We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sensible hotel with a good price-quality ratio and a charming atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bad Windsheim
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“sensible hotel with a good price-quality ratio and a charming atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel Arvena Reichstadt is a nice hotel. That’s the bottom line of our two night stay this August. We were given a room on the first floor and were delighted to find that the room was spic & span, that it had a nice ample balcony with chairs and a table and that the view from the balcony over the inner, verdant court of the hotel framed by the woodwork facades of the surrounding houses of Bad Windsheim was truly relaxing. We slept with our windows open at night and were struck by the sublime quiet outdoors. The hotel is a stone’s throw from the small, quaint center of Bad Windsheim and if you park your car in the hotel’s garage (6.5 EUR/day) then you don’t need to worry about parking tickets. We ate dinner twice at the hotel and were satisfied with the standard. We ate outdoors on the terrace as the weather was so enticing but on worse days you can take take dinner in the restaurant of the hotel housed in what used to be an old school and is now aptly named ‘Alte Schule’. The food was of good quality albeit on the expensive side compared to food prices in the rest of the town or in Germany in general. All staff that we had contact with were extremely welcoming and guest oriented. The rooms are not exuberant in decoration but not exactly Spartan either. They could best be described as comfortably functional. One minus probably goes to the flat pillow. This tends to be a recurrent problem in many German hotels. There were no additional pillows in the room and the one provided gave very little to no neck support. The bathroom had all the mod cons that can be expected and was likewise very clean. The hotel does post a picture of a swimming pool on its web site. Keep in mind however that this picture is of the Franken Thermen which are a separate establishment at a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Entrance to the Thermen incurs an additional cost but the hotel does give a discount voucher (3.5 EUR off the listed price). The hotel also boasts a sauna but we found this to be closed. The breakfast area was pleasant and the range of food options was sufficient – again without being abundant. All in all a good sensible hotel with a good price-quality ratio and a charming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room 214 comes with a nice ample balcony overlooking the inner court of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
14
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As part of a tour group my husband and I spent one night at this hotel. The hotel had a strange layout. Our room was very small with single beds. It had a dormitory style feel. Even though Bad Winsheim is a very small town quite unexpectedly we heard loud voices coming up to our room from outside until the early hours of the morning. It wasn't until we were leaving we discovered there is a casino located directly across the road. Breakfast was okay. I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear cheaky,

Thank you very much for your review. We regret that you had a not so great time with us and apologize for the inconvenience. Be sure, that we will try to resolve the noise from outside at night. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Best wishes from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag / Arvena Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Absolutely nothing bad to say! Everything was perfect!

The breakfast is amazing! Great layout of hot and cold food (eggs, bacon sausage as well as the normal Europeans cold cut spread). A variety breads, juices and cereals too. Wait staff is very fast and very friendly.

The front staff is great. Very polite, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful (and everyone speaks English very well).

Room was very clean and spacious and well equipped with international TV channels, fridge and shower. Bed was comfortable. One of the better beds I have slept in in Germany.

On site parking garage is available (6€ a day) but not necessary as we found parking either in the free spots marked for hotel on the street, or in a regular spot less than a 25m walk to the front door.

Free Wi-Fi!

The restaurant is good. Steak medallions were amazing. **I do however recommend you find dessert in town (3 minute walk) at the Italian ice shop and get the spaghetti ice. Better price and better selection**

When I've traveled to this area before, I stayed at the Best Western in Ansbach. If I ever return, I will be staying here from now on!

Highly recommended!




  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sms330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear sms330,

thank you so much for taking your time to write this great review about your stay in our house.
We have been so deligted to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Best wishes from the Team of the Arvena Reichsstadt

Steffanie Schlag / Arvena Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I recently stayed here for a week for a conference and it was just fantastic! The hotel is in a small town but right in the center. It is an area where you can take easy day trips to historic places nearby. The restaurant was excellent and so were the rooms (clean, decent size, great views). There were a lot of channels and flat-screen TVs. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the internet -- it was free, but they give you passwords for 24 hrs at a time, so you have to get a new one every day, or if you download too much, they have to give you another... not a big deal, but something worth mentioning. The staff were always polite and very helpful. The conference was paid for, but I did notice the prices seemed reasonable.

Room Tip: ask for the side overlooking the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear esfesq,

thanks so much for your time to write this review.
All members of staff were delighted to read your comments.

Thank You! Best wishes from Bad Windsheim
Steffanie Schlag / Arvena Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My party and I had to move from one hotel to another and a local from the area receommnded this hotel. It was great to see a clean and modern facility in the midst of the rural areas we had been visiting. I had a Jr. Suite that reminded me of top hotels in the states and it was a welcom site of calm and order with the promise of a good nights rest. Although space is at a premium in all areas of Germany, this hotel has made the best use of it space and had several areas outside of the rooms to relax and even access the internet. The rooms were very clean and put in order each day. The breakfast area was also very clean and had hotesses to seat patrons and ensure beverages were served in a timely manner. Overall this hotel presented a very good experience I will ceratinly utilize it again whenever I am in this area again.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the better and the rooms at the very top of the hotel will not accomodate a tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lantis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Lantis34,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to read, that you had a nice stay with us.
Many thanks for your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you
back in the Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel

Best wishes
Steffanie Schlag
Arvena Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It is a very nice hotel with clean and pretty rooms and romantic atmosphere, perfect location. Stuff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. It is excellent place to stay in Bad Windsheim. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Ibbur,

thank you so much for your great review.
We have been delighted to read your comments.

Best wishes from Bad Windsheim
Steffanie Schlag
Arvena Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Second time I stayed here. The first time was in 2009 when we could not find another hotel closer to the toy fair in Nuremberg.The experience was so good that we decided to come back here this year though it takes two trains and a short ride on the metro before we get to the fair!
A lovely hotel,with spacious rooms and great staff to take care of your every need, this hotel will not disappoint you if you are willing to travel about an hour to get here. In any case the trains work like clockwork and therefore it is not a big hassle. From the Messe station , the metro takes you to the Central station(Hauptbanhof) in ten minutes from where you change over to the train( a 20 minute ride) to Neustadt aisch from where you have a connection in ten minutes to Bad Winsheim.The full trip from Messe to Bad Winsheim, a lovely little town, will take you no more than a little over an hour. Only remember that there is only one train every hour from Hauptbanhof connecting you to Bad Winsheim. The enquiry counter at the station will give you a print out of the train timings and connections.
Once you get to the hotel you will realise that it is much better to stay here rather than in some expensive pigeon hole closer to the Messe! Many great restaurants close to the hotel..(.don't miss the Greek restaurant next door ) which itself serves a wide spread for Breakfast (included in the room rate) and also has an excellent restaurant with a good selection for dinner. We left the hotel at 3 am by cab to Nuremberg but the hotel had thoughtfully packed an excellent breakfast for us and left it in our room late, the previous night.
This hotel, spotlessly clean with everything that you would expect from a top notch hotel has a wonderful set of people working for them who always make you want to go back there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeswant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear jeswant,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel in Bad Windsheim. We have been delighted to read your comments.
Hope to see you soon back in our hotel.

Best wishes
Steffanie Kretzschmar / Arvena Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Windsheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Vital Hotel an der Therme GmbH
Vital Hotel an der Therme GmbH
#1 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flair Hotel zum Storchen
Flair Hotel zum Storchen
#2 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pyramide Bad Windsheim
Hotel Pyramide Bad Windsheim
#3 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goldener Schwan
Goldener Schwan
#6 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Am Kurpark Spath
Hotel Am Kurpark Spath
#5 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Goldene Traube
Hotel Garni Goldene Traube
#1 of 6 in Bad Windsheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel

Property: Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel
Address: Pastoriusstr. 5 | 91438 Bad Windsheim, 91438 Bad Windsheim, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Bad Windsheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bad Windsheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the **** Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel. The First Class Hotel in the spa town Bad Windsheim. Whether accommodation, conference facilities, sightseeing, exhibition or holiday, we offer you the ideal starting point for your Franconia experience. Our four star hotel is located smack in the middle of the tri-city area of Nuremberg - Wuerzburg und Rothenburg ob der Tauber, directly in the old city of Bad Windsheim. Exclusive accomodation, perfect gastronomy, conference on the higher level and exploring the historic city Bad Windsheim. ***Attention: Our restaurant is closed from 1st to 11th August 2016. Of course breakfast is served for our house guests.*** We look forward to welcoming you! Your Team of the Arvena Reichsstadt ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing