We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably our most visited hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Helmstedt
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Helmstedt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Twice a year, at least, we go from Amsterdam to my in-laws in Poland. On the way back we usually stay in this hotel in Helmstedt, a quiet and pretty little town very close to the old border between east and West Germany. It's a pleasant experience every time. The hotel is not too expensive even it has a free parking, clean rooms, friendly staff and a very good breakfast which is normally included in the room price. The restaurant is generally good as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoostWillemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I just picked this hotel location off the map because it was he right distance for an overnight stay on our trip to Poland. We knew nothing about the area and chose the hotel because it was not far to divert off the motorway.

It is located in a good class residential area in an elevated position on the outskirts of Helmstedt. There are woodlands behind it which, according to the map, have hiking trails. We did not have time to explore these.

The hotel is modern, clean and welcoming. There is adequate free car parking and free wifi access. The room was reasonably large and equipped with all we needed. At the back of the hotel is an area with tables for outside eating or dinking. The food was good but the service a bit slow.

The area is quiet so there was no problem in getting a good night's sleep. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but perfectly adequate.

We asked about local attractions and the hotel staff suggested a 20 minute walk down to the town centre. What an unexpected delight! Helmsted is a scenic medieval town full of character. Don't miss the opportunity to explore it.

This is not an exciting hotel but one that offers everything that a good hotel should. A perfect spot for an overnight stop at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the town and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The first impression is a business hotel somewhat outside the centre of the nice city of Helmstedt. But the welcome also for tourists like we in the weekend is heartwarming.
The room was large and comfortable. Also the bathroom was well equipped. The restaurant served good meals for reasonable prices and the staff was very friendly.
The beds were a bit hard but we slept well on it.
The next morning we enjoyed the breakfast: really perfect.
A surprising experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

13th August, prepaid on a Great Escapes Battlefield tour with the War Research Society. It is a very nice hotel situated near to what was "Checkpoint Alpha" on the road to Berlin. The staFF were polite, professional and efficent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Nothing special, but nothing lacking, either. A fine business hotel about 35 minutes outside of Wolfsburg, Germany. Clean room, friendly staff and a surprisingly good breakfast. If you can't find a room in Wolfsburg, this is a reasonable place to stay. Bring your GPS...it's a little hard to find...in a residential neighborhood. Helmstedt is not a great place...very limited restaurants and nothing to do. Not a vacation spot!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodenseeAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The best part was the breakfast. Abundance and large variety of food. Really good quality and tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princeofgower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We have just returned from a Best of Eastern Europe tour with Shearings.

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel, sadly for only one night.

I can honestly sum it up in one word. Fantastic.

The hotel has recently had a lot of renovation work done and this shows in every corner from the outside, lobby, restaurant and rooms.

We would not hesitate going there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmstedt
21.3 mi away
Steigenberger Parkhotel Braunschweig
0.7 mi away
Parkhotel Helmstedt
Parkhotel Helmstedt
#2 of 3 in Helmstedt
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kruger
Hotel Kruger
#1 of 3 in Helmstedt
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Helmstedt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Helmstedt

Address: Chardstrasse 2, 38350 Helmstedt, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Helmstedt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Helmstedt
Price Range: £67 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Helmstedt 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Helmstedt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helmstedt
Helmstedt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing