We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skandinavien Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strandhotel Glucksburg
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glucksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Skandinavien Style”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel is next to the white beach. You will find Skandinavien Design in the restaurant and in the hotelrooms. Everything is new and feels very bright and clean. We have been just two times in the restaurant and the food was really good. The only thing I was missing was different alcoholfree wines and beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keddy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. Keddy78,

thank you very much for staying in our Strandhotel. Your feedback and comments are the only way to address the individual needs of our guests and to optimise the quality of service.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay which left nothing to be desired. It shows that our house and its Scandinavian ease as well as the individual, kind and caring staff are the right philosophy to create a personal atmosphere.

Thank you for your advice regarding the nonalcoholic wine and beer. You are right that there is no selection because we only have one nonalcoholic beer and one nonalcoholic wine. If you visit us again please let us know before you arrive if you have any special wishes which we can order for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Yours
Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    56
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
124
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
298 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

By all means, this is a very, very good hotel with a fantastic location on the very nice beach. The renovation done over the years has been very well handled. The rooms are nice, the bathrooms very good. The breakfast however, was not up to standards, slow on refills and with a limited selection. And I missed service and flexibility reflecting the price, i.e there was no extra beds available our 4 year old, even if there was lots of space in the room. This could have been accepted on a cheaper hotel, but not in a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. Arnt78,

thank you very much for staying in our Strandhotel and also for taking time to write down your impessions. Your feedback and comments are the only way to take remedial action in case of complaints and to optimise the quality of service.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having been able to make your stay as pleasant as you expected.

In a general rule our breakfast buffet is very liked by our guests and we are very sad that the service wasn´t profesional while your stay.
For sure we offer extra beds and babybeds for our guests. It is only neseccary to order them sufficiently early because it is a limited number of beds. Unfortunately we are not able to explain why this service was not possible in your case. With pleasure we will check the details if we can talk personally. Probably we are able to find the reason later.

We would be pleased if we could welcome you again soon, not least because we would love to show that improvement in quality is possible in our house.

Kind regards

Yours Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Set right on the beach, the Strand is a lovely grand hotel which we stumbled upon when looking for somewhere in the area to stay. Renovated within the last 10 years the decor is lovely, our room was very nice with lovely sea views, and a fabulous bathroom with a rainfall shower. We had a very fine meal indeed - memorably good. A corked bottle of rather expensive German red wine was replaced with grace and it turns out Germany does do some very fine reds after all. The beach is calm and just out the door. Service was friendly and effective. Breakfast was a feast. Really nothing to fault about this place. OK you pay handsomely for the privilege, but we did get a decent discount when they saw our faces upon hearing the price initially on enquiry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBunnetGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. The BunnetGull,

thank you so much for taking the time to write down your impressions.

We are very happy that you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and also the service, meal and german wine.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Yours
Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a lovely room. I felt like a princess in a castle. In the middle of summer - i slept with the windows open and enjoyed the fresh air from the sea. It is very relaxing to go out onto the quiet sea front and walk down the dock and watch the jelly fish. The water front restaurant was lovely for drinks.

The restaurant was ready to close when we got in late. They stayed open for us and served fantastic food. Their collection of grappa and schnaaps was impressive. We only mildly experienced that.

The rooms were large and felt very plush.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the tower. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momma_christa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manon R, Leiter Front Office at Strandhotel Glucksburg, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. momma-christa,

we refer to your stay in our hotel and your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

We are very thankful for your nice words and for your compliments regarding room, service and area.

If you wish to relax again we would be very happy to welcome you again and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Kind regards

Yours Strandhotel-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I visited Glucksburg Strandhotel because of its location during a business trip but I will certainly aim to return with the family for a long weekend at some point.

The hotel is a grand old building completely refurbished with good taste and to a high quality. It is situated right on the beach with fabulous views and surroundings. It has a formal restaurant and an informal bistro on the beach, the bistro also offers outdoor BBQ in the evenings.

The service was very friendly and professional. All in all the hotel was a very pleasant surprise and I will be looking forward to returning at first opportunity.

Room Tip: 4th floor is served by stairs only but the view was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The location of this hotel is awesome just at the seashore and with a small private beach. The style is like an old English beach hotel, the building is made of wood and painted white. The interior is very nice and the style matches exactly the hotel architecture - it is very conducted. The rooms are quite big and spacious with big bathroom and comfortable beds. The hotel is located in a very nice area near forest and beaches. Just 20 min drive from Flensburg. Free parking and Wifi and very service minded staff. Excellent breakfast with a lot a variety. The restaurant is fair.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view to the seashore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel is located on the beach with a fine view over the Flensburg Fjord to Denmark. The interior and furnishing is in bright anf friendly Nordic style. The personnel is kind and helpful and speaks good English. The room we had was at the top of the building, absolutely clean, with a large bathroom where everything worked perfectly. The first evening, we had a fine fixed 4-course dinner and the second evening a la carte dinner of same quality. The hot items were in fact hot which we appreciate. Fast and efficient dining room service. Breakfast was with many varieties and again just right: The soft boiled eggs were in fact soft boiled and hot, the bread and rolls were fresh and with a fine taste. All in all a very pleasant stay for an elderly couple (84 and 79) in a great hotel. A warning: The floor of the shower stall was very slippery - we spread a towel on the floor to avoid falling. To be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glucksburg
1.8 mi away
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
#2 of 7 in Glucksburg
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reich's Hotel
Reich's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Glucksburg
13 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#1 of 25 in Flensburg
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel am Wasserschloss
Hotel am Wasserschloss
#3 of 7 in Glucksburg
23 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Waldschloesschen
Hotel Waldschloesschen
#1 of 10 in Schleswig
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Glucksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Glucksburg

Property: Strandhotel Glucksburg
Address: Kirstenstrasse 6, 24960 Glucksburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Glucksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glucksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strandhotel Glucksburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Strandhotel Glucksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing