We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Usually, I don't return to the same place but the Berchtesgarden Alps and this luxurious hotel was "haunting" me for the last two years and this summer I gave up and went there. What can I say...it was like "welcome back home". It's one of the best places I've ever stayed. Everything is perfect: the room is spacious and clean, delicious breakfast (I booked B&B only), afternoon cakes..well, I can talk about them for ages:-)
The wellness area is absolutely great. I didn't go to their Wellvital Residenz but used the indoor and outdoor swimming pools. I would definitely recommend the Sauna complex. I especially like the "Krautesauna" (Herb Sauna).
The hotel staff is very welcome and helpful.
The surroundings...the snow-capped mountains, alpine meadows, Koenigssee a few kilometers away, famous Watzmann mountain...What else can one dream of?
I enjoyed my stay tremendously. Although I don't get back to the same place twice (or better say in this case - the 3rd time), the moment I returned home I started checking their price offer for coming winter....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
180
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herentals,Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Yes, honestly this is probably one of the very best hotels we ever stayed!!!Except a few minor things this hotel is really great in every way....tell it and it's available most things for free like for example bycycles! The junior suite we stayed in was really BIG and HUGE with an unforgettable view standing on the balcony surrounded by snow-topping mountains everywhere! You can really speak of "a million dollar view" and you can enjoy it all day and night!
Let's talk now about there restaurant.....about those wonderful buffets, about those wonderful a la carte dishes, about the saladbuffet to start....about the dessertbuffet to finisch evey meal.....ALL MEALS in this restaurant are great, we enjoyed every single dish which was prepared by a wonderful kitchen-crew, they made us feeling happy everytime we went down for breakfast and for dinner but it's not finished yet......also at noon and in the afternoon the hotel thinks of us.....at noon with a small salad buffet at the bistro and in the afternoon a piece of cake to choose !
The only minor MIN-issues are : no free wifi in the rooms witch is rare for a 4 star superior hotel!
-No BVN tv-channel for Dutch and Belgian customers! = easy with sattellite!
-No fresh flowers or plants allover the hotel only plastic flowers!!
But....let this not stay away you from this wonderful and very friendly hotel, recommended if it may cost a little more ok?

Room Tip: Junior suites have a really great view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Bean
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel before going on to Munich for Oktoberfest. We wanted to to some hiking and relaxing, and the Zechmeisterlehen was the perfect base for all of our needs. The staff couldn't have been any nicer or helpful (especially the bartender Roman, who gave us wonderful suggestions for hiking trips as well as restaurants!) The hotel itself was spotless, beautiful in and out and it's location was perfectly plopped in a field amongst the mountains, but still very close to everything. They have an amazing wellness spa with all of the amenities. It was fantastic after along day of sightseeing, etc. to sit in the outdoor jacuzzi (that you access from inside and go through a flap door to the outdoors). Breakfasts, which were included, were served as a buffet in two big rooms to accomodate all of the wonderful offerings! I already miss being there, and can not wait to return!!!

Room Tip: A room facing the Watzmann mountains is unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brainylanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I've been here so many times I've lost count. The rooms are lovely, the staff and owners very pleasant. Very good food in the restaurant. The locaction is amazing. Incredibly peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thinkpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were staying in this excellent hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute there. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. We were enjoying walking in forests and fields. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The owners thought thoroughly about each detail - flowers on tables, piles of towels in baskets, different types of sugar in nice bowls for your tea, coffee and for someone's on diet. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. They were trying their best to make you feel home. The food was also perfect. I just was crazy about their cakes. We weren't very lucky with the weather and couldn't use the outdoor swimming pools but the indoor one was nice, not very big though - sometimes I felt like in the traffic jam. All in all, it was great, relaxing staying. I would recommend this hotel for those who is looking for quite, secluded holidays.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElenaNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

Stayed here four four nights with my partner. The setting is fantastic. It is right in the middle of the meadows with views across to the Alps. It's not isolated though, and there are plenty of other houses, beer gardens and so on scattered round about.

The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and family run. The staff were courteous and helpful, and always came up with excellent suggestions about what to do when we asked them for ideas. The breakfast buffet was good and tasty. My only niggle is that they didn't replenish the fruit salad and one or two other things (croissants ...) but on the other hand I didn't ask them either, so perhaps it's unfair to mention it here.

There is plenty to do here outdoors: hiking, cycling (you can borrow bikes free of charge from the hotel), and relaxing in beer gardens in the evening. There are a fair number of places to eat (hearty Bavarian fare, vegetarians beware).

It was a very relaxing break in a wonderful setting.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet not replenished
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gnasher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2007

We went to the Zechmeisterlehen Alpenhotel to relax and get away for a few days. It was well worth it. Not only is the scenery in the area amazing, the hotel itself is a great place to stay. To start the day, they provided a wonderful breakfast buffet with anything you could possibly want. To pass the day if you have nothing to do, you can stay in the spa area. They have a small indoor pool, sauna, pool table, and ping pong table for no cost. They have whirlpool tubs in the sauna area that cost 2 Euro and last for about 10 min. On top of that, the wellness center that's attached to the hotel is reasonable with their rates. The center is extremely nice and tailored to meet the guests' fancy. The hotel also serves great dinners, with a buffet and/or a main course (your choice). We stayed in the Watzmann. It was a very large room with a good view of the surrounding mountains. The bathroom had 2 sinks, a small shower, and a magnifying mirror. Plenty of space to put away/hang your clothing. The carpet and furniture was a little old(not in the neat way), but it didn't matter in the end. 1 computer with internet service (free) is available for guests down in the lobby. Overall we had a great experience from the accommodations to the service to the cuisine. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The old carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for the halfboard, it's well worth it!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drums4jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
1.5 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berghotel Rehlegg
0.8 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen

Property: Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen
Address: Wahlstr. 35, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
#2 Family Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Die majestatischen Berchtesgadener Kalk-Alpen strahlen Sie an, das smaragdgrune Wasser des Konigssees glitzert hell. Erleben Sie Wohlgefuhl in einzigartigen Dimensionen. Wahrend andere die Augen schliessen mussen um zu entspannen, weiten Sie den Blick: geniessen eine faszinierende Naturwelt voll elementarer seelischer Kraft. Sie wohnen im grosszugigen Suiten oder komfortablen Zimmer mit unverbautem Fernblick. Leben in einem urgemutlichen Haus mit liebevollem Service. Setzen sich an uppig gedeckte Tische mit raffinierten und vitalen Spezialitaten. Sie geniessen einzigartige Tage. Herzlich Willkomme ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing