We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant staging post”
Review of Hotel Henry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Henry
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Erding
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived in the evening and were shown to a pleasant & clean, decent sized room. Tea & coffee was available in the room, which is not always the case in Germany. The reception staff were helpful throughout our short stay & spoke English when our German failed us! Although we did not dine in the hotel, the quality and standard of breakfast was excellent. Our only quibble about the room was that it was warm, with only open windows for cooling. Had we been on the road side of the building then traffic noise may have been an issue.
It was a reasonable walk into town, but all our taxi drivers knew the hotel so there was never a problem getting to and from as required.
We will certainly stay at the Hotel Henry again.

Room Tip: choose a garden view, especially in summer when you will want the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin-erhard, Manager at Hotel Henry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ali M,

Thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately, we do not have air conditioning. For your next stay we can suggest that you book a room gardenside which is a little more expensive (additional 10,- Euro). Then you can open the window and hear nothing from the traffic outside. If it's a bit colder and you can leave the windows closed, you will hear hardly anything from the traffic as we have an excellent noise isolation due to double windows.

We hope that you will visit us soon again.

Best regards
Hotel Henry
Martin Erhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Henry on the 19th, and then again twice starting around the 27th.

Overall, this is a nice ~4 story hotel on the edge of Erding, a "suburb" of Munich (a suburb in that it is around 45 minutes away, and on the train line).

Every room is unique, and is named for a different major world city. My first room was on the top floor, and as a single room was a little on the small side, mostly as the roof line was coming down. This room was also on the road side, which made it a little noisy, but not too bad. There was a wood lot across from the hotel in which some people were having a campfire, which was a distraction.

Oh yeah. No air conditioning. Even with the windows open, it was quite warm. I think this is fairly normal in Germany.

The rooms I had on the final two nights was a floor lower, and on the back of the hotel. It had a small balcony, a larger bathroom (tub), and was quiet.

The hotel was clean, and very enjoyable.

We ate breakfasts and one meal in the hotel, which were very good.

I believe the room cost was around 80 Euros, which is reasonable. It did include free WIFI which was a bit spotty. It would work in one room, but have trouble next door.

I did find the hotel staff are polite and helpful, but not overly warm.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if the location suites your purposes. I do wonder if there might not be similar priced hotels closer to Munich. Also as a note, Erding is a nice town in it's own right. The downtown has a nice restaurant area, and I understand the Erding brewery is close by (with it's all you can drink and all you can eat sausage tour). Finally, Therm Erding, a large water park and spa is about a 15-20 minute from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter and some have balconies. There is an additional charge for these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Larrabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin-erhard, Manager at Hotel Henry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Larrabee,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked your stay(s) in our hotel. We have different room categories that differ in the location of the rooms (one category is streetside, the other one is gardenside). The company that organizes the motorcycle tours book rooms in all categories.

We now have improved the WIFI signal so there should be a good signal in all our rooms.

Air conditioning is not that common in hotels here in Germany. However, there are not that many really hot days over here.

The room rate depends on the time you stay here. Of course, it's more expensive if you come here during events like the Oktoberfest or for trade fairs that are going on in Munich from time to time. You can check our daily rates on our website.

We hope that we can welcome you again in our house.

Best regards
Hotel Henry
Martin Erhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of our motor bike tour with Adriatic Motor Tours and the last night of the tour. The hotel staff were all very friendly. They even have a room set aside for you to store extra luggage if you are travelling. Rooms are large and themed as mentioned. Gardens are beautiful to sit and enjoy a beer or chat with other motor bike tour riders. Breakfast is varied and you have to try the Wheat beer which this area is famous for. I am not a beer drinker but did not mind the taste. Location is great if you want to take train into Munich - about 20 min walk.
Would definitely stay here again if passing through.

Room Tip: second stay was room 206. with balcony overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianinriyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin-erhard, Manager at Hotel Henry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear canadianinriyadh,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from Erding
Hotel Henry
Martin Erhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at Hotel Henry for 5 nights on a business trip, and have to say I was pleased with the stay. As others mentioned, the rooms are themed, I stayed in 'Barcelona' which was a spacious room with a balcony. This is a strong 3* hotel and I think good for either business or tourists wanting to explore Erding. A very warm week for May but the rooms were still comfortable despite being avg of 26-27oC outside.

Service is what sets the hotel apart, staff at reception and restaurant always very helpful and welcoming.

Couple of minor gripes: Wi-Fi access in the rooms isn't great, often didn't get reception (a pain as needed this as on business trip). Second is that the food in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss - some nice food, some not so good (and often over salted). The gym is pretty limited as well which was disappointing. These are minor points generally though and I'd stay again!

Room Tip: If you need Wi-Fi access in your room I'd suggest asking at reception for one where people haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getheurban_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin-erhard, Manager at Hotel Henry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear getheurban_traveller,

Thank you very much for your review. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay in our house (by the way: 4 star according to the german commission DEHOGA).
We, the staff, can promise that we always try to fulfil our guests wishes and make them feel comfortable during their stay in our house.

Thank you very much for your critics: we promise, that we will try to improve the reception of the Wi-Fi in the Barcelona room. We know that our gym is small, but we think that we can offer basic training opportunities. There is also a professional gym about 1 km away from our house.

We would like to welcome you again in our hotel and send you our best wishes
Hotel Henry
Martin Erhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I still have a mix feeling about this hotel. Once again I wanted to try something new in an area that I know very well: Munich and surrounding. Was my first time in this hotel, the location for me is very good because I love Erding, and personally my favorite gym was 2 minutes away, plus a big mall where you can fid anything you need. And yes you definitely need a car to go places.

Munich downtown is around 40Km, the airport less than 10Km, and Erding center just few minutes away, if you ever been in this small town, you have to go and see how cute this small town is.
But lets talk about this hotel, more for a pleasure and vacation than for business; all rooms seems having different themes, I was in the San Francisco, and the décor of each room is different. Mine was big and spacious with a balcony facing a small garden. Very cute. The room itself and the furniture are nothing special, clean, nice but a bit dated and cheap looking. But one thing I have to say..they need to improve the mattress and the bed sheet, those were bad

The hotel itself is not very new, the lobby is well kept, but not the most modern and efficient one. Bathroom was ok, I've seen worst but I've seen way better as well. They have a restaurant downstairs, food is limited but good, don't be in hurry because the service is pretty slow, however the prices are very convenient. Internet is free, which is a very good thing now days, would have been even better if the free internet did work, if you can get signal, its enough to research the web pretty quick and reply to your email, but way too unreliable for business porpoise. Another good is free parking next to the hotel.
What can I say, my conclusion are, if you are on vacation and you have a car and you don't have huge expectation, this place is definitely a go, affordable, convenience , nice ad clean, I can honesty say, you get what you pay for and feel very satisfied for what you got for your money.

Room Tip: try to get the one facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niccolo2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel recently - it was chosen deliberately because we were going to be spending time at the Therme Erding (largest apparently in Europe) and it is 10-15 mins walk away.
The hotel was very nice, clean, tidy, offered a great breakfast, lots of variety from the expected cold meats, through to cereals, fruit and there was even a juicer to make your own juices if you wanted.
The staff were very pleasant and all spoke a little English - certainly enough to understand us - and my German isn't very good!
We booked a garden room which had a balcony (Atlanta) - really nice with a double, en suite as expected and a sofa, small table and chairs. There was even a little kitchenette hidden behind a wardrobe door - we didn't use it at all, but nice to have it there if needed.
Overall, a fabulous hotel, can't rate it highly enough.
As a by-the-by, it is about 40 mins to Munich by train - station easily accessible by a 5 min walk from the hotel, and the tickets for both of us came to 21 euros in total, for a return trip - and you can use that ticket on the buses as well for the whole day.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a garden room, slightly bigger I think and you get the balcony/view which in nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nich14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin-erhard, Manager at Hotel Henry, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear nich14,

Thank you very much for your review. You wrote a very nice description of our hotel. We've got nothing to add.

We hope that we can welcome you as a guest again when you come to Germany again.
Best wishes
Hotel Henry
Martin Erhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because it's a bit far from Munich, otherwise the place was perfect. We stayed here when we first flew into Munich because we went onto another city and the room could not have been better. The bed was very comfortable after a 12 hour flight from the SF Bay Area, the restaurant in the hotel was great (loved the Nurnberg sausages and apple strudel) and the breakfast was a feast! The people working in the hotel were very nice and extremely helpful and the wifi worked without any problems. If we ever get back to Germany, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jediannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin-erhard, Manager at Hotel Henry, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear jediannie,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that we could fulfil your expectations. We are located in the city of Erding that is about 40 km northeast from the city center of Munich. However, there is a train that takes about 50 minutes to Munich. The station is about 800 metres away.

Anyway, thank you for your review of our restaurant. Beside traditional dishes like the sausages and the apple strudel, we also offer modern international dishes with a bavarian basis. Do you want to give it a try? Well, then it might be time for your next visit. :-)

We are looking forward to it.

Best greetings from Erding
Your Hotel Henry team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erding hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Victory Therme Erding
0.4 mi away
Hotel und Gaststatte zum Erdinger Weissbrau
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkhotel Erding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Muenchen Airport Erding
1.2 mi away
Hotel Apfelbaum
Hotel Apfelbaum
#8 of 17 in Erding
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Munich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Henry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Henry

Address: Dachauer Str. 1, 85435 Erding, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Erding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erding
#4 Luxury Hotel in Erding
Price Range: £74 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Henry 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The officially DEHOGA classified 4 star Hotel Henry started running in 2002 as a completely new building. It is located in the centre of the Upper Bavarian city Erding, excellent within reach - airport Munich is only approximately 8 km away. The unique highlight: there are no room numbers, in fact the guest has the choice between different metropolises of all continents: the atmosphere of each particular city is reflected in the design of the room. Every room is different from the others and was decorated stylistically by the owner in person with great attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Henry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Hotel Erding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing