We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but smelled of cigarettes....”

Ibis Budget Dueren-West
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ibis Budget Dueren-West
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Duren
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Comfortable but smelled of cigarettes....”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It's my fault that I didn't question the room when we arrived. When booking online there was no box to tick for a non-smoking room. The hotel is well placed and generally clean and tide except from the terrible stench of fags in the bedding and surprisingly the plastic bathroom.

Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvictaMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    97
    60
    11
    8
See reviews for
46
71
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Firstly, a fantastic location for anyone travelling from the Eastern Channel ports heading south. A very convenient location just off of the motorway, its in the middle of an industrial estate, but don't let that put you off. There is a McD's and a Burger King for those interested in a quick bite to eat, as well as 2 petrol stations.
We had a family room which was good, considering the price. There was a small double and a single bunk above it. The bunk was really only for kids, but we it doesn't have much of a guard rail so our 4 year old had to sleep in the main bed with her Dad whilst Mum (due to being significantly smaller than Dad) slept up top. Not ideal. The bathroom was on of those strange moulded fibreglass things that creaks and groans as you move in it, but again adequate. The hotel was clean and tidy, and surprisingly quiet.
The only real complaint is that despite booking for 3 (2 adults and a child) on both of our one night stays (a stop en-rote to and front Switzerland) we only had 2 pillows and 2 duvets. Not pleased with that frankly, but we survived.
One other thing, I wouldn't stay for more than a night unless I was on my own. The double is small and the bunk seems a bit flimsy for an adult, somewhat limiting sleeping arrangements.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konarob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I've stayed here for work in the past, and overnighted again on a holiday trip.

Etap is a chain, and you get a pretty standardised experience. However, sometimes the small details vary and make a big difference.

The owners of this hotel do most of their own reception work, and are genuinely welcoming. They've bought better furniture for the outside patio (smoking area), no wobbly plastic chairs here. There are more live plants in the breakfast and reception areas than normal, and the breakfast buffet is *never* allowed to run low. Four kinds of cereal rather than the usual two as well.

Small things, but they add up to make the hotel more welcoming.

Oh, and the pizzeria in the nearby village is still excellent.

The one slight down is that the hotel's car park is a bit small for the number of rooms; turn up late and you'll probably have to park on the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xantoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I've rated this as very good - for what sets out to be. It says it's on an industrial estate - it is. It says it's near the autobahn - it is. It says it's cheap - it is.
Two drawbacks - it has no lift, and in the room we had the handbasin is across the room from the shower/loo pod.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 767roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duren
1.4 mi away
Mariaweiler Hof
Mariaweiler Hof
#1 of 7 in Duren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duren's Posthotel
Duren's Posthotel
#3 of 7 in Duren
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mein Domizil Hotel
Mein Domizil Hotel
#5 of 7 in Duren
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Wasserburg
Hotel Zur Wasserburg
#4 of 10 in Kerpen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Hilgers
Hotel Hilgers
#6 of 7 in Duren
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stadthotel Juelich
Stadthotel Juelich
#1 of 5 in Julich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Dueren-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Dueren-West

Property: Ibis Budget Dueren-West
Address: Am Langen Graben 9 | Gewerbegebiet, 52353 Duren, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Duren
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Duren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Budget Dueren-West 4*
Number of rooms: 73

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing