We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hidden gem in Celle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni St. Georg
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The hidden gem in Celle”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel from the reviews that we read on trip advisor . We booked two rooms for my wife and I , and our great friends Stretch &Di .
We made the decision to drive over and after a long journey was greeted with the hidden gem in Celle .The Hotel is situated on a very quite pedestrian boulevard only 5 minutes walk to the historic and pictures town. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and shown to our rooms , if you like comfortable beds ,large rooms and immaculately clean accommodation look no further because you wont be disappointed .
The Hotel is small but personal and the hospitality shown could not be replicated by any of your big chain Hotels .
We decided to have the breakfast for a small charge and was not disappointed with the selection of cereals , breads ,jams ,meats ,cheeses ,yogurt's with even the offer of eggs cooked to our choice .
We left after a fantastic weekend with a small gift given to us all on booking out ( chocolate ) , I must say that I have never had that before . Celle is a beautiful old town and has a beautiful Hotel to match in the hotel St Georg . Thank you for a wonderful stay made all the more memorable by your hospitality from two old soldiers and our lovely wife's .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
54
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

While passing the region we found this lovely hotel. Excellent service from the host. Clean rooms, and very good breakfast buffet. Perfect location if you want to visit the region and only some minutes away from the City Center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronny6708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel by our hosts in Celle and we could not have been happier. It is a pristine, modern hotel within a beautifully preserved historic building. Nestled in a picturesque tree-lined avenue and a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants along the medieval streets of old Celle, this is a perfect place to relax and enjoy without need for a car or public transport. Breakfast was superb, staff are friendly and we have it earmarked for future holiday visits!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked a single night on our way to southern Germany. Due to trafficjam we arrived 3 hours later than planned. As the other reviews already mentioned. Its a bit hard for the GPS to find. But the "how to find us" that the hotel mailed us was very helpfull. We parked at "am alte Apothek" there was plenty of parkingspace and it was 1 min walk to the hotel. We brought our small dog with us. Though they do accept dogs they werent exactly dog friendly and we were charged 5 euro for her. Which was okay as we were told about the extra fee forehand. Its not allowed to leave the dog in the room so we had to eat takeaway or bring her with us but since we arrived late we didn't have time to go around the city and looking for a dogfriendly restaurant.

The room was very clean but quite small. Which was okay since we only booked one night but for several night the room was too cramped. The bed was very hard. We had a terracedoor leading out directly to their garden which was very nice.

Breakfast was fine nothing special but it had the usual cold cuts, bread, juice and coffee. We also got a softboiled egg.

The location is great. 2 min walk down to the mainstreet. Celle is such a nice little town and we went for a walk in the morning and saw the city and the castle

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to Hamburg, as we wanted to spend time in a quieter town and also to visit Bergen Belsen. Would happily have stayed for longer. Both Celle itself and Hotel Garni St Georg are very pretty, relaxed, and peaceful. The hotel is in a quiet residential street, just a short walk into the town, full of half timbered houses with old signs, pavement bars, cafes, and a good selection of restaurants. It also has a schloss and park . St Georg is a small-ish family run hotel, with very comfortable and cosy en suite rooms, TV and Wi-Fi , and a good hearty breakfast. Very clean and efficient, with courteous service. We also got a great rate for our room, and would certainly recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.
After breakfast and check out, we did visit the site of the Bergen Belsen concentration camp, only about 15 minutes drive north. A superb museum has been developed, or documentation centre, with video footage and audio accounts by survivors of the atrocities.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows if travelling by car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is well situated at a quite street only 5 min. walk from "the old town" .
The hotel is small and cosy with very good service.
The breakfast is excellent with a wide variation of bread, cheese etc.
The rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvendborgDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Following an unfortunate accident en route to Celle, I could not have been staying anywhere better and upon arrival I was made to feel most welcome.Despite being very busy with the hotel Englebert & Renata were most kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble when I needed assistance or information. In fact all of the staff at Hotel St Georg are warm and friendly.
The hotel is a lovely and quaint building on a charming, leafy residential street just a 5 minute walk from Celle Altstadt. The rooms are nice and very clean with comfortable beds, some overlooking the delightful rear patio and outdoor seating area. There is convenient parking. A scrumptious breakfast offers lots of choice and Renatas homemade jams are wonderful!
I cannot fault this lovely hotel and the outstanding service it provides. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celle hotels
0.8 mi away
Althoff Hotel Fuerstenhof Celle
0.5 mi away
Hotel Celler Hof
Hotel Celler Hof
#5 of 26 in Celle
125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tryp Celle Hotel
Tryp Celle Hotel
#7 of 26 in Celle
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantik
Hotel Atlantik
#3 of 26 in Celle
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Am Hehlentor
Hotel Am Hehlentor
#10 of 26 in Celle
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlage
Hotel Blumlage
#6 of 26 in Celle
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni St. Georg

Property: Hotel Garni St. Georg
Address: Sankt-Georg-Str. 25-27, 29221 Celle, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Celle
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni St. Georg 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Garni St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing