We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Not Four Stars Superior!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Definitely Not Four Stars Superior!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A quick glance at the website led me to believe this hotel overlooked Konigssee, it doesn't. The website is in about 15 different languages, but the brochure to tell you about the facilities etc is in German. In fact I got the feeling that if you didn't speak German as a first language you weren't really welcome. The rooms are large but very tired. The receptionist Josephine is short-tempered and downright scary. I have no idea if she's a part owner of this establishment but she's not very nice. There was also another older woman who answered the phone when I called the front desk to ask for something, she said she didn't speak English and hung up on me!!! What a way to run a business. However, thankfully, the rest of the staff were lovely, most especially those in the dining room - Kathrine, David and Kata. We took the half-board option as dinner is only an extra 14 euros pp on top of the rather expensive room rate. The meals were extremely tasty and plentiful. The breakfast buffet was huge.
However, the other guests were very stand-offish. I've never experienced such odd behaviour anywhere else. Everyone we met staying in Austrian hotels was lovely, so I have no idea what their problem was at this place. Maybe Josephine had got on their nerves too?
If you're Anglo, give this place a wide berth!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
205
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
VA USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We make a point of staying at Zechmeisterlehen the highlight of our biennial trips to Germany since 2005 because of the wonderful location, outstanding service, and the ever evolving spa opportunities. In fact, it can be a challenge to take advantage of all that the Berchtesgadener Land has to offer with everything available at Zechmeisterlehen.....so stay at least 3 nights. Set within a quiet meadow, the views are magnificent and makes early morning or end-of-the-day balcony time both mandatory and relaxing. There are a variety of room offers so select carefully. Half board (Verwöhnpension) the way to go - this will include the most generous breakfast you can imagine and an outstanding dinner menu. New is a light afternoon service which is inclusive. The inclusive spa opportunities on the property are comprehensive as are the offered wellness services. Nothing beats a relaxing outdoor Alpen view jacuzzi after one (or more) of the six sauna offerings at the end an exhilarating day on the trails. The hotel staff is consistently helpful and outgoing. My wife celebrated her birthday while at Zechmeisterlehen this trip and the staff went out of their way to make it a special day with a personalized breakfast and dinner experience - thanks!
If you want to relax, be spoiled, and spend a few days forgetting all of your worries, make it Zechmeisterlehen!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I first stayed at the Hotel Zechmeisterlehen in 2005 and every year the hotel just gets better and better. This year they are adding an entirely new spa area with outdoor natural pool-pond and several new sauna attractions. This, in addition to the already superb heated outdoor and indoor pools. (The outdoor pool is closed during fall and winter and early spring) The indoor pool is more than large enough for several people to lap swim, and the adjacent warm outdoor spa pool is fantastic for taking in the alpine panorama while soaking. In that same spa area, which is kept to a nice, balmy temperature, are rooms featuring super-comfy waterbeds plus another room with fantastic view and reclining chairs made of tile which are warmed to perfection. Are you relaxing yet? Well, to add to this are the spacious and exceptional rooms, splurge a bit and get a room in the Hochkalter class, the most deluxe rooms and the ones with the biggest spaces and fabulous views to the south, east and west. Also, the newest rooms, in the organic category of 'Natur' are very comfortable and feature panoramic north views and a small balcony. One must take the half board option, as this not only gives you the fabulous breakfast buffet but also a very nice midday bistro buffet (new in late 2013) plus, get this, a free piece of cake or strudel in the afternoon as long as you order a beverage. Dinners are extremely good, better than any surrounding Gasthaus or restaurant. There is just no need to even leave this hotel! On a recent stay, my two clients did just that - relaxed and enjoyed the hotel amenities and just chilled out in the middle of a 18-day trip around southern Germany and Austria. The Zechmeisterlehen was their favorite hotel out of several four star properties. As a private guide, the happiness of my clients is of utmost importance to my company. And so, I continue to rely on the Zechmeisterlehen and their extremely professional staff four or more times per year.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a Hochkalter or Watzmann room. These have the best views. Stay at least three nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Had the pleasure of spending 3 nights in this wonderful hotel and spa in the breathtaking German Alps. Gorgeous views from the balcony and the buffet was the best we ate during our 2 weeks in Europe both in quality and selection. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Would definitely go back if I was in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJLinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Usually, I don't return to the same place but the Berchtesgarden Alps and this luxurious hotel was "haunting" me for the last two years and this summer I gave up and went there. What can I say...it was like "welcome back home". It's one of the best places I've ever stayed. Everything is perfect: the room is spacious and clean, delicious breakfast (I booked B&B only), afternoon cakes..well, I can talk about them for ages:-)
The wellness area is absolutely great. I didn't go to their Wellvital Residenz but used the indoor and outdoor swimming pools. I would definitely recommend the Sauna complex. I especially like the "Krautesauna" (Herb Sauna).
The hotel staff is very welcome and helpful.
The surroundings...the snow-capped mountains, alpine meadows, Koenigssee a few kilometers away, famous Watzmann mountain...What else can one dream of?
I enjoyed my stay tremendously. Although I don't get back to the same place twice (or better say in this case - the 3rd time), the moment I returned home I started checking their price offer for coming winter....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herentals,Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Yes, honestly this is probably one of the very best hotels we ever stayed!!!Except a few minor things this hotel is really great in every way....tell it and it's available most things for free like for example bycycles! The junior suite we stayed in was really BIG and HUGE with an unforgettable view standing on the balcony surrounded by snow-topping mountains everywhere! You can really speak of "a million dollar view" and you can enjoy it all day and night!
Let's talk now about there restaurant.....about those wonderful buffets, about those wonderful a la carte dishes, about the saladbuffet to start....about the dessertbuffet to finisch evey meal.....ALL MEALS in this restaurant are great, we enjoyed every single dish which was prepared by a wonderful kitchen-crew, they made us feeling happy everytime we went down for breakfast and for dinner but it's not finished yet......also at noon and in the afternoon the hotel thinks of us.....at noon with a small salad buffet at the bistro and in the afternoon a piece of cake to choose !
The only minor MIN-issues are : no free wifi in the rooms witch is rare for a 4 star superior hotel!
-No BVN tv-channel for Dutch and Belgian customers! = easy with sattellite!
-No fresh flowers or plants allover the hotel only plastic flowers!!
But....let this not stay away you from this wonderful and very friendly hotel, recommended if it may cost a little more ok?

Room Tip: Junior suites have a really great view of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Bean
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel before going on to Munich for Oktoberfest. We wanted to to some hiking and relaxing, and the Zechmeisterlehen was the perfect base for all of our needs. The staff couldn't have been any nicer or helpful (especially the bartender Roman, who gave us wonderful suggestions for hiking trips as well as restaurants!) The hotel itself was spotless, beautiful in and out and it's location was perfectly plopped in a field amongst the mountains, but still very close to everything. They have an amazing wellness spa with all of the amenities. It was fantastic after along day of sightseeing, etc. to sit in the outdoor jacuzzi (that you access from inside and go through a flap door to the outdoors). Breakfasts, which were included, were served as a buffet in two big rooms to accomodate all of the wonderful offerings! I already miss being there, and can not wait to return!!!

Room Tip: A room facing the Watzmann mountains is unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainylanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
1.4 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg
1.2 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen

Property: Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen
Address: Wahlstr. 35, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
#2 Family Hotel in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Die majestatischen Berchtesgadener Kalk-Alpen strahlen Sie an, das smaragdgrune Wasser des Konigssees glitzert hell. Erleben Sie Wohlgefuhl in einzigartigen Dimensionen. Wahrend andere die Augen schliessen mussen um zu entspannen, weiten Sie den Blick: geniessen eine faszinierende Naturwelt voll elementarer seelischer Kraft. Sie wohnen im grosszugigen Suiten oder komfortablen Zimmer mit unverbautem Fernblick. Leben in einem urgemutlichen Haus mit liebevollem Service. Setzen sich an uppig gedeckte Tische mit raffinierten und vitalen Spezialitaten. Sie geniessen einzigartige Tage. Herzlich Willkomme ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Zechmeisterlehen Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing