We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ammersee Hotel for Work or Holiday”
Review of Ammersee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ammersee Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ammersee Hotel for Work or Holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have been traveling to the Herrsching area for 15 years for business and holidays. For the past 12 years Ammersee Hotel in Herrsching is where I stay. Miss Bea Fischer's team including reception, restaurant staff and house cleaning personal are ALWAYS courteous, friendly and very helpful with any request.
I highly recommend Ammersee Hotel in Herrsching for a first class experience whether for business or vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    56
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
62
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok, Rusland
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

A very enjyable time in a nice hotel right on shore of Ammersee. Great view at the lake, birds' songs - I really needed it during vacation time. Wonderful breakfast, free internet, free (though small) parking, great beer both in the hotel and around. Please, pay attention - at night front desk is unattended and you have to use your room key to open the door.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Arrived here tired after a long journey from Frankfurt. Delighted to find a nice, cosy place with excellent staff and food. Was a first experience in Germany and we loved it. Food was just awesome. Breakfast, a great spread. Would recommend it for anybody visiting this beautiful part of the planet. Bang opposite the lake. Beautiful cozy rooms. Free Coffee/Tea/Internet.

  • Liked — Location, food, staff
  • Disliked — Small Reception
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ednapkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Friendly efficient staff greeted us on arrival. Allocated a room on the 3rd floor without a balcony but Lake Side. This is a must as the view is stunning.

The rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor Lakeside have balconies but are covered in a mesh for the birds/ seagulls. This may spoil your view a little I couldn't say for sure as I didn't see from there.

The room we stayed in on the 3rd floor had a doubles window which opens out fully to allow you to stick your whole head out to get a panoramic view of the lake with it's wee boats and piers.

You can see the whole way to Diessling and the other villages on the other side of the Ammersee.

My partner and I moved out table over to the window and sat on it looking out with a glass of wine or two and had the loveliest time watching the sun set over the lake.

There is also a lovely treatment room in the basement and sauna. I got a 30 mins back massage for only 17 Euros.

Internet access is free from the reception area and they also have a printer attached to print out maps and info, very handy as the sat nav in our hire car was kaput!

The rooms are spacious with basic decor (no tea making facilities as per Europe standards).

Big shower cubicle with a fantastic flow rate, shower gel is in a bottle on the wall which I prefer to small bottles.

Everything was super clean.

Beds were separate mattresses on a king size base which is ideal for the no roll together thing.

Pillows like all German hotels were soft so ask for another or bring your own.

I slept well with the windows open as later at night the promenade is quiet even at weekends.

Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant, typical German fare of cereals ham cheese and bread. They will make you bacon and fried eggs if you ask.

This hotel is mostly used by older Germans and the odd business person.
It's great not to hear very many English speakers in Herrsching too. You would get by with no German (might be fun) but I speak a little and managed great. Locals are friendly too.

Nice new bar called Pier 48 is not far from the Ammersee. And Feni’s café / club is great for the younger ones. A great selection of Gasthouses and hotel restaurants will cater for your needs over a few nights stay.

All in all a great place to stay for a quiet relaxing break. Highly recommended by this 33 yr old.

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Libranlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This is a lovely and welcoming hotel located on the shore of the Amersee lake south of Munich.

The rooms are comfortably furnished, the saff are friendly, the menu and bar excellent, and most of all, the breakfast offers a good variety of contiental fare with a selection of REAL TEABAGS and hot water on tap for avid tea drinkers like me. Besides this, there are some good eating places nearby including an Italian not five minutes away on the lake.

As a fairly regular business vistor to this area, I can say that this is the best place to stay at between Wessling and Herrsching.

The lakeside promenade is right outside and can be a tad noisy with visitors during the evenigs of summer, but the overall "feel" of this place makes it great!

  • Liked — A good welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

The hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the S-Bahn. The room is spacious with wireles free of charge. I was staying in a room where facing the street but the location of the hotel is right beside the lake (Ammersee). Was lucky to see beautiful sunset even though not from the room. But it took less than 1 minute to walk to the bank of the lake. Staff were helpful and the food (breakfast and dinner) in the hotel was great!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoniagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Stayed at the Ammersee for a couple of nights on a business trip. The location is beautiful, right on the lake front with a view out of my bedroom window across the lake. There's only a pedestrian pathway between the hotel and the lake.
Everything was very clean. I had two single beds in my room, complimentary bottled water and a flat screen TV. All the hotel staff spoke at least some English (which is handy as my German is non existant). Breakfast was average. Nice but nothing stunning.
My major complaint about the place was the bathroom. Actually it was a shower room, but the shower head couldn't be moved and was pointing in the wrong direction directly into my face and that's not terribly pleasant. But perhaps I just got a broken shower. I confess I didn't ask for it to be fixed or anything.
Would stay there again, as long as they'd sorted the shower.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fatduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herrsching am Ammersee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Andechser Hof
Hotel Andechser Hof
#4 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet am Kiental
Chalet am Kiental
#2 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof Herrsching
Hotel Seehof Herrsching
#3 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Fischerhaus
Fischerhaus
#2 of 5 in Starnberg
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piushof
Hotel Piushof
#5 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
15 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Starnberger See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammersee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammersee Hotel

Property: Ammersee Hotel
Address: Summerstr. 32, 82211 Herrsching am Ammersee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Herrsching am Ammersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Herrsching am Ammersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammersee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Ammersee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammersee Hotel Herrsching
Ammersee Hotel Germany/Herrsching Am Ammersee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing