We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what hotels should be like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Reichshof
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Norden
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is what hotels should be like”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Reichshof - I only booked one night since we were passing through, but I sincerely wish we could have stayed for longer. Staff in all areas of service are really friendly and efficient and you get the impression that nothing is too much for them.The hotel has a very lovely spa area - much bigger than many 'professional' spas in the UK and absolutely free to use. The decor of the hotel is very traditional, which works in all the main areas. I only booked the most basic room since we were not going to be there for long and it was spacious and very clean with a good bathroom. Although the heavy brown furniture in the room is not necessarily to my taste, I was very impressed that water and juices from the minibar were free of charge. It was a hot day and it was very much appreciated. Robes, slippers and toiletries are provided even in the most basic rooms, as is an umbrella should you want to go for a walk. All those little details make this hotel a fantastic place to stay. Breakfast was very good - do try the East Frisian raisin bread. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening- we only wanted a small dish but what we got was a very substantial portion of delicious food and excellent wine at a very reasonalble price. Next time I will definitely try to have a full dinner. This hotel is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    40
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
106
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My family reunion was in Norden during Christi Himmelfahrt and because I do not live in the hometown of my grandparents I had the opportunity to see a hotel which really is special. The stay was only for one night and we arrived too late to really enjoy everything the Reichshof has to offer:

Location: The Reichshof is excellently located in the very centre of Norden, fronting onto a pedestrian zone and accessed (by car) via the cobbled back-lane with a car park opposite the hotel's lane's entrance.

The Hotel: It is a range of exquisite warehouses (I believe from my uncle- the corn stores for the harbour) which have been converted to be hotel rooms, restaurant, apartments and pool with sauna. The lane between the buildings leads to a lovely "Wellness" garden with sun loungers and options to sit outside during the more clement days of your stay.

The accommodation: a friend booked this last minute for us and so we got the only room going- an apartment which was sold to us as a family room.

We, however, had our own Scandinavian wooden staircase to the living-room which featured magazines, a free (non-alcoholic) drinks bar with reasonably priced high-end "nibbles" (yummy!), a decent television, a sofa which doubles as another double bed, a Scandinavian wardrobe, exquisite views over the Wellness garden/courtyard toward the pool and sauna (warehouse) building.

This, in turn, led to another hallway with lovely cozy child's bedroom off, modern family shower-room with lovely courtesy toiletries and rubber duck sitting in the shower tray surrounded by a fan-folded bathmat and a real orchid plant (little things like this actually matter a lot) and which ended at-

The master bedroom with Scandinavian furniture, another orchid on the coffee table, a massive double bed with two mattresses and the white towelling robes, slippers etc to prompt a visit to the hotel's leisure faciilties.

Overall the accommodation was exceptional- everything of the highest standard as well as attractive. Quiet, though backing onto the cobbled back-lane.

The Restaurant: Having not eaten at lunch and having arrived late we were pleased to note that the restaurant was open comfortably late. The service was attentive and professional and the food was very good indeed. Typical for a hotel restaurant in every way except price. It was remarkably cheap for what we had and there was no need to feel that we'd have been better off going out to eat. As it was family joined us at nearly 11pm for coffee and the service couldn't have been better.

Breakfast: Very good by German standards (I live in Scotland, frequent good class B&Bs and am used to very good breakfasts so have a standard which German breakfasts cannot beat) and served in the breakfast room in the main building.

I WISH we could have stayed on, but there you are. It was a lucky chance to have happened on this hotel and I will be back, this time with time to spare and with plans to use the facilities in Summer!

Room Tip: Tip: Try your luck at a last minute booking- you can get some excellent discounts on the day! An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annasach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I recently went to the Romantik Hotel in Norden and have spent 2 nights to expore the region.
It certainly is a beautiful and cosy hotel, excellently located within the town center and relatively easy to find even if you are not familiar with the region.
Upon arrivial there was a very friendly and helpful receptionist who guided us to our room and made us feel very welcome.
We went to have dinner in the restaurant. The food was cooked nearly to perfection (went there on the second night too, merely because we could not imagine another place delivering a similiar quality!) and here, too, the staff were super friendly. Everything took rather long but to give them credit the place was quite packed and the supervisor came to see us and apologised.
The breakfast is a treat, choices of bread, cheese and meat are fantastic. Whenever you go there make sure you have enought time to taste everything.
Generelly I have to point out the overall friendlyness of the staff who are without expection very polite and nice.

We sleept in an adjacent building, the room was very big and the bathroom massive, however there was a road just outside my window which is busy in terms of the location, so if you have a light sleep don't go there.

Slight downturn of the stay was that I had asked for a non-smoking room but after the room odeur product had worn off you smelled clearly that at least once it had been a smoking room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabulousJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, NL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Amazingly cozy and beautiful hotel, all details are simply perfect, the spa is recently remade and fantatsic! rooms are spacy and have very comfy beds...Restaurant food is good, but nothing special, same for breakfast....staying at the hotel makes your stay in Norden like a fairy-tale event! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Stayed at this nice hotel for 7d6n! it was a very nice experience! we did a half board stay.. food and servers were excellent! I especially loved their Spa services on the building next to the hotel. Truly relaxing and a nice treat from my partner for my birthday! It was also an unforgettable experience to go for the Scandanavian dinner buffet. It was my first time to eat some reindeer meat! I would just need to be careful in deleting this part to my nephew. Otherwise, he would have thought I have eaten Santa Claus' ride!
The hotel is located right in central part of their city. Shops abound on every corner! Loved it! Would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjoancv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norden
3.0 mi away
Hotel Faehrhaus
Hotel Faehrhaus
#1 of 9 in Norddeich
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel und Restaurant Grosser Krug
8.1 mi away
Der Romantik-Hof
Der Romantik-Hof
#7 of 7 in Greetsiel
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ostfriesland Hotel
Ostfriesland Hotel
#15 of 28 in Norden
30 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Aquarius
Hotel Aquarius
#4 of 9 in Norddeich
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Norden
Apart Hotel Norden
#19 of 28 in Norden
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Reichshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Reichshof

Property: Romantik Hotel Reichshof
Address: Neuer Weg 53, 26506, Norden, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel Reichshof)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Norden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Norden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Hotel Reichshof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantik Hotel Reichshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing