We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Spa and Relax Hotel in Bavaria Gets Even Better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Best Spa and Relax Hotel in Bavaria Gets Even Better”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I first stayed at the Hotel Zechmeisterlehen in 2005 and every year the hotel just gets better and better. This year they are adding an entirely new spa area with outdoor natural pool-pond and several new sauna attractions. This, in addition to the already superb heated outdoor and indoor pools. (The outdoor pool is closed during fall and winter and early spring) The indoor pool is more than large enough for several people to lap swim, and the adjacent warm outdoor spa pool is fantastic for taking in the alpine panorama while soaking. In that same spa area, which is kept to a nice, balmy temperature, are rooms featuring super-comfy waterbeds plus another room with fantastic view and reclining chairs made of tile which are warmed to perfection. Are you relaxing yet? Well, to add to this are the spacious and exceptional rooms, splurge a bit and get a room in the Hochkalter class, the most deluxe rooms and the ones with the biggest spaces and fabulous views to the south, east and west. Also, the newest rooms, in the organic category of 'Natur' are very comfortable and feature panoramic north views and a small balcony. One must take the half board option, as this not only gives you the fabulous breakfast buffet but also a very nice midday bistro buffet (new in late 2013) plus, get this, a free piece of cake or strudel in the afternoon as long as you order a beverage. Dinners are extremely good, better than any surrounding Gasthaus or restaurant. There is just no need to even leave this hotel! On a recent stay, my two clients did just that - relaxed and enjoyed the hotel amenities and just chilled out in the middle of a 18-day trip around southern Germany and Austria. The Zechmeisterlehen was their favorite hotel out of several four star properties. As a private guide, the happiness of my clients is of utmost importance to my company. And so, I continue to rely on the Zechmeisterlehen and their extremely professional staff four or more times per year.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a Hochkalter or Watzmann room. These have the best views. Stay at least three nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    20
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
195
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had the pleasure of spending 3 nights in this wonderful hotel and spa in the breathtaking German Alps. Gorgeous views from the balcony and the buffet was the best we ate during our 2 weeks in Europe both in quality and selection. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Would definitely go back if I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJLinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Usually, I don't return to the same place but the Berchtesgarden Alps and this luxurious hotel was "haunting" me for the last two years and this summer I gave up and went there. What can I say...it was like "welcome back home". It's one of the best places I've ever stayed. Everything is perfect: the room is spacious and clean, delicious breakfast (I booked B&B only), afternoon cakes..well, I can talk about them for ages:-)
The wellness area is absolutely great. I didn't go to their Wellvital Residenz but used the indoor and outdoor swimming pools. I would definitely recommend the Sauna complex. I especially like the "Krautesauna" (Herb Sauna).
The hotel staff is very welcome and helpful.
The surroundings...the snow-capped mountains, alpine meadows, Koenigssee a few kilometers away, famous Watzmann mountain...What else can one dream of?
I enjoyed my stay tremendously. Although I don't get back to the same place twice (or better say in this case - the 3rd time), the moment I returned home I started checking their price offer for coming winter....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herentals,Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Yes, honestly this is probably one of the very best hotels we ever stayed!!!Except a few minor things this hotel is really great in every way....tell it and it's available most things for free like for example bycycles! The junior suite we stayed in was really BIG and HUGE with an unforgettable view standing on the balcony surrounded by snow-topping mountains everywhere! You can really speak of "a million dollar view" and you can enjoy it all day and night!
Let's talk now about there restaurant.....about those wonderful buffets, about those wonderful a la carte dishes, about the saladbuffet to start....about the dessertbuffet to finisch evey meal.....ALL MEALS in this restaurant are great, we enjoyed every single dish which was prepared by a wonderful kitchen-crew, they made us feeling happy everytime we went down for breakfast and for dinner but it's not finished yet......also at noon and in the afternoon the hotel thinks of us.....at noon with a small salad buffet at the bistro and in the afternoon a piece of cake to choose !
The only minor MIN-issues are : no free wifi in the rooms witch is rare for a 4 star superior hotel!
-No BVN tv-channel for Dutch and Belgian customers! = easy with sattellite!
-No fresh flowers or plants allover the hotel only plastic flowers!!
But....let this not stay away you from this wonderful and very friendly hotel, recommended if it may cost a little more ok?

Room Tip: Junior suites have a really great view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Bean
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel before going on to Munich for Oktoberfest. We wanted to to some hiking and relaxing, and the Zechmeisterlehen was the perfect base for all of our needs. The staff couldn't have been any nicer or helpful (especially the bartender Roman, who gave us wonderful suggestions for hiking trips as well as restaurants!) The hotel itself was spotless, beautiful in and out and it's location was perfectly plopped in a field amongst the mountains, but still very close to everything. They have an amazing wellness spa with all of the amenities. It was fantastic after along day of sightseeing, etc. to sit in the outdoor jacuzzi (that you access from inside and go through a flap door to the outdoors). Breakfasts, which were included, were served as a buffet in two big rooms to accomodate all of the wonderful offerings! I already miss being there, and can not wait to return!!!

Room Tip: A room facing the Watzmann mountains is unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainylanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I've been here so many times I've lost count. The rooms are lovely, the staff and owners very pleasant. Very good food in the restaurant. The locaction is amazing. Incredibly peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thinkpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were staying in this excellent hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute there. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. We were enjoying walking in forests and fields. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The owners thought thoroughly about each detail - flowers on tables, piles of towels in baskets, different types of sugar in nice bowls for your tea, coffee and for someone's on diet. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. They were trying their best to make you feel home. The food was also perfect. I just was crazy about their cakes. We weren't very lucky with the weather and couldn't use the outdoor swimming pools but the indoor one was nice, not very big though - sometimes I felt like in the traffic jam. All in all, it was great, relaxing staying. I would recommend this hotel for those who is looking for quite, secluded holidays.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElenaNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
1.4 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg
0.8 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen

Property: Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen
Address: Wahlstr. 35, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
#2 Family Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Die majestatischen Berchtesgadener Kalk-Alpen strahlen Sie an, das smaragdgrune Wasser des Konigssees glitzert hell. Erleben Sie Wohlgefuhl in einzigartigen Dimensionen. Wahrend andere die Augen schliessen mussen um zu entspannen, weiten Sie den Blick: geniessen eine faszinierende Naturwelt voll elementarer seelischer Kraft. Sie wohnen im grosszugigen Suiten oder komfortablen Zimmer mit unverbautem Fernblick. Leben in einem urgemutlichen Haus mit liebevollem Service. Setzen sich an uppig gedeckte Tische mit raffinierten und vitalen Spezialitaten. Sie geniessen einzigartige Tage. Herzlich Willkomme ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing