We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Schiffmeister
wollongong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Fantastic location with views of the lake.We stayed 3 nights ,we had asked for a balcony room with a view.Large room,hotel has friendly homey feel.Free parking onsight and free internet.The day we arrived I broke my ankle.Staff were very helpful with directions to hospital etc also very considerate throughout our stay,especially the breakfast lady(thank you)A shame we couldn't take advantage of the surrounds as its a beautiful area.Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    12
    6
    15
See reviews for
16
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Amazing location and in Konigsee it cannot be beaten. We have stayed there twice. It is all about location and if you can manage a room facing the lake you will wake up to a spectacular view every morning. The hotel itself is very run down being a family owned hotel. It has loads of potential to be so much more but needs a lot of money spent. Rooms are very large but very dated. Old beds and bathrooms are very old. But it is location that brings us back to this hotel time and time again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I booked this hotel since June 2012 with e-mail confirmation from hotel officer. When i arrived at hotel (31 Oct 12), hotel was closed. Owner (woman) said that heater system had broken so have to close hotel. I informed about my confirmation, officer told that he already sent e-mail to me "yesterday"?????
It's not professional hotel should do. I'm from abroad country, I have to find other hotels to stay with cold weather. Most hotels were closed. Tourist information helped me to find hotel. This is very disappointed and sad for me & husband.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunsorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schoenau am Koenigssee hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
688 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during Oktoberfest tour with Bayern Trips. We had a large double room with a glimpse of the boathouses. Others in our group had rooms with beatiful lake views. The first night there was a problem with the hot water that was remedied by the time we got back to the hotel on the second day. The breakfasts were excellent. The rooms are older with carpets that could be replaced but overall very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Loved this place! had a balcony with a perfect view of the lake. large modern room in an historic and charming hotel. private gated parking steps away and a very nice breakfast. Shops around area are pretty touristy. great bakery near the Jener mountain lift and a nice walk.

Room Tip: try to get a balcony. drive slow on the stret leading in - its amost a ped zone. and take the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had two unforgettable nights here in late August and regretted not staying for longer.

We were given a family room (there were only two of us) but I believe it was the last room left, so there were no complaints from us about the extra space. The building (& rooms) are a little rustic but that just adds to the charm and character of the place (there is a lot of soul in this hotel!!). It’s a grand old building, with creaky staircases, high ceilings and ornate furniture from a distance era, such a refreshing change from modern, soulless chain hotels.

We were on the top floor and had small windows overlooking the lake (and the boat docking area/ticket office) in addition to a bathroom window that overlooked to the left of the hotel in the direction of the bobsled arena (I think?). While the room was simple and simply decorated – it was comfortable, we were warm and cosy and slept well. The bathroom was spotless and there was plenty of hot water.

The view of the lake (pristine shadowed by stunning snow-peaks, reflected in the water) will leave you breathless, you can stare at it all day and still want to take in more... Just beautiful!

Breakfast is bustling – but plentiful – it is the standard continental fare – bread, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, conserves etc etc. You will not go hungry! Breakfast is served on the first floor in what was possibly a large dining room that has been segregated into two smaller rooms.

Our receptionist was wonderful – assisting us with parking (free parking, near the hotel – but you will have to drive through a pedestrianised area – so prepare from some unfriendly stares!) and a fabulous dinner recommendation.

We had a highly memorable weekend break in Koenigssee and loved our time at Hotel Schiffmeister – we’d come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is right opposite the lake and the spot where the boats leave. The room we had was huge but a little run down as are the public areas. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent. A big plus for me was WIFI in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigssee
Hotel Koenigssee
#6 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
#14 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiffmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiffmeister

Property: Hotel Schiffmeister
Address: Seestr. 34 | Lake Konigsee, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiffmeister Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing