We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too pricey”
Review of Hotel Schrenkhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schrenkhof
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“too pricey”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My brother and i stayed here for the oktoberfest and i understand that we kept our booking too late so all hostels were booked up. We payed a hefty price and stayed here and was dissapointed. It was a nice hotel but just in the middle of the suburbs. Other than that food was good and room was clean.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank melaustra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
8
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a wooden styled heaven if you like this style. I liked the hotel very much. Great breakfast and free parking with excelent price.
Pros
Price is good
Rooms are ok
Location
Breakfast is above average
Beautiful building
Free parking
Sauna

Cons
Nobody at the reception from 9pm to 7am



  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahmoudElkotb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This summer, my wife and I had to stay for a couple of days in the outskirts of Munich for family reasons. We chose the Schrenkhof, therefore, because of the location, being placed just where we needed to be. We soon discovered a real gem, absolutely to be suggested to romantic travellers visiting this town and it's surroundings.

Recently re-built on an old property, with the original decor and period furniture, conveniently located in the modern residential area of the village, but perfectly secluded and far from traffic and noise. Our room was amazing (nr. 20), with a four-poster bed worth the visit on its own. Large, and really extensive breakfast (no restaurant) and friendly staff.

The "S" train station is only 10 minutes of nice walk through the village. Trains to Munich are every 10-15 minutes till late and take less than 10 minutes to Munich Ostbahnhof. Staying here, you will not miss a hotel in the city centre. A couple of excellent, cheap Bierhof with customary Biergarten (can you do without?) will make you wish no more. 

There also is a sauna in the hotel, which however I did not have a chance to see. The only drawback: reception is attended part-time only, so you cannot have any assistance in the evening and at night (though all emergencies are obviously cared for by phone). But nobody's perfect…

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antagostini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel Schrenkhof during Oktoberfest last year, we were looking forward to a weekend away & decided to splash out that little bit extra on real Bavarian style hotel.

I will start with the positives, the hotel is beautiful to look at, and the beds are extremely comfortable, absolutely no issues with the comfort & cleanliness of the accommodation.

However, from the moment we arrived the owner/manager was extremely rude and dismissive, this continued for the duration of our stay. At one point i was ushered into the dining area & 'told off' for querying the WIFI (which does not work).

When booking we were aware that the hotel is outside the city, and were happy to be away from the hustle and bustle, however the hotel is a good half an hour walk from the train station and extremely difficult to locate, particularly when on foot with suitcases, although, lovely green surroundings.

Check out was also an interesting experience, after handing our keys in and walking out of the door the owner chased us down the street and called us back, claiming there was a problem with our room, which was apparently left 'too messy' and he didn't (and i quote) 'want to have to get the vacuum cleaner out' therefore he would have to charge us an additional fee. Just to clarify, aside from going to bed and waking up in the morning we'd spent very little time in our room, therefore the mess he was referring to was messed up sheets and perhaps a couple of empty water bottles on the table.

I absolutely felt like an inconvenience the entire stay, we're a young couple and perhaps not the 'usual' clientele. If you're after pretentiousness and poor location, the hotel Schrenkhof is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unterhaching hotels

Rome
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Very much engaged and talkative manager (Mr Albert). Beautiful rooms. 5 star breakfast. If it's warm enough breakfast is served in the small but very green garden across the street. Tranquil and slightly hidden but close enough to the centre. The gym consists of one stepmaster... but the sauna seems all right as well as the solarium. Our second stay with the Schrenkhof, surely not our last.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrasseaterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Munchen is no small village and yet following all kinds of travelsites I ended up booking a hotel in Unterhaching, about 10 km south of Munchen. While we were strawling the streets of Munchen I could not remember why. About 8 hours later, when we lay in our classical four-poster bed, in a very highly decorated room, I understood. I understood it when I was looking at the pictures of the hotel and I understood in reality. No matter how miserable the weather was that day, my mood was good after sleeping in such a nice hotel. The breakfast was good, the reception staff was really friendly (allthough closed at 8:30, even pointed me to the best restaurant “The Kammerloher”, try that!). Not even a big headbutt into the ceiling of our bed could ruin things for me. So location being the biggest issue here, charm, friendliness, originality seem to make up for it. Just like listening in to the conversations at the Stammtisch of the local restaurants. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterhaching
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
0.6 mi away
NH Munchen Unterhaching
NH Munchen Unterhaching
#1 of 7 in Unterhaching
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Demas Garni
Hotel Demas Garni
#5 of 7 in Unterhaching
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Aigner
Hotel Aigner
#1 of 5 in Ottobrunn
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
NH Munchen City Sud
NH Munchen City Sud
#188 of 382 in Munich
686 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hachinger Hof Hotel
Hachinger Hof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Oberhaching
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schrenkhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schrenkhof

Property: Hotel Schrenkhof
Address: Leonhardsweg 6, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterhaching
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Unterhaching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schrenkhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schrenkhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing