. 96, 06484 Quedlinburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Quedlinburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel "Zum Markgrafen" 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Schlosshotel "Zum Markgrafen" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing