We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the lake”
Review of Hotel Koenigssee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Koenigssee
Cyberflânerie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice view of the lake”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

For a visit to Königsee, this location is the best -- right there by the dock. I could see a bit of the lake from my room, and the restaurant below also has a great view. It's perfect for a long day of trekking in the area, particularly since the bus back into Berchtesgaden stops relatively early in the evening (around 19:30 when I checked the schedule).

Reception was very helpful and they even let me into my room early (I arrived around 10:30 and check-in wasn't until 15:00 according to their rules). Don't count on this though; the room I got might've been empty the night before. The room itself was rather modest in the context of the price, but it was still more than enough to meet my needs.

The breakfast was very nice, a lot of variety and a pleasant environment to have it.

One serious annoyance though: while there is wi-fi, they shut it down when they close reception at 22:00. I have no idea why they would do this, but it was very frustrating when I expected to use it to plan the next part of my trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

we stayed there as part of a trekking weekend around Koenigsee. The main quality of this hotel is without any doubt its location right at the lake in the pedestrian area. This is a must in town. The room were simply furnished but clean. The hotel looks nice from the outside but does not have the same charm inside.

Only the bathroom would need some refurbishment.

Staff was friendly, breakfast was good.

Recommended for an overnight stay in the region, but our room was one of the cheapest so nothing romantic to expect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Although I am much used to be in more luxurious hotels, due to full occupancy in this area I was forced to stay at this hotel.
The rooms are simple but clean, the breakfast was very good and the location was superb.
For the money I paid I received a fair deal and I think this is the main issue here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I lost a moment to book something better, so we take this one.
Hotel is located just few steps away from pier, has a free parking and free WiFi at the lobby.
Keep in mind that receptionist works till 10 pm or so.
There is no elevator, but a lot of stairways and steps. Rooms are small but has a balcony.
We came on weekend and there was very noisy from the street.
Overall score is "this is not awful, but try to find smthing better"

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolays_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

First I will start with the positive - location. It ends there.

Now for the negetives...

The room: was so small that there was not one place for us to put our luggage, even on the floor. There was an armoire in the room, but it was stuffed into a corner and could not get the doors open all the way. The furniture looked like it was left over from 1945 - and we are not talking nice antiques. BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS AND PILLOWS! The duvet was 10 times thicker than the pillows. In fact, the pillows were so flat that we thought they forgot to put pillows in the room. We had to roll them up just to use them. Good thing we had our travel neck pillows with us.

The room: so small that we both have bruises from trying to get to the bathroom. The bathroom: BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS! The towels were not just old, they were worn and I am not so sure they were actually clean. The so called bath towels were the size of hand towels, and the hand towels wee basically washcloths. Be very careful when washing your face in the tiny sink, it is very east to bang your head on the shelf just above it. The shower had mold/mildew spots on the grout.

There is no lift at all, so you are on your own on a spiraling staircase - do not expect any help at all from the staff.

This could be a nice and charming hotel. There is definitely some work to be done. I would start with the towels and pillows....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wickerlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schoenau am Koenigssee hotels

Kiev
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The girl on reception was not very happy to see us. Terrible tobacco smell in the non-smoking room! The hotel has to indicate that only 6 rooms of 42 with a lake view. The remaining rooms with views of the rooms of adjacent hotels. In the evening we began to realize that the smell of tobacco is not the worst - the kitchen began to stink throughout the hotel. Given the level of service I strongly do not recommend this very overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe see view rooms are better. Check the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KievIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The Hotel Konigssee is one of the 2 main hotels overlooking the end of the lake and, as such, the location cannot be faulted. Despite it's age it does have a relatively modern appearance while retaining it's character. As Konigssee is only about 3 hours drive away from where we live, we have stopped here for the weekend on numerous occasions in both the lake front hotels, but more often in the other one.

We already knew this hotel does not have a lift and we were made aware, when we booked that they only had a basic room without a balcony or lake view available. The room itself was not huge but it was well presented and clean with comfortable beds and a small shower room. In short, it was adequate and good value for the money given the location and a high season weekend.

The first surprise is that, although they mention their own car park, this is not the spaces immediately adjacent to the hotel which, strangely, belong to the Hotel Schiffmeister across the road. The parking is further up seestrasse and, while it is only about 30 m away, it is completely out of sight of the hotel and it is completely uncontrolled so anyone who knows how to get there can park. Arriving in the evening, we were lucky.

The other thing that we did not consider was that, as the room was on the 2nd floor and it was a very hot weekend, the heat that collected in the room was quite oppressive and made sleep difficult. We had both windows fully open but, while Konigssee lakeside is generally quiet at night, seestrasse seemed to be used by many locals and staff talking quite loudly until quite late.

The hotel itself has it's own, in house, restaurant with an open terrace for good weather and breakfast is adequate. However, there are at least 3-4 other very good restaurants within a couple of minutes stroll plus the Echostuble that will take you all of 10 minutes gentle stroll. It has been mentioned that you might need to book at the Echostuble but I have never had a problem.

During the day there are the electric boats that are the only practical way for all but the most fit to get to Salet some 6km away at the far end of the lake. There is a good but basic restaurant on the short walk to Obersee. On the way back St. Bartholomew has some wonderful views and more facilities (Fishery, restaurant, biergarden, walks etc.).

There are also other things to do like a gentle walk to the malerwinkel, with it's spectacular views, and the cable car up the Jenner.

The Hotel Konigssee is an ideal location for all this.

I have had relations stay in one of the main lake facing rooms with a balcony and they were very happy but I would suggest that you consider if the Category D rooms are right for you if you expect the weather to be hot (do you cope well with the heat and can you sleep with staff chatting below your open window.).

For us, as we are getting older, the lack of lift is a significant issue but, other than that and my reservations over the Cat D rooms, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAllinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
0.7 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
#14 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigssee

Property: Hotel Koenigssee
Address: Seestr. 29, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigssee 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Koenigssee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Koenigssee Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing