We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
LWL-Open-Air Museum Detmold (LWL Freilichtmuseum Detmold)
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Detmold
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok ... and ?”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This open air museum was different then I thought it would be. It's a couple of old houses, mostly farm houses, grouped together to give a couple of images of an older Germany. It is like reliving that period.

The best was eating the "Kartoffel mit Kraeuter Soss", which was a typical potato you could eat at one of the restaurants inside.

The price you pay for what you see was personally too much.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DisKoverZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    31
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have been to a lot of open air museums in Germany and Europe. This is one of the best. It covers a large area so everything appears authentic and uncrowded. This does mean that you need stout shoes and an umbrella in case of rain. The shop is good which is not always the case.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Glamorgan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting,intriging beautiful, full of historical artifacts”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Take a packed lunch and stroll around this beautiful countryside which is full of some of the most outstanding bulidings. Dating from the 17th and 18th century. Look at how the people lived worked and enjoyed their life. It is amazing how our ancestors lived, we enjoyed the horse and cart ride around the villages too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vienna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Living museum of my family history”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We absolutely loved this place. My mother's family is from Kalletal and it was fascinating to see the history of her ancestors. We were exhausted after walking the very large park from end to end and wish we could have spent another day there. When you live in Canada, which has a very young history, it is so important to find your family history from long before, and this was a marvelous example of the story of my ancestors.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
Thank HeidiPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LWL-Open-Air Museum Detmold (LWL Freilichtmuseum Detmold) also viewed

Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia
Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia
Detmold, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to LWL-Open-Air Museum Detmold (LWL Freilichtmuseum Detmold)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing