We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilling Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

An ice cold shower is no way to start a day but that is exactly what I can colleagues experienced on the morning of 2 April 2014. I’d just started my morning shower when the hot water seemed to be turned off and I had to finish with only gold water. The experience rather spoilt what had otherwise been an enjoyable 2 days stay in a normally great example of the Holiday Inn system.

I mentioned this problem at checkout and was brushed off with the comment “yes, there was no hot water but my colleague has fixed it”. Nice to know the problem had been fixed, but it was too late to benefit me or a number of other colleagues.

The Holiday Inn in Munich Unterhaching is close to my employer’s German office and is visited by me, and many colleagues, on a very regular basis. The lack of concern or meaningful apology from the front desk staff for the lack of a very basic facility is unacceptable.

Because of this fundamental lapse and their attitude I've rated the hotel as Poor, had I had a hot shower it would have been "Very Good"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenkspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear jenkspj,

thank you very much for your review and taking your time to share your experiences with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you had during your stay with the regards to the missing warm water and the level of service received from our staff.

Not as an excuse, only for an explanation we would like to say how this could have happened. On the evening of the 01st of April we had a not commented power blackout for not even a second and that was the origin of all problems. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly and we will find a solution for compensation.

We really hope you give us the chance to welcome you again and show you, we can do much better!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Very clean and spacious. We booked a room for 4 and were thrilled at how much room we had. 2 bathrooms and 2 queen size beds. The breakfast is a bit pricey (20 euro per person) we opted to take the S-Bahn train into Munich and grab a bite in there. No complementary coffee, they did have decaffeinated tea in the rooms. Could not find an ice machine either. Sauna was lovely. Staff was very helpful!! Because we are not German, the directions to the hotel were not clear to us nor did we receive any info from the hotel on how to get there. When it's mentioned that is was a short walk from train, it does not mean from the main train station. From there you need to get the S6 (Bahn train) to the Tafukichen stop then it's a short walk to hotel. If you purchase a weekend partner ticket it is very affordable (20 euro). However our tickets were never checked once the entire weekend. We ended up taking a cab from train station which was 20 minutes and 30 euro. However if you do take the s-Bahn initially the walk to the hotel is not marked. You have to walk to the right end of train platform and follow a dirt path along edge of train track to hotel. Not dangerous, just maybe a little difficult if you're walking with luggage. Also if you are walking at night it's a good idea to bring some kind of flashlight ( we used light on our phone). Overall the hotel is beautiful and great for the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Lisa N,

thank you very much for the good review of our hotel and taking the time to let us know!

It’s good to hear you have felt comfortable in your room and with our service!

But we also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring a few matters to our attention as well as we like to apologize for the things you have missed or disliked. You’ll find complimentary coffee in every room at the coffee & tea making facilities. The ice machine is on the 3rd floor. Regarding the light situation on the way from the ‘S-Bahn’ station, we will get in contact with the community of Taufkirchen, to work out how this situation can be improved.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to contact us. We hope to welcome you and your family again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

All the best to you and your family,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend on our first visit to Munich.
We picked the hotel because of a winter deal and it was an excellent deal for us. We have stayed in surburban areas of cities before because you tend to get a better deal.
Directions to the hotel from the airport were very clear and easy to follow. We got a 3 day partner ticket on the S-Bahn and it was perfect for us as you can use it to get the train into the city every day. The station is only a 10 minute walk and the trains run every 20mins or so into the city.
We stayed out all day and got the train back. This isn't the hotel for you if you want nights out drinking in Munich and just want a place to crash but it's an excellent place to stay if you're wanting to visit Munich and visit the city.
The only other thing I would mention is breakfast - I believe kids eat free but for 2 adults breakfast was 40Euro per day. Usually we'd pop out to a coffee bar but this wasn't an option here so if you can get a deal on breakfast I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear bluysky,

thank you so much for your great review and taking the time to let us know!

We greatly appreciate your kind feedback and we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your weekend in Munich, while you have stayed with us!

We would be happy to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching, the next time you visit Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and as I am a Priority Club member we got free Wi Fi for our stay which was very good. The room is big and with very good furniture. The hotel follows Be green mission which is in trend nowadays.
We also visited sauna here and it is good especially because there was nobody except us there. The hotel provides free parking just 200 meters from it and payable parking which is 8 euros per day and closer. Overall we enjoyed it a lot and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Denis K,

thank you so much for your lovely review and the time to let us know!

For all of us it’s great to know you had a beautiful stay in our hotel! To know that you have loved us it’s the very best! Thank you once again for this fantastic compliment!

We hope to welcome you again the next time you stay in Munich!

With kind regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights.
Nice big, clean comfortable rooms and very quiet at night, so getting a good nights sleep wasn't a problem.
The staff were very friendly and efficient from the front desk to the cleaning staff.
With only a 10 minute walk to the train station, getting around was pretty easy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timcollinsCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear timcollinsCork,

thank you very much for your fantastic review and taking the time to let us know!

We all appreciate your very kind feedback regarding your stay with us and are more than happy to know you had a pleasant and good stay!

We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching, the next time you travel to Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a very good hotel to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It has a paid parking in the basement and a free and open parking a couple of blocks away. A good choice id you want to save money. It is pretty close to a train station you can use to go to downtown. It has sauna, gym, laundry, etc. If you are traveling with your family and you have a car, it is a good option. It has a restaurant but you also have some other restaurants around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfonso1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Alfonso1960,

thank you very much for your fantastic review and taking the time to let us know!

All our team really appreciates your kind feedback of your stay in our hotel! It's good to know that you have felt content during your stay in our hotel!

Thank you again for sharing your experiences!

We're looking forward to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

Best regards,

Carmen Windisch
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days and it seemed OK but everything was expensive in it, breakfast, room service etc. My daughter had 100 Swiss francs in her suitcase and upon arriving in Switzerland, could not find the money. This morning I went to get my brand new expensive ski pants out of my suitcase (I came to Germany to buy them as I cannot get this quality in Australia) and they were not there, they had been stollen. We know for a fact that it was this hotel as my daughter always locks her suitcase and this particular day she did not lock it. I had thought the was nothing worth stealing as it was only clothes, but whoever stole it knew exactly what they were looking for. They stole items that we would only know were missing when we arrived in Switzerland. I wrote an email to Holiday Inn with no reply and now I have to make a police report to the German police from another country, very hard when your phone does not make international calls. I would have liked to think that all my luggage would be safe and not have someone troll through my bags while we were out. It was a room right up on the top floor and it had one room up stairs under the roof, this room was well hidden and this is where all our items were stolen. You don't need this grief while on holidays, stay somewhere else !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healthy_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Healthy_aussie,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns regarding your current stay with the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the regards to what you describe.

These are serious reproaches you made against us and we are already in contact with you and our general manager will still be contacting you as well, to clear this incident and we do everything internally to clear this case.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterhaching
0.8 mi away
NH Munchen Unterhaching
NH Munchen Unterhaching
#1 of 7 in Unterhaching
530 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#185 of 385 in Munich
696 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Demas Garni
Hotel Demas Garni
#5 of 7 in Unterhaching
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schrenkhof
Hotel Schrenkhof
#3 of 7 in Unterhaching
42 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching

Address: Inselkammerstr. 7-9, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterhaching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Price Range: £56 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das 4-Sterne Hotel Holiday Inn Munchen-Unterhaching, in ruhiger Lage und doch nur 15 Minuten vom Zentrum entfernt, ist Ihr perfekter Gastgeber ... Egal, ob Sie auf der Suche nach einem Tagungs- und Kongresshotel sind, einen Wochenendurlaub planen, eine langfristige Unterkunft suchen oder nur auf der Durchreise sind. Die direkte Autobahnanbindung sowie die sehr gute Anbindung an das offentliche Verkehrmittelnetz ermoglichen Ihnen eine unkomplizierte Anreise.Ihnen stehen 257 klimatisierte, modern eingerichtete Zimmer in verschiedenen Kategorien, 370 Garagen- und Aussenparkplatze und ebenso ein Fitness- und Saunabereich zur Verfugung. Unsere drei Konferenzzentren umfassen 12 klimatisierte Tagungsraume fur maximal 500 Personen sowie 14 weitere Raume fur Meetings bis maximal 20 Personen oder Gruppenarbeiten. Aber nicht nur die flexiblen Raumkapazitaten, sondern besonders leistungsstarke, kostenlose W-LAN Nutzung, die taglich marktfrische Speisenauswahl und der individuelle Service unserer langjahrigen Mitarbeiter/Innen machen Ihre Veranstaltung garantiert zu einem Erfolg.Regionale und internationale Gaumenfreuden geniessen Sie in unserem Restaurant ,,Leonardo", der Bar ,,Alex" sowie in unserem sonnigen Biergarten mit 220 Terrassenplatzen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munchen Unterhaching Hotel Unterhaching
Holiday Inn Unterhaching
Unterhaching Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing