We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic cathedral with great atmosphere around it”
Review of Wetzlar Cathedral

Wetzlar Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Wetzlar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic cathedral with great atmosphere around it”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Open to public to roam as we please, and a great shopping and cafe scene just outside and around makes this a very nice place to visit and enjoy the shops. Easy to access with many cobbled streets and lanes for a leisurely stroll in the summer.

If staying nearby, definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HKL1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historical cathedral in historical city.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Really interesting place, connecting two religions. Its a house of Evangelic church and Catholic church in Wetzlar. Entry is for free.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Piotr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wetzlar, Germany - a delightful little town - more than just the Cathedral”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

City is known as the "center of the optics industry," having developed lenses for cameras, and microscopes. not only is there a museum featuring such, but the landscape is dote with displays of optics, optical illusions - a do-it-touyrself bunch of discoveries really quite unusual and more than interesting. A beautiful park lies along the river L:ann, and features a beautifully arched stone bridge. I found myself doing a number of drawings (I sketch when I travel) in my one week visit. An excellent tourist map is provided, feautring historical places from the Cathedral to Goethe to I beieve one of the most extensive private collections of period European furniture from the Renaissance to the Baroque. This latter was collected by a female pediatrician, who lived in the early 20th century (see my review of this museum dated 16 June, 2013. Personally, I had a fine time searching out the points of interest, almost like a scavenger hunt.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herredvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 6 Contributor
725 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

A special chandelier that i haven't seen anywhere else. Really a Pièce of art.
And great pulpito. Where The speech is done. Great wood work.
A must see but believe me The town it self is a ghost town . Avoid sundays

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivimero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wetzlar Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Wetzlar Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing