We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites in Germany!”
Review of Hotel am Hoken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel am Hoken
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night during a three-week trip in Germany. The hotel is right in the centre of town, so a great location. It's in a historic location so very tight stairs and the rooms are not large, but so sweetly decorated and have everything you need. Also very clean. The owner did not speak much English but enough to communicate with us (we spoke no German). She was very helpful and the breakfast was the BEST we had at all the places we stayed. Everything was very tasteful and the owner clearly takes great pride in her work. We were travelling with our 2 year old and she was able to provide us with a baby bed (which was set up prior to our arrival).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontoist83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed there for one nite. It is a very nice, old, fresh made and charming hotel. Right in the middle of Qedlinburg, if you are there for vacation or city trip, it is a wonderful choice.
I am there for business purposes and that doesnt fit realy together....
Anyway, an old house has an old stairway for sure. The room was freshly made up, but it was alittle tiny, no bed side locker, and the space for the desk was to small to work there.
Additionaly, I had probs with the wifi and the desk light malfunctioned.....
But it was a charming room, it was silent and the bathroom was in good shape, everything was fine.
Breaky was buffet and most of the things to imagine were there: ham, bacon, rols, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, juices and so on.
People were freindly, check in and out was professional, everything was prepared!
For leisure good choice, if you have to work before sleep, not the best choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here Oct.1st. The hotel is charming. It is situated right in the middle of historic Quedlinburg. It is an easy walk from the parking lots to the hotel. The tourist info is mid town and will help you if you have trouble finding the hotel. The hotel staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Our room was #6, and had a four poster bed, beamed ceilings, adequate bathroom. You do need to take a stairway for the upper floors. The breakfast was lovely, a nice selection of fresh things. From this hotel you can enjoy walking and seeing all of the wonderful half timbered houses in this town. You will not see as many half timbered houses any where. Most of the town is restored or undergoing restoration. There is some construction in the centre of the town, which does not effect your stay and at any rate will be finished shortly.
We felt this was a wonderful choice for hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator we transferred our overnight things to two small rolling suit cases for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGSNiagaraOnTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Not easy to find! (Lots of roadworks and closures at our time, but probably so quite often.) Very close to the centre, but parking is 350 m away.
No lift, so beware having to haul heavy cases up the rather narrow winding stairs!
Mixed experience of the service – one thought it quite OK, another less so.
Town didn’t seem friendly – much restored, but ending up feeling like a museum.
Room OK in a pleasantly old-fashioned way; a bit cold for some (October).
Buffet breakfast fine, included in price anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in Hotel Am Hoken for 1 night in August with our two small children. The hotel is situated just off the main square in town and is easy to find as long as you've looked at a map in advance. Parking for the hotel is nearby, but I would recommend pulling up at the hotel for a few minutes to unload first. Just be careful you're not there too long. Someone else got a parking ticket while we were there!

The hotel is in an old building, but has been renovated relatively recently. Our rooms were clean, quiet and big enough for our family of 4. The bathroom wasn't all that large, but was definitely enough.

Hotel Am Hoken doesn't offer a ton in terms of amenities, but the Wi-Fi was quick and the breakfast was excellent. The staff at the hotel were also very friendly despite the language barrier (they spoke English, but just a little).

Our one main complaint would be the stairs, which were a bit difficult, but on check in, the woman kindly helped but holding our son's hand going up the stairs. It doesn't sound like much, but it made things a lot easier for getting up 2 floors in one trip.

Overall, I'd certainly recommend this hotel. One note: don't eat at Hotel Zum Bar. Awful food, awful service and awful prices... and crawling with wasps! Absolutely terrible.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if you have trouble going up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjjasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Pleasant hotel; excellent breakfast spread. As others mentioned, the lack of an elevator and the narrow staircase make toting your bags to a third floor room a challenge of sorts. The room we had, however, was worth the climb. Sizeable floor plan, large comfortable bed, excellent shower, and free wi-fi. NOTE: The hotel is in a pedestrian zone and parking is an issue in Quedlinburg.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here just one night. This hotel is very close to the Hotel Theophano, which was recommended in "1000 Places to See Before You Die". We chose this hotel over Theophano because it had a better rate. Cute room, great location in the middle of the city. Good breakfast. The staircase was quite narrow, so I was thankful that I only had a small suitcase (no elevator). Nice bath products.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kellyMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quedlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel am Bruehl
Romantik Hotel am Bruehl
#1 of 22 in Quedlinburg
255 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Theophano
Hotel Theophano
#7 of 22 in Quedlinburg
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Schlossmuehle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Domschatz
Hotel Domschatz
#2 of 22 in Quedlinburg
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni "Am Dippeplatz"
Hotel Garni "Am Dippeplatz"
#6 of 22 in Quedlinburg
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quedlinburg Stadtschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Hoken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Hoken

Address: Hoken 3, 06484 Quedlinburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Quedlinburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Quedlinburg
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Hoken 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel am Hoken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing