We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel if you like the stairs”
Review of Hotel Koenigssee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Koenigssee
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel if you like the stairs”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the restaurant served good food with big portions. Breakfast was very nice with various meats, cheeses, fruit, jam, yoghurt, cereal and breads on offer. The cooked breakfast was eggs scrambled or boiled, with sausages and bacon. Our room was ok with 2 chairs, a table, double bed, TV and shower toilet. The room was always kept clean but the walls are a bit thin and we could hear the TV from next door, it wasn't loud though. Also be aware that if you have a heavy suitcase you might struggle with the stairs.
Otherwise the location was excellent and contributed to a wonderful overall stay in this area.

Room Tip: Lake side view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    33
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is about as good as it gets, right next to the boat launch piers, and prices were reasonable. Breakfast would be fine for most people for a day or two, with quite a variety in breads and jams. Rooms are clean, but tiny. Furniture was in good shape, they said they were renovated a year ago, but nothing was charming, modern or rustic. Everything felt cheap. Yet, with such a good location, all of that seemed acceptable. If the weather was warm enough to have breakfast outdoors, the view would have been unbeatable. Even if it is too cold for that, you can take a nice scenic walk around the area before breakfast and still catch the first boat of the day and beat the crowds. A few hours later, at least on weekends, the trails start teeming with people, too crowded to feel the peaceful nature of the area. (I don't remember ever feeling a hiking path too crowded to enjoy, this must be a first.) Do everything you can to take that first boat.

No WiFi in rooms, but WiFi in the second floor lounge/TV room was quite fast.

The little village becomes a ghost town after the tourists from the last boat leaves. There are only a handful of restaurants and most tend to close early. Try the lakeside restaurant further away, close to the bob sled structure. It was warm, had a nice, charming traditional looking interior and the food was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TatilSeverUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel was located right by the lake and close to shopping areas. The hotels restaurant served very good food and offered a good selection of well priced drinks. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

On arrival, we were struck by the atmosphere of a depressing Alpine youth hostel - the horror of my childhood. Cold, undecorated hallways with tiles, smell of old food,... not the most pleasant of greetings. At least the person at the reception was friendly and helpful.

Our room was basically at the end of the very long building, overlooking a parking lot. We had booked a room with sea view and were subsequently rather disappointed. On asking if we could have the room we had originally booked, we were told that no such room was currently available.

Apart from the view, our room was ok, all in all, despite the aged furniture. Don't expect anything fancy, the hotel is a simply a roof over your head in preparation of a hiking trip around the lake. Unfortunately, our bathroom smelled unpleasant, and the alarm clock next to our bed made an extremely loud humming sound so we had to unplug it.

The breakfast was alright and copious, though nothing special.

I would not recommend this hotel. Of course the location is unbeatable - right next to the lake - but for all other comforts, it would be better to stay some place else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schoenau am Koenigssee hotels

Cyberflânerie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

For a visit to Königsee, this location is the best -- right there by the dock. I could see a bit of the lake from my room, and the restaurant below also has a great view. It's perfect for a long day of trekking in the area, particularly since the bus back into Berchtesgaden stops relatively early in the evening (around 19:30 when I checked the schedule).

Reception was very helpful and they even let me into my room early (I arrived around 10:30 and check-in wasn't until 15:00 according to their rules). Don't count on this though; the room I got might've been empty the night before. The room itself was rather modest in the context of the price, but it was still more than enough to meet my needs.

The breakfast was very nice, a lot of variety and a pleasant environment to have it.

One serious annoyance though: while there is wi-fi, they shut it down when they close reception at 22:00. I have no idea why they would do this, but it was very frustrating when I expected to use it to plan the next part of my trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

we stayed there as part of a trekking weekend around Koenigsee. The main quality of this hotel is without any doubt its location right at the lake in the pedestrian area. This is a must in town. The room were simply furnished but clean. The hotel looks nice from the outside but does not have the same charm inside.

Only the bathroom would need some refurbishment.

Staff was friendly, breakfast was good.

Recommended for an overnight stay in the region, but our room was one of the cheapest so nothing romantic to expect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Although I am much used to be in more luxurious hotels, due to full occupancy in this area I was forced to stay at this hotel.
The rooms are simple but clean, the breakfast was very good and the location was superb.
For the money I paid I received a fair deal and I think this is the main issue here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoenau am Koenigssee
0.7 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
Hotel Konigsseer Hof
#14 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pension Berganemone
Pension Berganemone
#2 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
541 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
#12 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigssee

Property: Hotel Koenigssee
Address: Seestr. 29, 83471 Schoenau am Koenigssee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schoenau am Koenigssee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Schoenau am Koenigssee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koenigssee 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Koenigssee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Koenigssee Germany/Schoenau Am Koenigssee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing