We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice hotel in a quite place and close to Oberstdorf and all events"”
Review of Hotel Bergruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bergruh
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oberstdorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked an Allgau Plus-room wich was in the main building at the 1st floor. We had a lot of space and a nice terrace. The room was very comfortable and clean. The food was good especially the breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Tiefenbach is a very quite place with exception of the church that can wake you up from 6.00 a.m. The sauna is well-equipped although the number of showers is small and the temperature of the water is to high and can't be regulated. The floor can be very slippery when people are taking showers and one person felt down when leaving the sauna. The number of beds to rest is small especially when some people reserve the chairs for a long time or to read a book. There is no bar to have a drink during the day or evening. The hotel-terrace is nice if the weather is good and one can also have breakfast or dinner there which is fine. The information in the hotel about the activities in the region is very good. The Allgau-card, you get from the hotel, is fantastic.

Room Tip: Room on the south-side and as high as possible (no elevator available!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edgard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel, as always, ticks all my boxes. I have been a trusty guest ever since 2006 and am looking forward to going back there for my skiing holiday every year. The staff is very friendly and eager to answer all your questions. The food is just divine and every evening was like a little feast to us. Also, the breakfast buffett is just enormous and offers a great variety of the phantastic German bread, cheeses, cold meat, jams, muesli and much more.

For me, the skiing part of the deal is very important. You do need a car to get to the slopes, but it's only a 10 minute ride and there are lots of different skiing areas close by, so you can go somewhere different each day and will never get bored. There are slopes for all abilities and they are all very wel maintained, even if there is not much snow around.

After skiing, the hotel offers a lovely wellness area with several saunas and whirlpool. You can book beauty treatments and massages as well and although we personally haven't tried that yet we heard from other guests that it was very relaxing and high quality.

I am looking forward to going to Hotel Bergruh again next year and alos hope that one day I will be able to go in the summer as well, because from what I have seen on pictures the Allgaeu area must be just as stunning then!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antje704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We just returned home from our third stay and vacation at Hotel Bergruh. We truly enjoyed our room, the food, gemuetligkeit and service that we experienced. The family-run hotel and their team are truly committed to the welfare of their guests, as well as the cleanliness of the entire hotel. This is the best hiking, reading-vacation, and relaxation hotel we have ever visited!

We definitely would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for rest and relaxation around Oberstdorf, while in the middle of it. The bus connections are great and quick. Also great for visiting Americans are the Berg & Bahn tickets (cable car & train passes for surrounding mountains and towns) which are included within your stay. It is worth huge savings, especially when traveling as a couple or with children.

We had a wonderful visit, and we look forward to returning to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gbmjrusare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We just stayed in the Hotel for four nights with our daughter (4months). The hotel seems to be in handover from the senior owners to their son and a step-by step upgrade is happening. The guests vary accordingly very broadly from "we come here twice a year since 19xx" senior citicens to young couples and families.

We liked
- Mostly nice staff
- Child friendly
- nice room (we've had one of the newly refurbished rooms with a great balcony)
- Dinner was nice, it's good local cuisine.
- the setting amidst an alpine dream scenery with mountains and cows
- the SPA area, especially the outdoor relax area with a stunning view

Improvements, only minor things:
- our room was really hot despite the fact that the heating was off, the window open all day and night and no direct exposure to sun.
- for a perfect experience, we would suggest to have a more local food profile, e.g. cheese from the farm next door instead of the straight-forward sliced cheese for breakfast and at dinner. We're great Fans of the SlowFood Movements, the experience would be perfect if the Hotel would join the movement and adapt the food accordingly.

Wie will likely return.



Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Gammal_Ost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Ralf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank k_kleyboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oberstdorf hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oberstdorf
Hotel Oberstdorf
#8 of 48 in Oberstdorf
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alpenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Exquisit
Hotel Exquisit
#2 of 48 in Oberstdorf
115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Frank
Parkhotel Frank
#3 of 48 in Oberstdorf
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Oberstdorf
Alpenhotel Oberstdorf
#12 of 48 in Oberstdorf
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergruh

Address: Im Ebnat 2, 87561, Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Oberstdorf
Price Range: £134 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bergruh 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying on a peaceful sunny plateau, in the heart of the beautiful Allgäu Alps, this 4-star hotel offers comfortable rooms, a modern spa area and excellent cuisine.For more than 30 years, the family-run Hotel Bergruh has welcomed guests to one of Bavaria's most scenic areas.The exclusively furnished rooms and suites of the Bergruh are located in the main building and the country-style building. Both buildings are connected by an underground link.Look forward to panoramic mountain views, and easy access to the local ski slopes and hiking trails.Pamper yourself in the modern spa area, or enjoy massages and cosmetic treatments.The Hotel Bergruh is also the German base for the Edelwiser ski manufacturers, and there is a large test centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bergruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing