We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celle Christmas Market”
Review of Hotel Schifferkrug

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Schifferkrug
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had a marvellous time at the Schifferkrug, a homely, peaceful, clean and comfortable establishment and Karin and staff were more than helpful, the dinner was excellent and the breakfast was one of the most wide ranging I have seen.
The location is excellent near the railway station and a short walk into the centre of Celle, with wonderful wood framed houses and an appealing atmosphere. I would recommend that this hotel is especially suited for couples. David, John & Susan

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Outlook76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I booked for four nights at the Hotel Schifferkrug, our first visit, as a base for visiting our middle son, currently serving in the Army at Fallingbostel. We picked it as we always choose our hotel accommodation, because it feels good, and the vibes have never let us down yet! The Schifferkrug is an absolute gem, as is its owner, Frau Karin Faas. Full of character, totally individual and creakily idiosyncratic. The room we had was fine, the beds clean and comfortable, although you'll find only one wafer thin pillow per person but don't worry, nothing is too much trouble for the jovial host and her friendly and efficient staff, so ask and you'll be asked 'How many"! Like I say nothing is too much trouble. An extra place setting to allow our son to join us at breakfast or dinner? No problem. If you like the sanitised, sterile, standardised hotel and rooms don't use the Schifferkrug! If you want loads of charm, bucketsfull of character, quirkiness, creaminess, and history then the Schifferkrug is for you. If you want humourless, anonymous obsequious staff don't book the Schifferkrug! If you want warmth, friendliness, personality then the Schifferkrug, Frau Karin and her lovely staff are for you. We absolutely loved it, Frau Karin, all her staff, and the dog!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AnsonsAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Schiffergrug is not one of your expensive super modern hotels, it is situated in a quiet street close to the town centre,and is homely, clean and comfortable, and Karin Fars and her staff are always at hand to attend to your every need.
As regards food, the breakfast bar contains something to satisfy most tastes. If you require dinner you are in for a treat, with Karin conjuring up miracles from the kitchen.
We will certainly be using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay here very much, but like the previous contributors, found the "odd fault".

Did it spoil my stay? No..
Did it make the Staff less helpful and pleasant? No..
Did it make the food less Delicious? No..
and did it make meeting the Patron Karin, less of a pleasure?..

Yes the showers are a little tight? It's an old building..
The balcony does creak a little, It's an old balcony..
Wall's are a little thin but again, it's an old building converted. I mean, It's not like the Hotel have "less than respectable" guests".
I slept very well in what seems a very pleasant area, as was the garden.

I had a great stay and look forward to my return.

Thank you Karin and all for the warm welcome at The Schiffercrug Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill_law66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a great welcome when we arrived at this very old timber frame hotel and restaurant. Our room was pleasant and clean. The floors were a bit creaky and other guests walked past our windows on an outside gallery, to get to their rooms. There was an enormous choice of food for breakfast - and I have never seen so many fruit juices! They also do evening meals which are well prepared and quickly served. The dining room is a very attractive room with lots of beams and wood work. The hotel is in a side street, with almost no traffic. It is about 10 minutes walk from the station and it takes about 15 minutes to walk into the old town, with its beautiful timber frame houses and Baroque castle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

When you enter Hotel Schifferkrug, you will feel that you are in a new experience, this hotel is a very old villa built in the 1700's. It is a family hotel, the owner is great lady which welcomes you warmly.
Location: About 500 meters from the hauptbanhof (train station) & around 500 meters from the old city & downtown. It is also very close to the french quarter which is a huge park in celle. So you can go everywhere by walking
Service: Being in a family hotel is very nice, you can order your special food and they will add to their menu, when i arrived my room was very small for 2 adults with their luggage, so the owner gave us a second small room free of charge just to be able to move around easily, the last day, we were offered breakfast for free!!

Internet is free, but the speed was not very good, again it was fixed as soon i complained ; Big like
Rooms: Clean, as standard as 3* in Germany, not so good isolation but there was no noise coming from the street or other rooms
Breakfast: I would probably say that their breakfast is the best i had in my life, i stayed in 5* hotels in more than 8 countries in Europe and this hotel is the best one and it costs 12Euros
for breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a cold,wet fall evening.The reception area was unheated and bleak. We were surprised that there was no hotel parking, but we could park on the street until morning. Our room overlooked the garden. An interior walkway allowed other guests to pass just outside the window, so we felt like we had to keep the drapes closed for privacy. We could hear the conversation of other guests through the wall and from outside. The furnishings in the room were OK, but we did have to request additional pillows. The bathroom was very cramped.
We enjoyed tasty breakfast buffets and tried the delicious house specialty, moose, for dinner. The dining room area was attractively decorated, and the service was excellent.
With improvements this could be a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#6 of 26 in Celle
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
IntercityHotel Celle
IntercityHotel Celle
#13 of 26 in Celle
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TRYP Celle
TRYP Celle
#7 of 26 in Celle
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Garni St. Georg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#8 of 26 in Celle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schifferkrug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schifferkrug

Address: Speicherstr. 9, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range: £69 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schifferkrug 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seit 1685 ein Historischer Krug und Herberge im Fachwerkstil, am Rande des Jakobswegs Luneburger Heide, des Allerradwegs und der alten Via Scandinavica gelegen-500 Meter zum Bahnhof undauch zur Fussgangerzone sowie Congress Center zu Fuss entfernt. Ein kleines privat gefuhrtes Bed&Breakfast mit Weinstube&Restaurant und gesunder und kreativer Kuche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schifferkrug reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing