We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”
Review of Hotel Waldeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waldeck
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Feldberg
chelmsford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have been coming to this hotel every other year since 1992 and it is still very good value, especially the half board rates. There is a plentiful buffet breakfast ranging from cooked bacon, eggs, many types of bread, cheeses to cereals and fresh friut.
The evening dinner is four courses, salad or similar, soup, main course choice of meat, fish or vegetarian and a dessert.The Chef Florian presents a beautifully cooked quality meal every evening.
The area is ideal for walking and the free Konus card allows free travel on all local trains in the Black Forest. Station is less than ten minutes walk from hotel.
We thank Florian & Stephanie for looking after us so well and we hope to stay with them again in 2016.
Robert & Patricia.

Room Tip: We like room 11 with afternoon sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatEurotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

the Feldberg snow was calling again, so we looked for a place to stay, and ended up in hotel Waldeck, literally family-run. People are very friendly, the hotel is what you expect at 3* level, we had a room with a balcony that was getting the afternoon sun, splendid for after ski! Since we didn't want to look elsewhere for dinner, we explored part of the menu: this is not the classical Black Forest cuisine. Whether you tace the scallops, the carpacio, just a simple salad or the cold smoked swordfish, these startes have barely anithing in common with the usual stuff. The same goes for the main courses (angus beef, dorade, skrei, spring chicken); and the wine we had (both white and red) went perfectly well with the food. If you look for accommodation in this area, Waldeck is a good option

Room Tip: the rooms at the back or the left side have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janneman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I liked 2 things: friendly waiter (one of the two - the smaller one :-)) and tasty meals at the "hotel" restaurant. Other observations: it's just another guesthouse - not a hotel as one may get used to, it's run by a couple with a small kid and doesn't give a comfort/level of professionalism of a hotel. The furniture/whole interior is OLD and pretty basic, the premise itself is located far away from any attractions of the region, rooms are very small and the one we occupied was... smelly! the WiFi is not available in some rooms, the restaurant is closed around 8:30pm, so forget about having a dinner if you come back to the "hotel" later (no other restaurants in the area). No menu in English, the waiters at the restaurant don't speak English. In my opinion - it's overpriced (we paid 95 Eur per night), I'm sure there are less expensive and more comfortable guesthouses in the area - the reason we decided to stay in this place was we expected it to be a hotel (don't like the atmosphere of guesthouses), but ... the name was misleading.

Room Tip: if you want internet connection you need to request a room with WiFi while making a booking (it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a very well run hotel - owners have and are doing a wonderful job. The hotel is in a very quiet village with an amazing view of pastoral lands. Just down the valley is a more touristy area that is almost garish...we quite enjoyed staying at the Waldeck and using it as our base for exploring the black forest.

Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Housekeeping kept things tidy and refreshed.

The restaurant was out of this world. Given the chef is the owner, we were not surprised! Lots of innovative german flavours and dishes, outstanding service, and pace just right. Only one of the servers spoke english (and tolerated our horrible german!) and offered us lots of advice and tips on the area. We noted the high work ethic of all the staff and were impressed!

The hotel also offered to help with our laundry and did a great (and well-priced) job.

We'd return in a heartbeat - really helped us feel like we were experiencing authentic rural germany.

Room Tip: Top floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seamusandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Friendly reception and even though the room was not ready (we were early) the hotel staff kindly agreed to put our cool bag (with food that needed refrigeration) into their fridge.

Room was spacious with a newly renovated bathroom. We did miss a bedside lamp for night time reading. Quiet location.

Dinner in the dinning room was served by friendly, motivated staff. House wine drinkable and reasonably priced. Food was nicely presented and portions generous. It would have been nice if the chef had come to say hello. In fact this is what we missed most at this hotel – the presence of the owners.

Breakfast was copious but at 9.00am (on a Sunday) already fairly empty and was not replenished. But we didn't go hungry!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nous2ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorianStoll, Owner at Hotel Waldeck, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,
vielen Dank für die Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes in der Zeit vom 22.-23.06.2013 in unserem Haus.
Wir müssen um Ihr Verständnis bitten, aber normalerweise bieten wir den Check-in erst ab 14 Uhr an. Dass die gebuchten Zimmer bei Ihrer Anreise noch nicht verfügbar waren, lag an Ihrer Anreisezeit um 11.30 Uhr (Check-out der vorhergehenden Gäste ist bis 10.30 möglich).
Es verwundert uns außerdem sehr, daß Sie schreiben, Sie hätten weit und breit nichts von den Besitzern des Hauses gesehen.
Es war meine Frau, die Sie am Anreisetag eingecheckt und Ihre Fragen beantwortet hat, und ich (der Inhaber) habe Ihre mitgebrachten Würstchen entgegen genommen und diese in unserem Kühlhaus gelagert. Vielleicht hatten Sie ältere Inhaber erwartet und nicht zwei Personen Anfang 30.
Für unangebracht befinden wir, daß Sie uns für die Bewertung des Zimmers nur 3 Punkte geben, weil die Nachttischlampe fehlte. Diese ist einem Mitarbeiter unseres Hauses zwei Tage zuvor bei der Zimmerreinigung versehentlich heruntergefallen, und es ist uns bis zu Ihrer Anreise nicht gelungen, eine zum Zimmer passende Ersatzleuchte zu finden. Wir bitten dies natürlich zu entschuldigen, auf diesen Umstand hätten wir Sie bei der Anreise hinweisen müssen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Florian Stoll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed a weekend in this hotel recently and felt I had to write a review. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very high quality, I found any staff memeber I encountered to be really helpful and genuinely very friendly. What was really an added bonus for me was that they picked me up and dropped me off at the train station at the very times I needed. They really made my weekend and you just got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for them.
The location is just perfect too for the village and skiing. Its a really well run establishment, I couldn't have asked for any more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bascharage, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I can just commend this hotel for everybody who intend to have rest in a fantastic hotel. The food was diversified,abudant and delicious. The room was clean and quite. The staff was very kind,helpfull in a way what we could not experinced in another hotel.Definitely would turn back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feldberg
1.6 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#4 of 16 in Feldberg
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlehdorn
Hotel Schlehdorn
#2 of 16 in Feldberg
95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Landhotel Bierhaeusle
Landhotel Bierhaeusle
#1 of 16 in Feldberg
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landhotel Sonneck
Landhotel Sonneck
#5 of 16 in Feldberg
30 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldeck

Property: Hotel Waldeck
Address: Windgfaellstr. 19, 79868, Feldberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Feldberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Feldberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldeck 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small familiy operated hotel in the upper black forest near lake Titisee and lake Schluchsee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waldeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing