We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Diva was excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belveder Gran Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Scharbeutz
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I stayed there 2 nights in February 2014. The primary goal was to relax (in the swimming area + sauna area) and enjoy some high quality gourmet food.

Let me point out the Michelin restaurant Diva inside the hotel. We had booked a table there the first night (thursday) and we were the only customers there (the "ordinary" restaurant is right night to restaurant Diva - only separated by a curtain),

The food here was excellent - and the service too. We had a small wine menu accompaning the food menu (5 courses + 3 complimentary extras from the chef). We have eaten at several Michelin star restaurants before, so we expected similar quality.And we were not disappointed. Besides the sweatbread (thymus from a calf) we enjoyed all the food very much - I even liked the seafood dish with octupus and mussels (even though I usually does not eat that). The waiter was really entusiastic and explained details about the food and the wine too - unfortunately I have forgot his name, but he really did a nice job. The best part of the food was actually the complimentary dishes from the chef - the were very unique and with many impressive details!

The next day we had to go more budget and had the 3 course dinner deal in the ordinary restaurant. I suppose we did it the wrong way around with the Diva restaurant first, but we were really disappointed with the food here. Maybe we hit some wrong dishes for our taste, but the quality was so much lower than the day before. Of course the bill was also significant lower...

We went to the swimming area and sauna area several times during our stay, and the first surprise was that the sauna area is "textilfrei", which means that everybody is nude. This is not common in Denmark, and not common for us, so that took us a while to get used to. In my mind this should not be mandatory, but I guess that is done to avoid feeling different in there.

Besides that. the sauna area is really nice with 8 (or so) saunas with different temperatures and features (like what herbs are used in there etc.). There are also resting areas, hot tubs etc. and of course outdoor pools to cool down after a visit to one of the saunas. Remember to investigate the area a bit - it is on multiple floors - both inside and outside. Not bad at all - but again: it would probably have been uncomfortable meeting someone i know well - while being nude ...

The swimming area is quite large and has some variety itself. There is a round pool with currents, big swimming pools, outdoor areas, a big area for smaller kids, 2 water slides (the fast one was closed, which was a bit disappointing).

We also participated in a free 1 hour pilates session, which is complimentary to guests of the hotel. The middle aged german woman, instructing the lesson was really good and well trained. It was a really tough hour - but we enjoyed it. She did not speak english - and our german is quite rusty, but we still managed.

We also had a massage session each. It was a foot and head massage (which we mis-interpreted as full body - since it is called "fuss, gesichte und kopf-massage" in german). I really enjoyed my massag, but my wife was not so happy. She felt that the lady giving the massage was not applying enough pressure - even when my wife asked for more.

All in all the Hotel is nice - the rooms are spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend the Diva restaurant - and the swimming area and saunas are nice too - if you are not too shy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwt_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 April 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre ausführliche Bewertung.
Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich in unserem Haus wohlgefühlt haben. Mit Hilfe dieser Erfahrungsberichte haben wir die Möglichkeit, unseren Standard und Service zu verbessern.
Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Haus begrüßen zu dürfen.

Ihr Team vom Hotel Gran Belveder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Was severely disappointed by the food in the Belveder restaurant. We got the 3 course dinner that was heavily promoted by the hotel as the menu by the kitchen chef. However, the starter I got was very bland and boring (potato soup with tiny scrimps). The meat for my main course was ok, but the vegetables on the sides were again very bland (mashed potatoes and kale). My dessert was edible but not very inspiring. My husbands dessert was not very good. None of it was very well presented, either. You would expect much better from a kitchen that at the same time serve michelin star food at the DiVa Gourmet restaurant in the other end of the room. If you must eat at the hotel, do treat yourself to the DiVa restaurant. This was an entire different experience and although expensive, the michelin star was well deserved.
Well, besides the mixed dining experience, our room was very nice and large for a standard room. We even had wifi in our room although website said it was only in the lobby. Maybe it was because we were on the ground floor, relatively close to the reception (room 007). It was also nicely located relative to the Ostsee therme. Since we were there in February, there wasn't much else to do, so it was nice with this big water park. Unfurtunately, one of the water slides - the red one - was closed. It seemed to have been more fun than the green one, which was rather slow, even when trying to go as fast as I could, it still took me 24 seconds.
Apparently I had not done enough research from home, so we were very surprised to learn that the sauna part of Ostsee therme was textile free, i.e. nude and it seemed to be full of fat old men. Not a very pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Room 007 on ground floor has terrace, wifi and good location relative to the Ostsee therme
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsLuxuryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 April 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihren Erfahrungsbericht.
Es tut uns sehr Leid, dass es während Ihres Aufenthalts in unserem Haus zu Unannehmlichkeiten gekommen ist.
Wir bemühen uns stets, unseren Gästen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir möchten uns recht herzlich bei Ihnen entschldigen und versichern Ihnen, dass dies nicht dem Service und Standard unseres Hauses entspricht.
Es würde uns sehr freuen, wenn wir Sie noch einmal als Gäste in unserem Hotel begrüßen dürfen, um Sie doch noch von unserem Service überzeugen zu können.

Ihr Team vom Hotel Gran Belveder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

An upscale beach hotel adjacent to a large spa directly accessible through an overpass from the hotel. The spa is generally open to the public, but hotel guests can use it exclusively every morning between 8 and 9am. Service was friendly, breakfast buffet plentiful, and the beach view was as expected (except fromt the nude beach closeby). rooms were also spacious and well equipped except no wifi available except in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariel12774554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great location, right at the beach and we loved the easy and free access to the Ostseetherme from our Hotel Room. Perfect for our Winter Getaway.
We stayed in the Junior Suite, which was very roomy and well appointed. The showers are the largest of any hotel we've stayed at.
There is a great walking trail to Scharbeutz, which takes about 15-20 min., with some nice restaurants/cafe's right at the beach and the walking trail to Timmendorfer Strand only takes about 10-15 min. and you are in the heart with restaurants/shops/cafes.
The Breakfast Buffet was great, although the room where it is presented is a bit small. The service is impeccable and the staff is eager to please and very friendly, trying to accommodate all wishes.
We had dinner at the Hotel Restaurant, and the same is to be said of staff, food & service. It was excellent.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there again on our next visit to Germany.

Room Tip: Choose a room with full water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in early June and were extremely satisfied with our stay. The hotel is new and clean with good size rooms and all appropriate amenities for a holiday resort.
The area caters almost exclusively to German tourists, which is not a bad thing, but we got a few stairs from people who clearly identified us as non-Germans and tried to figure out where we were from.
The staff was very accommodating and spoke very good English. The spa was an interesting experience. You have to follow a certain European sauna etiquette to be comfortable. The sauna part was all nude with both sexes together. This was a bit unusual for us coming from the states, but like the saying goes, "When in Rome do as the Romans do".... So we did... It would help if there were signs in English that explain all the sauna features, but we enjoyed it nonetheless.
The pool area was very nice and uses reduced chlorine water.
Wi-fi is only available in the lobby, but there is a jack in the room that can be used with a laptop for Internet access if you bring one. No English channels on TV, so not much to do in the room other than sleep.
The town around hotel offers pleasant walkways and some interesting local attractions: blown glass gallery and small aquarium.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I almost gave this one 5 stars - but then looked through my list of reviews and it's just not quite up there! ;-)
The location is fabulous - 20 metres from the beach (and much quieter than more central Timmendorf or Scharbeutz locations). Room was spacious, in mediterranean-type style - just didn't like the carpets. And our room faced the rather noisy street - should have gone for the more expensive sea view. Bathroom was large but had no tub, and they were a bit stingy with the bath products. No WiFi in the room, free in the lobby. Great terrace and excellent breakfast buffet. Garage not cheap. We rented bicyles for one day, which were of excellent quality and cost 8 Euros per day. Room rate included free entry to the big Wellness Centre next door - a plus in poor weather (which we didnt have) or for families who need entertainment for the kids.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scharbeutz
1.4 mi away
Bayside
Bayside
#3 of 9 in Scharbeutz
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Meerzeit
Hotel Meerzeit
#4 of 9 in Scharbeutz
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maritim ClubHotel Timmendorfer Strand
Maritim ClubHotel Timmendorfer S...
#12 of 29 in Timmendorfer Strand
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seehuus Hotel
Seehuus Hotel
#2 of 29 in Timmendorfer Strand
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Seeschloesschen SPA & Golf Resort
Grand Hotel Seeschloesschen SPA ...
#3 of 29 in Timmendorfer Strand
145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Maris
Hotel Maris
#1 of 9 in Scharbeutz
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belveder Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belveder Gran Hotel

Address: Strandallee 146, 23683 Scharbeutz, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Scharbeutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Scharbeutz
Price Range: £167 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belveder Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belveder Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing