We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok to good”
Review of Stolberger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stolberger Hof
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stolberg
Rottnest Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It was ok to good”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are just ok for the price, no ac in rooms and room 7 was very warm and we couldn't get it to cool down, small fridge was also warm and TV was from 1980. Room 9 was the opposite, very spacious and nice street view but can be loud if there are parties in the street. Reception staff were very efficient and friendly, easy off street parking and the wellness and pool are fantastic. Restaurant food was good with a good menu selection available and reasonable prices, continental breakfast selection a tad lacking and fruit salad was old and brown. Restaurant device was good. Nice place to stay in the beautiful old town.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andygrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
16
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed over in this delightful town en route to Prague. Despite booking a room with a bath we were only given a shower, there was a barking dog in a neighbouring room and we were regretting the booking! We did ask for another room but were told ( rather frostily!) it would be another 50 euro. We did however sleep well and ate a good breakfast. We had a booking for our return trip, we were allocated a much better room! We ate an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant, what it lacked in atmosphere it made up for in food quality.
The interior of this hotel is very disappointing, after pulling up outside we were really excited as it is so beautiful and positively medieval looking! The interior is 1980's we kept expecting Alan Partridge to arrive. It is very clean and reasonable value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missfoodlove2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is set right in the middle of the beautiful town of Stolberg. As others have mentioned, Stolberg is a very picturesque town in the Harz mountains. It is almost completely composed of half-timbered buildings. The Schloss overlooking the town is in rather poor condition but it is currently being restored. It offers good views over the town.

I used this hotel as a base for exploring the eastern part of the Harz mountains, and it worked well for that. The train station at Alexisbad is less than 30 minutes away. From there you can catch the steam train to Quedlinburg.

The hotel itself was comfortable and very clean. My room was large, but I think (based on the fire diagram on the door) that the rooms vary greatly in size. The hotel appears to have some rooms in the original part of the building (those rooms look small) and some in a newer wing (which are considerably larger).

Breakfast, as usual in Germany, was extensive and good, and as mentioned in another review the free parking behind the hotel was convenient.

The staff speak some English but are not fluent. However, they are friendly and helpful, and between their somewhat limited English and my limited German there were no problems in sorting everything out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Although the Stolberger Hof is no doubt mediaeval, there is no clue inside that this is the case (we didn’t go into the cellar): although everything is certainly clean and decent, it just feels like a standard modern hotel inside, except that our room (Komfort Doppelzimmer) was rather small and rather expensive for what it was.

The restaurant was nicely presented, but it too gives no indication of the hotel being so old. Breakfast itself was fine: a reasonable selection, and of good quality.

The hotel’s free private parking is very convenient. The location of the hotel is also very good: right in the middle of the town, with good views out. It is, however, rather noisy at night-time, as the cobbled streets make passing cars (of which there are quite a few) sound much louder than they would otherwise.

Stolberg itself is so beautifully restored and so totally mediaeval in character (half-timbering literally everywhere) that it looks almost like a Disney film-set. The emphasis on witchcraft (there are large puppets of witches and other characters everywhere) might be puzzling and a little creepy to foreigners who aren’t into that sort of thing, though.

The hotel has an interesting photo on the staircase of Stolberg being visited by Field Marshal von Hindenburg in 1924. For the younger generation, a short biography under the photograph of Paul v. Hindenburg and his many achievements might be enlightening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_M_Warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stolberg is a small village in the Harz Mountains with timber-framed houses and a small castle which was surprise that there was no charge to walk through! . Wellness area is equipped with sauna, bio sauna, steam bath and pool area. The pool is wonderful with multiple jets throughout the pool. The price was reasonable and the staff polite. Would come back for a stay and would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Room #11 was larger than most
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

I cannot add too much to the previous review. Again tripadvisor didn't disappoint my decision in booking this hotel. I stayed one night for a business trip. For the price I paid I would definetly come again but this time with my wife. Not only the hotel but also the location has a romantic character.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I made a business stop over for one night at the hotel and enjoyed my short time very much. Stolberg is a nice village with timber-framed houses, so a short walk-around is a must.
Stuff is very helpful and polite. Interior is country-house style. My room (Nr. 11) and bathroom were bigger than expected. Besides this, they were clean and normally equipped for this class (phone, TV, minibar). Wellness area is a big surprise: it's equipped with sauna, bio sauna (lower temperatures, nice light and music), steam bath and pool area. You can enjoy it till 10 pm, so this is an extra plus for business clients, that arrive late.
Besides this, it takes a time to get accustomed to the confusing ways inside the hotel. It was kind of trial and error getting to and from the wellness area - funny!
Concerning location, price, friendlyness and wellness options, i can really recommend this nice place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stolberg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zum Buergergarten
Hotel Zum Buergergarten
#3 of 6 in Stolberg
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel FreiWerk
Hotel FreiWerk
#2 of 6 in Stolberg
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
Naturresort Schindelbruch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zum Kanzler
Zum Kanzler
#5 of 6 in Stolberg
32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ferienhotel Wolfsmuhle
Ferienhotel Wolfsmuhle
#1 of 1 in Rodishain
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthaus Kupfer
Gasthaus Kupfer
#1 of 2 in Stolberg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stolberger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stolberger Hof

Property: Stolberger Hof
Address: Markt 6, 06536 Stolberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Stolberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stolberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stolberger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Stolberger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing