We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic location”
Review of Hotel Georgenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Georgenhof
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A really charming family hotel in the most magical setting . If you want stunning mountain scenery and lovely walks this is the place for you. The hotel is excellent in every way and this is definitely our favourite European holiday destination and made even better by being able to have our dog with us.

Room Tip: If you have a dog with you the garden rooms on the ground floor are ideal
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Georgenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

I've stayed in zillions of hotels and slightly fewer bed and breakfast type areas, and this is truly a gem. First...location, location, location. From the front yard you can see the Eagle's Nest, and the hotel is very close to Berchtesgaden. Second, the hotel is spotless and charming. The decorating was Bavarian and lovely. Third, the sweetest family runs this property, and they are so nice. After being in Germany for awhile, I was out of "undergarments" and the owner was sweet enough to wash a load for me. The hotel is a tremendous value, and it is perfect.

I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: I enjoyed the top floor...Room 22.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We loved this hotel! The view is perfect, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are cozy and exactly what we were looking for in such a great location! Breakfast was great as well, we hated to leave Berchtesgaden but we needed to get on the road early, so we let them know and they had it prepared early for us. There is plenty of available parking in the lot right outside the hotel. I woke up early to listen to the birds and it was wonderful.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view, and the view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelPurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

After reading the wonderful reviews and looking at the pictures of the hotel, we chose to stay here. We paid for two rooms; 7 & 22 (better view). After looking at the website pictures, it seemed like this hotel was located amidst a wide open green space overlooking the mountains. However, it is actually located within a residential area, and the picture of the green space on the website, is simply their front yard area. Of course, the views of the mountains are beautiful, but I was surprised to be in such a confined, residential location. The hotel is supposed to have parking, but when we returned after dinner, there was no place to park. The owner's helped us find a place, but the process was inconvenient. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Also, even though we arrived after their dinner hour had ended (7 PM), they offered to open the kitchen for us. The most disappointing part of the stay was our breakfast experience. We were the first family to arrive at the included breakfast buffet, and we chose a table in a very bright room with a beautiful view of the mountain. However, the owner (?) came up to us, quite flustered and told us that all the tables were assigned by room and we were sitting at someone else's table. She moved us to "our" table which was located in a very dark space, as far away from the windows as possible. By far the worst table in the breakfast eating area. What was frustrating about this process was that during the time it took us to eat our breakfast, only one other family "assigned" to the beautiful sunlit room, had even arrived...all the other tables remained empty!? Wouldn't you think they would allow as many guests as possible to enjoy this space, rather than sticking a client "in the corner"? I understand it is probably easier for the staff to set the tables ahead of time, but I think a bit more flexibility on their part would provide a better overall experience for ALL of their guests. If planning to stay in this beautiful part of Germany, I would definitely recommend that you research the area a bit more and perhaps choose one of the well-situated, quaint hotels located closer to the lake in Konigssee, I wish we had!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAH_Chicago_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Heaven like surrounding. The beautiful mountain view, the apple trees next to the balcony and the delicious breakfast make this hotel a perfect hideaway. Love the service and the bedding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitirawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. My son and I stayed there for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The staff was the absolute nicest of our entire 11 night vacation, very friendly and helpful. The dinner every night was a very reasonably priced, yummy three course meal, breakfast was delicious. Our room was spotless and beautiful. We had a balcony looking out to a beautiful view of the mountains. Schoenau was a great place to stay for visiting Koenigssee, Bertesgaden, and Salzburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brumbysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a week in June 2012. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted with a beautiful platter of garnished cold meats and cheese, preceded by a soup and followed by a delicious dessert. Our rooms were spotless and mine led out onto a patio overlooking the amazing surrounding mountains. The breakfasts were spectacular and more than adequate both in choice and quality. The Weindl family and their staff were all very friendly and keen to make sure we were happy. They also helped to advise on suitable excursions. Berchtesgaden is beautiful beyond belief and we can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walkfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
0.1 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigssee
Hotel Koenigssee
#6 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baerenstueberl
Baerenstueberl
#12 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
#14 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Georgenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Georgenhof

Address: Modereggweg 21, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range: £96 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Georgenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Georgenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgenhof Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing