We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ex"Celle"nt Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni St. Georg
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ex"Celle"nt Service”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Lovely hotel, with excellent service and a phenomenal breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you have breakfast, best start to the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splock_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
54
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilleleje, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have previously stayed at Blumlage, but when checking TripAdvisor we saw that St George was rated above Blumlage and cheaper so we decided to give it a try - a move we didn't regret.

St George is situated in a residential area close to town center in an old renovated. The interior decor is as usual a matter of taste - not mine, but a lot of effort has undoubtedly gone into making the place homely and nice. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (I cannot remember when somebody last carried my bag to the room in a german gasthof) and they speak excellent english.

Room was spacy and functional. Quality of mattresses is the only thing I can reasonably complain about - they were horrible - nothing less. Internet connectivity was slow and unstable.

Breakfast was nothing less than fantastic. It is well worth every cent of the 7.50 EUR they charge for it.

Will definitely come back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwestermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We returned to Celle having met there twenty one years ago when my husband was serving in the forces. It was lovely to return and the Hotel St Georg exceeded our expectations.
The hotel is in a really pleasant location, in a cobbled pedestrianised avenue within easy walking distance of the town.
It is a traditional half-timbered and picturesque building that is tastefully and immaculately furnished.
The buffet breakfast is good value and delicious with lots of variety, with continental and cooked options.
Our hosts were friendly, cheerful and welcoming and spoke perfect English. Nothing was too much trouble.
We have friends and family planning return trips to Celle and have recommended St Georg to them.

Room Tip: We were in room 13 which was on the top floor and in the eaves.. It was spacious but there is restri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juderamoutar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash, D.C.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Located just outside downtown Celle and within walking distance to the Celle Stallion Parade grounds. Clean nice sized rooms, great breakfast included. Parking available. Privacy of a hotel, but with the comfortable B&B feel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel has an exceptionally friendly staff and comfortable, well-decorated rooms. It's in an early 17th-century, half-timbered house in a pretty and quiet street; not far from the city centre. The rates were reasonable even when I booked it online; on checking out, we were given a substantial discount from the online rate because two of us were children. My only regret is that they're already booked up the day we're returning to Celle--which, given the value for money this hotel offers, doesn't surprise me at all!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IjonTichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed here to be near to Celle, a lovely quaint town.
After looking at various deals online this seemed to be a fairly good price (not amazing value, but OK).
The room itself was spacious and very clean with a window overlooking a lovely courtyard garden. The 'double' bed was in fact two singles pushed together but this seems to be the norm in Germany (I prefer one matress as a double bed but this is not a major concern at all!!). The bathroom was immaculate but the only problem was with the shower which did not drain well at all, thought I was going to have a flood on my hands!
The hotel is slightly out of Celle but it would be walkable. There is lots of parking for free in the street.
The staff were lovely and friendly, didn't have breakfast although now wish I did as it looked like it would be a large buffet-style (yum!). Upon checking out we were given two gift bags with chocolates inside - a very sweet touch.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.8 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
0.5 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tryp Celle Hotel
Tryp Celle Hotel
#6 of 26 in Celle
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantik
Hotel Atlantik
#3 of 26 in Celle
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Am Hehlentor
Hotel Am Hehlentor
#10 of 26 in Celle
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#7 of 26 in Celle
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni St. Georg

Property: Hotel Garni St. Georg
Address: Sankt-Georg-Str. 25-27, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni St. Georg 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Garni St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing