We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caroline Mathilde
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to center of town”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice room in a hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Redecorated comfort room. No AC,which was a hassle inearly August. Troublesome WiFi connection. Friendly receptionists . Nice breakfast. Ample parking - free.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oystein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
20
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a nice and fantastic hotel around in Celle I have stayed in for a very long time. The entire staffs are really amazing! They are extremely attentive and helpful. Highly recommend if you are staying in the Celle area. The food is incomparable, taste very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opeyemi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 days on business. An absoloute gem of a hotel situated in a quiet residential area a 5 minute walk from Celle town centre.
Room was ideal. Clean, modern and very quiet. Ideally situated for all Celle sights.

Check in was quick, staff first class and polite and spoke good English. Bar and restaraunt staff were the same, very professional and welcoming. The bar has a beer garden / sitting area with fantastic surroundings. Food is slightly limited but good however there are many restaurants near by.

The hotel is split into two - basically 2 houses converted to one big hotel. Colleagues who were with me stayed in the opposite part to me and said the same - superb rooms and a very good hotel.

Would highly recommend this hotel for all types of travellers whether its a short business stay or for a holiday.

Will definitely return to the Caroline Mathilde.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jibber08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was a nice quiet friendly hotel, very comfortable and the staff spoke good English.

Possibly a cultural thing (being English) I was surprised with the Swimming Pool allowing mixed nude swimming,. Whereas now I quite expect mixed nudes in German Saunas, might be an idea to put an advisory notice in the guest information supplied to prevent embarrassment. to future naïve guests

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshtheskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on spring 2013, but only review it now. Sorry!

Very lovely hotel, very very quite and I found out I had a very deep and good nights sleeps here, though the bed is not that good :-)

Love the breakfast, especially their cheese covered in almond and black pepper. Super nice.

Only 5 mins walk to the downtown area. Lovely view all the way down.

Like the steam bathroom and swimming pool. Very good.

The restaurant serves outstanding food also. I ended up having dinner twice overthere.

Very good stay after a very longggg flight.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SolesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bheide
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location of the Hotel is ok, not to far away from the City Center. It's a quiet street, and you have to walk only a few minutes. The rooms are in general ok, but a bit tiny. it's even difficult to turn around in the bathroom. In relation to this, the Price is pretty high. But the breakfast is many-sided and fresh, some fruit.

Room Tip: rooms to the back have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbBheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I still have very good souvenirs in this hotel. bit surprise when i red some negative comments, whatever!
i remember my stay there, many years ago, March 2006! .....(yeah i know!)
stayed there for a week, business trip. friendly staff, very nice breakfast, nice pool, excellent room and bed, free parking all what you need for ...a business trip.
Hotel is fairly close to the old amazing old city, genuine and authentic people.
can't complain about anything!
will recommended for another stay, ...erm may try another one to see!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.6 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ringhotel Celler Tor
Ringhotel Celler Tor
#4 of 26 in Celle
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tryp Celle Hotel
Tryp Celle Hotel
#6 of 26 in Celle
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garni St. Georg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#7 of 26 in Celle
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caroline Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caroline Mathilde

Property: Hotel Caroline Mathilde
Address: Alter Bremer Weg 37, 29223 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caroline Mathilde 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Caroline Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing