We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improving” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mettmann
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs improving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Writing this review whilst still at the hotel. I'll start of with the lobby: clean, bright, staff friendly. Only one lift working which can cause queues if a lot of people want to use it at the same time.

Room: could do with some improvement! TV outdated and needs more English channels. Beds not the comfiest for my taste, pillows too soft (I & my girlfriend needed 3!). Bathroom a bit on the small side and too hot!

Dining: buffet edible but not the best, what they don't tell you is that they also offer food from the bar. Dining room staff very friendly but bar staff not so much.

Location: bit out of the main city Düsseldorf so transport needed, about 50 minutes on the bus.

Overall: I would not choose this hotel for a holiday but as I am traveling with a coach company I didn't have much choice. I noticed the other reviews saying mainly the same and the management saying sorry or thank you for your feedback and we aim to improve! But I have not seen any of these improvements!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alienhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MET21, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
With best regards, Your Team from BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Düsseldorf Mettmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    122
    110
    43
    28
See reviews for
76
83
23
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Bad points: Those 4 stars are just on paper: the smallest bathroom I ever saw, no slippers and bathrobe from the beginning, old furniture. When I asked for slippers and bathrobe, the lady from the reception said (in a rude manner) that there are no available because were given to other customers (as if we were some aliens not customers too). 10 grade for the cleaning lady, who solved the problem for us.

Good points: the staff from the restaurant and bar are friendly and nice, plenty of choices for breakfast, tasty food for lunch and dinner (congratulation for the Chef), clean and quiet rooms, towels were changed every day, fast check-in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MET21, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We really regret, that you have not been satisfied with our service and quality during your stay at our hotel. To avoid the same mistakes in the future, we have already spoken to the responsible staff. Excuse me again for the inconvenience during your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
With best regards
Your Team from BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Düsseldorf Mettmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

If you like modern rooms you can forget about this hotel.
Everything looks old. The TV is old and is cathodic.
I was a bit disappointed by breakfast: didn't find anything with pastry.
The first thing the woman asked me in the morning was my room number and then if i wanted to pay for the breakfast (Unfortunetly it was included)
If you want to connect to the internet, do not forget to sign a paper telling you will not go on forbidden websites...
When I gave my key, they wanted me to pay again for the room... the room was already paid by the internet.

I would say this best western is not the best i did and below the standard i use to see at best western.

Otherwise, people are nice and rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArMiTaGe2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MET21, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com.
We really regret, that you not satisfied with our service and quality during your stay in our hotel. We work on our mistakes to avoid them in the future.
Thank you. Best regards. Your Team from BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Düsseldorf Mettmann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have just returned from my first visit to Germany, which was a coach trip with Leger to see the 2012 Floriade....also visiting Cologne, Koblenz, Dusseldorf and Aachen.
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.
Our arrival was around midnight, and the check in was quite efficient, and the staff seemed very pleasant, understanding English well.
The hotel was very clean with a spacious reception area. The dining room and bar led off this area, and 2 lifts were available to take us to the top 4th floor.
The rooms are really of a basic standard (maybe a budget hotel) but the beds were comfortable and towels with hand wash soap and shower gel/shampoo provided plus hairdryer. A fridge contained water and various drinks(chargeable), but we did not use any, as prices were high.
Only a small clothes hanging space with 8 hangars, but enough for our short stay.
No drawers. No safe. No tea making facilities and no air conditioning.
The window gave us a little air, but the room got hot. I think a fan could be asked for (free of charge) but we didn't bother with the hassle.
Buffet breakfast was available from 6am....and 5-30am on our departure day, because of the early start. A good spread...plenty of choice....cereals, juices, water, coffee, croissants, bread, meats, fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages....to suit everyone.
We took an evening meal on the first night...3 courses for 19-50 euros each. This was the buffet choice,....there was a clear soup, but main course, there was only either pork or fish to choose, plus mixed (frozen) veg and sliced potatoes. Sweet was a choice of 3 mousse type dishes and a hot choice which I did not see until pointed out to me. The food itself was good.
This hotel is probably more of a business mans stopover rather than a holiday hotel.
Position wise...it is out of the centre of Dusseldorf. Only nearby eating place was MacDonalds. Apparently there is a supermarket and bakery and a few other shops a short walk away.
I cannot say if this is a typical German hotel, as it was my first visit to the country.
I also cannot say if it was value for money, as the price was included in the trip price.
But on the whole, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa7R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MET21, Manager at Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your assessment regarding your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and i can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests,
Best Regards
Your Team from Best Western Grand City Hotel Düsseldorf Mettmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here for a shoppingtrip, close to all the big cities in the region. Clean and friendly hotel with an excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Only downpoint is no airconditioning which was a surprise and a big miss with the temperatures we experienced. Stayed in a triple room, the beds were good, but the fold out sofa not, bathroom clean. All in all, very good value for money! Had one dinner in the hotel restaurant and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paars_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights on "Floriade & A Taste of Germany". Single room was large, not much drawer/shelf space, but ok for a short stay. Mini fridge, comfy bed and clean en suite. Nice dining room, buffet breakfast lots of choice and as much as you wanted. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very quiet, couldn't hear anything from other rooms.
Out in the suburbs so no good if you wanted to be centrally based but well located for motorways.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on the Leger coach tour and the hotel was really clean and comfortable and I can't believe some of the negative reviews on here. This is a Best Western hotel and they have good standards to keep. Rooms are plenty large enough, shower was great, area feels really safe (large police HQ building right opposite!) Free wi-fi access in room (just need to ask reception for the login & password). There is a Rewe supermarket and Aldi supermarket and post office about 50 yards along the same road (and a bakery inside Rewe) but none are open on Sunday though but rest of days are open from 7 or 8 am so if you get a late coach start you can go check them out! Even better for me was the McDonalds about 5 mins walk away, so useful for breakfast or evening meal if you didnt want to use the hotel restaurant (I didnt bother but by all accounts the food was great).The only english tv station was CNN news but we weren't there to watch tv anyway and besides I love to keep up to date with the news. Totally enjoyed the Floriade trip and the visits to Cologne and Koblenz, good amount of time at each place mostly but could have done with extra hour at Koblenz. Beware that most of the shops in Germany are closed on a Sunday so only small gift shops are open and cafes and restaurants. Also Cologne Cathedral doesn't open for sightseeing until after 1pm on Sundays due to services being held, you can go in for a quick look but won't be allowed to wander around, Anyhow, would recommend this trip and hotel to anyone so thanks all!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janella1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mettmann
0.9 mi away
Hotel Land Gut Hohne
Hotel Land Gut Hohne
#1 of 5 in Mettmann
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.7 mi away
IHR Hotel Alte Fabrik
IHR Hotel Alte Fabrik
#4 of 5 in Mettmann
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf City Centre Koenigsallee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alberga
Hotel Alberga
#3 of 5 in Mettmann
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
7.9 mi away
InterContinental Dusseldorf
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luisenhof Hotel
Luisenhof Hotel
#5 of 5 in Mettmann
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann

Property: Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann
Address: Peckhauser Str. 5 | 40822 Mettmann, 40822 Mettmann, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Mettmann
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mettmann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Duesseldorf Mettmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mettmann
Ramada Mettmann
Mettmann Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing