We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Hotel Am Hehlentor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Am Hehlentor
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The room we were given was perfect for our small family. Breakfast was delicious. Parking was free and gated. The owner was very friendly, she gave us local restaurant recommendations. We had a lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Yogijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Maybe we were simply unlucky, but I cannot say our stay there was pleasant. As it was very hot, we had to open the windows at night (no airconditioning!) and it was extremely noisy, as our room was facing a busy street, with trucks and busses passing by. The room was quite spacious but with very low ceiling - and the ceiling in the bathroom was ridiculously low (I am short so no problem for me, but my husband had a problem to stand straight under the shower). We did not have breakfast included in the rate. When we areived, the lady (owner?) at the reception desk asked if we want the breakfast. We asked if we could see it first before deciding - and she simply retorted "no!" I understand that she may not want to buy unnecessary products which would later be wasted but I would expect her at least to tell us what choice we have (especially that everyone was praising breakfast in this hotel). No lift so be careful if you have heavy suitcases. There is a free parking opposite. The town is picturesque so it is definitely worth visiting but I would rather stay in another hotel, within the historical part of the town and not on the outskirts of it.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the courtyard, not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asia075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Tis nice little hotel has a prime location at the Nordwall. Our room was spacious and had a peaceful view over a courtyard. The breakfast was unusually varied and abundant. We were given a large waterbed which might have pleased others better thab us.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Thordur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

On our way to Berlin we stayed here for one night. Had a spaceous room on the court yard. So very quiet. Opposite the hotel the have free parking space in an other courtyard. The room was great: clean, with a very comfortable water bed (it had even a massage device in it) and spaceous bathroom with shower. Breakfast was excellent in a cosy dining room. One may sit and have a drink in the courtyard. All sights in the beautifull town are within wakling distance.
Moderate pricing for such a good place too.

Room Tip: The court yard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 in room 15 in early July 2013.

We paid over 130€ per night including breakfast - which we felt was a little over priced for the location/facilities/etc...

Free parking was a nice advantage, and the staff were lovely.

Due to our room overlooking the central courtyard, we were able to hear all guests coming back to their rooms late at night. I guess this was only a problem due to a few noisy/drunk young guests.

Breakfast was ok, and we all found something to eat.

Room 15 has a bath with a handheld shower, but due to the sloping ceiling, you couldn't even stand in the bath.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel73Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Hotel am Hehlentor is a lovely hotel in one of the prettiest towns I've ever been to. We chose not to have breakfast there because we have family in the area but we got a warm, friendly welcome when we arrived.

The room was clean and everything was fine, with plenty of space. It was very refreshing to have a hotel room that wasn't part of a big building. There's a small yard area around the back and the rooms are all located around it. I really can't fault the hotel at all and we would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I really enjoyed my recent stay here. The owner was lovely and the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. I stayed in December when there was snow on the ground and the room was lovely and room. The breakfast was a superb buffet of cereals, yoghourts, fresh fruit, juices, breads, large cheese, ham and various salad selection, freshly cooked eggs, tea and coffee and also some warm sausages, meatballs and pancakes; in short, a large continental breakfast. The staff were charming and helpful and there was mulled wine (glühwein) and biscuits to be enjoyed in the courtyard around the Christmas Tree. If I had to criticise one thing it would be that the bathroom only had a bath with a hand held shower and it was difficult to stand in this due to the roof shape. That is only a minor point however and the stay overall was very good. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Celle
IntercityHotel Celle
#14 of 26 in Celle
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni St. Georg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantik
Hotel Atlantik
#3 of 26 in Celle
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#8 of 26 in Celle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Hehlentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hehlentor

Address: Nordwall 62-63, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Hehlentor 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Hehlentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing