We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We booked three double rooms, one with a baby cot, for three nights. When we got there we found we had been given three rooms, each with a baby cot, and no made-up second bed. When we called for help in removing the cots and making the beds we were told that we would have to switch rooms- something the front desk staff was unahppy about since we had taken them away from Euro Cup football. Once we were settled in the rooms we found that two of the rooms didn't have working phones, and one of the rooms could not connect to the free wifi. In working with the staff to correct these issues and others, the staff was unhelpful and terse. We appreciated the free breakfast. We would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms may not get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear areese12,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I'm so glad you liked our free breakfast options. Please allow me to apologize for the unacceptable service you received that did not live up to your expectations. I also sorry for the inconvenience caused by the in-room phones and WiFi access. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

First of all this hotel is not at the Airport, but in a small side street out of the way fom any shopping or restaurants. On arrival, even though this was a pre-paid hotel, I was told at reception that my credit cardhad been charged for the stay. When I queried this, and showed them the voucher again, they agreed that they had made a mistake and would not charge me twice. The next problem was that the soap dispenser in the shower had been removed, therefore needing an acrobatic effort to get it from the dispenser above the sink. When I tried to tell two front office staff about this, they did not seem to be at all interested. Finally, breakfasts get extremely busy, and you can have quite a wait for tables. All in all neither a holiday, nor an Inn and certainly not Express.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear RostrevorMichael,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Use this hotel only for proximity to airport or if you need to be in the area.
Do not use this hotel for easy access to Stuttgart town center.
Really good breakfast which comes for free, also internet!
Overall good!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Rooms were very good as was the breakfast buffet considering the 62 euros we payed. Parking is very convenient (unless you drive a Having a drink in the evening however wasn't a good idea: expensive but below average quality wine and a diet coke that tasted like s**t because the expiration date was a few weeks before our stay... If you are planning a stop over traveling to Austria, it's better to drive a little bit further and stay in Ulm. This can save you several hours because traffic on the road between Stuttgard and Ulm towards the Fernpass can get very heavy !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

First of all: It's not directly at the airport but a few miles away in a commercial area close to a noisy street. However, there is a shuttle which will bring you to the airport in 10 minutes. If you would like to walk to the terminal I would recommend the Moewenpick but it will be more expensive. If you don't need the airport close by I would recommend another Holiday Inn in Stuttgart-Weilimdorf (15 mls away in the north). This offers much better value.

Now the hotel: Well, it's just an average Holiday Inn Express. You will find this concept including the same room layout all over Europe. It is relatively inexpensive although you will find local hotels offering the same value for less, check one of the hotel booking websites. Breakfast is free and is ok but reduced to the minimum. In general, the functionality of this hotel is ok but don't expect any luxury. The rooms and the bathroom are small but functional. The guests in this hotel are a mixture of business people and tourists.

Weaknesses:
- No gym
- The underground parking garage is small, the parking bays are extremly narrow and it's always full. This is especially true in vacation seasons where they offer "park and fly". You can forget about parking in these periods. You will find some parking spaces in the streets BUT BE CAREFUL: Parking duration is limited (I forgot how many hours, but overnight parking is ok). The stupid thing is there are no signs telling you this fact, just at the entrance to the commercial area which is far away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Carlos C,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here 1 night on our way to Austria for our ski holiday. This hotel was just perfect for a stopover. It is close to the highway, the rooms include a sofa which is suitable for 2 children. Free wifi and free breakfast. And all this for the rate of 62 euros. We will be back next year! There's an Italian restaurant opposite the road which serves decent food for a decent price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My expectations were low since my company booked the hotel and it was not something I would have chosen (prefer to use local flags, away from airports, etc.)

However I was very surprised to find an exceptionally clean, efficient experience. Rooms are very new, but a little spartan in the German way. Everything worked as expected and desired. The free breakfast is nothing to rave about, but there are options close by as well.

Good wireless and wired internet service in the rooms, English and German TV channels, and very good water pressure in the shower (my number one requirement after cleanliness!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leinfelden-Echterdingen
0.2 mi away
Ibis Stuttgart Airport Messe
Ibis Stuttgart Airport Messe
#2 of 15 in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
661 reviews
0 mi away
Moxy by Marriott Stuttgart Airport/Messe
Moxy by Marriott Stuttgart Airpo...
#5 of 15 in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Stuttgart Messe-Airport
Parkhotel Stuttgart Messe-Airpor...
#1 of 15 in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dorint Airport-Hotel Stuttgart
Dorint Airport-Hotel Stuttgart
#3 of 15 in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Stuttgart Airport Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport

Address: Dieselstr. 20, 70771 Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Leinfelden-Echterdingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Leinfelden-Echterdingen
Price Range: £60 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart. The newly opened, Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport offers a fresh and contemporary hotel experience, perfectly situated for business or pleasure. Located in Leinfelden-Echterdingen directly off the A8 motorway, the hotel is 5 minutes from Stuttgart Airport and the cities new International Convention Centre (Messe Stuttgart) . The SI Centrum with its West End musical hits and the Casino Stuttgart are just a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The City Centre of Stuttgart with its museums and theatres is just 10km away and easily accessible by public transportation. All 145 hotel rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport are equipped with air conditioning, soundproof windows, complimentary tea and coffee making facilites, free high speed Internet access, flat screen TVs with an extensive selection of English and International channels. Start the morning with our complimentary buffet breakfast . Close the day with a drink at our hotel bar. Meet Smart! With Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport meetings and trainings are a guaranteed success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stuttgart Airport Hotel Leinfelden-Echterdingen
Holiday Inn Leinfelden-Echterdingen
Leinfelden-Echterdingen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing