We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An above average winter stay and we would return”
Review of Schloss Berg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schloss Berg Hotel
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We chose the hotel based on the recommendations of friends. It is close to Munich and less than an hour drive to the Alps and border with Austria. We arrived after dark, but had no trouble finding the hotel. Our reception was friendly and efficient. Our lakeside room, in the older building was spacious and tastefully decorated. We could not appreciate the view until the next morning.
At the winter rates, the prices were moderate for what we got. I would not say the same for the summer prices.
All staff members we met were friendly, helpful and thoughtful. This was especially true for the housekeeping personnel.
The breakfast buffet offered a large selection of average quality offerings. Items were replaced as soon as they got low, but there was an understandable slowdown of replacements in the closing minutes. We stayed four nights and saw no difference in offerings during that time. On the whole the breakfast was satisfactory for the quality and price of the hotel.
We encountered a few small details that keep us from rating giving the hotel a higher rating. Although the bath room was relatively modern, the shower required careful handling to avoid washing the floor. The towels were small and were getting thin. No wash cloths were provided. Toiletries were of above average quality but provided with an eye toward economy. Lastly, the bathroom fan challenged the ability to sleep in the next room.
The bedroom was large and comfortably appointed. The desk was old and characterful, but its legs were of different lengths. This caused a symphony of the hanging drawer rings. A permanent solution would have been minutes in the execution, but none of the housekeeping staff seemed interested in our temporary solution of hanging a tissue from each ring. Another sleep-disruption was the bright digital clock on the TV screen. We solved that by extending the window drape beyond its intended range.
On the whole, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, but found that it fell between average and above average; advantage to the higher category.
The restaurant did not please as well as the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 168, in the older lakeside house, on the first floor. It is a lakeside room. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

I visited the hotel restaurant on a beautiful sunny September Sunday afternoon with my daughter and I admit, the view of the lake and the available seating directly at the banks is really very beautiful and rewarding. We ordered two variations of seasonal mushroom plates (Pfifferlinge) and the hotel kitchen deserves compliments for value and quality.
But the service - less than slow, you can get thirsty quickly between the drinks! I didn't get any idea for the reason for the snail pace, but the restaurant seemed to have at that time of the day (5PM) a lower than normal occupancy ... with plenty of service personal around in various areas of the restaurant.
The kick at the end came when I paid and try to use my credit card. The server rejected the card with the excuse that the credit card terminal 'was out of order'. My question 'if the use of the old paper forms with telephone approval' was available, got answered with a puzzeled look on the face of the server and a brief 'no'. (I wondered afterwards what their hotel overnight guests would do with such answer, when trying to pay a multiday stay ... go to the bank ATM to get a stack of cash??)
So - for any traveler reaching this fine restaurant in Berg am Starnberger See - prepare to pay with cash, and enjoy the Bavarian scenery!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prussia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wish, we could have stayed longer, directly on the lake, very friendly service and excellent food, would like to visit again! Enjoyed the delicious breakfast, just love the croissants and the variety of bread,

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Staying at the Hotel Schloss Berg was something of a last minute decision, but it paid off. TripAdvisor had suggested less of a tourist emphasis and more local knowledge so we arrived forearmed. My wife and I prefer independent travel and so the description sounded great. I have to say that Lake Starnberger is, in the right weather, one of the most beautiful places I've seen. We had cloudless sky, a hotel right on the lake, a cruise of the entire lake for a bargain price, swimming and then a 30 km bike ride on electric assist bikes!!! Bonus. For a couple of tired Aussies on the final leg of a month in Europe, the lake and the hotel were a great find. Yes, the hotel is geared towards its primary clientele, the people of Munich. So we were very much the visitors and had to adapt to language issues (very minor as most people understand English). The room was large and relatively comfortable, although anyone who can work out the heating/cooling system,as well as the towel rail heating, deserves a medal. We left defeated. The bier garden was good value but we were disappointed there was no warning that a reservation was required to eat in the restaurant. Ok...it was our mistake, but the staff could have asked and suggested a booking to avoid disappointment. We ate very light as a result and the fact that hotel bests don't have any preferential treatment, or warning, was the only downside to an otherwise very pleasant two night stay.

Room Tip: I had requested a special room but didn't get it. No view so ask for a lake view! It was our 20t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a beautiful setting for a lakeside hotel. The venue is a little isolated and there isn't a huge amount else in the immediate vicinity which is great if you're escaping from it all.

The check in was fine and the reception staff were informative. Our room was in the newer building which I really liked. It was comfortable and spacious with a balcony with a view of the woods. You don't get a lake view in the newer building but I thought it was a really nice setting. The room was spotlessly clean and had a nice seating area as well as very comfortable beds.

The food was excellent with a range of German dishes including some really nice home made cakes in the afternoon. The breakfast was also good with a range of dishes including a good selection of fresh bread, meat and cheese.

Staff in both receotion and the restaurant were helpful. While some English is spoken it's the sort of place where some knowledge of German is helpful both in terms of establishing rapport but also in terms of getting what you need. The reception was particularly helpful in printing our boarding passes for the return.

The boat trips around the lake were a highlight of the stay. I really enjoyed sitting and watching the scenery with a chilled glass of wine as we toured the Starnberger See.

I would say that it's a bit difficult to get to without a car. Much to my amusement the guidance from the hotel said one could use the bus from Starnberg. Unfortunately this stopped at the top of a very steep hill so how that would work with luggage I don't know. It's about 15€ in a taxi which isn't too bad.

I'd rate this highly for a restful, enjoyable time on the lake for anyone who likes German food and wants to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArgentineTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel Schloss Berg as a family of four in one of their quad rooms. The room was workable with a bedroom and bath an pullout sofa for the children. The beer garden and the restaurant are super convenient and the food is good. The included breakfast is ample with great variety. The room is basic and there are no screens on the windows. But overall it is a pleasant room.

The setting is terrific. There are plenty of places to walk, run and play near the hotel. The ferry leaves for the town right from the hotel and it is a lovely area just outside Munich.

Room Tip: Be sure to check in before you take your bags out of the car. There are two buildings. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early July. It was beautiful weather. The hotel's restaurant and biergarten are on the lakeside, the accommodation block is on a hill about 100m behind. The hotel is clean and well equipped, the rooms are very pleasant, but I personally did not like the tv switching on automatically on entering the room. Breakfast is in the restaurant by the lake, a stupendous setting, particulary when the weather is perfect. The choice of food is vast and very good. The only drawback is that it is a bit of a walk from the buffet if you are sitting by the lake's edge (which most people do when the weather is good) - the provision on trays would have helped would have reduced the back and forth movement. The biergarten is great fun, excellent bier and a limited menu, much cooked for you there and then, but it operates on a self-service counter. The biergarten is above the restaurant/breakfast area, again on the lakeside. Just a great place to watch the boats, and the world go by. We did not eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side overlook the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_Dobson.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berg am Starnberger See
1.7 mi away
Fischerhaus
Fischerhaus
#2 of 5 in Starnberg
104 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ammersee Hotel
Ammersee Hotel
#1 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
176 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Starnberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel am See
Hotel am See
#4 of 4 in Tutzing
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa
Hotel La Villa
#1 of 2 in Poecking
58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Starnberger See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Berg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Berg Hotel

Address: Seestr. 17, 82335 Berg am Starnberger See, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berg am Starnberger See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berg am Starnberger See
Price Range: £84 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schloss Berg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Schloss Berg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Berg Hotel Germany/Berg Am Starnberger See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing