We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed, happy, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Iserlohn
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“relaxed, happy, comfortable”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The setting is amazing. There is forest behind the hotel (good for walks) and on the other side a wonderful orchard. Sorry we only stayed 2 nights - I would have loved to spend more time sitting in the grass or the little open pavillion.
Great view over the hills from the really really beautiful rooftop terrace (with a great sauna), and also a beautiful and green view from the restaurant and the rooms.
We loved the books, kept on picking up interesting ones and reading bits and pieces all the time, so it did take longer than usual to walk from A to B as there are shelves with carefully selected books everywhere.
Reception staff was exceptionally friendly, already during the booking process and also when we were there. Always happy and smiling and making sure we had everything we needed.
There were 5 of us and we got 3 adjacent rooms and our balconies were connected. Which was just perfect as we all felt we had privacy but nevertheless could easily find each other. Rooms are spacious and the beds have comfortable matresses.
The restaurant is good (ate there twice in the evening), everything we had was fresh and seasonal, and the staff is very nice and helpful. Extras were no problem. Great value for money.
Breakfast is okay but not super fancy, e.g. the selection of cheese is okay but I have seen greater variety elsewhere and there are no cakes/Danish pastries. No problem at all, there is still plenty to choose from including fresh scrambled/fried eggs/omlettes.
Perfect place to relax. Probably less perfect if you need a reliable internet connection (e.g. no wifi in the rooms and I didn't have very good mobile reception in all areas either).
We'll come back (and I've already recommended the place to friends, too).
For a short walk I can recommend going up to Danzturm. The tower is open and has a viewing platform.

Room Tip: panorama rooms with balconies - sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
21
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

As regular visitors to Iserlohn and Germany the Hotel met all of our expectations and requirements for peace, tranquility and service. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and polite.
The Hotel is located in the "Iserlohner Wald", a 5 minute taxi ride from town and also 5 mins from the excellent restaurant at the Danzturm which overlooks Iserlohn.
The famous old "namesake" restaurant was recently destroyed in a fire (which is a great loss) but the hotel has stepped in and the food supplied was of of very good quality.

We shall certainly stay again on our next visit :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_Petra_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is the most amazing hotel set in the forest. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay comfortable. They helped with all our questions. Every morning we were greeted with a smile. So friendly. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening and sat outside and enjoyed the view. The food was tasty and excellent!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

The Literatur Hotel is a fantastic hotel if all you plan on doing is reading German novels all day every day. If you plan on eating lunch or dinner, there is no food whatsoever (not even snacks) available in the hotel, nor is there room service available. Location wise, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, it's only saving grace is that there is a nice restaurant a few minutes walk away. The rooms are reasonable. Mobile phone signals are pretty disasterous. Furthermore, there is no gym or swimming pool in the hotel or nearby. This hotel is an unmitigated disaster if you're a business traveller. On the upside, if you're a big fan of German literature and wish to have some peace and quiet, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40Foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iserlohn
2.3 mi away
Hotel VierJahreszeiten Iserlohn
1.1 mi away
Stadt Hotel Iserlohn
Stadt Hotel Iserlohn
#5 of 9 in Iserlohn
39 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus
Hotel Neuhaus
#2 of 9 in Iserlohn
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Campus Garden Businesshotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Daute
Hotel Restaurant Daute
#6 of 9 in Iserlohn
14 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Hagen
Mercure Hotel Hagen
#1 of 10 in Hagen
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl

Property: Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl
Address: Danzweg 25, 58644 Iserlohn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Iserlohn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Iserlohn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing