We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel as base for a Rhine River Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Weinhotel und Gaestehaus Gutsschaenke Sennerhof
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Oberwesel
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel as base for a Rhine River Vacation”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a lovely, small hotel conveniently located to enjoy all the sights and events happening along the historic middle Rhine Valley. The hotel/restaurant is set just outside of town in the vineyards where the Persch family makes magic with their Riesling grapes. The Wine Tasting was excellent! The location offers a quiet stay away from the frequent trains that run up and down the Rhine as well as free parking. There is a pretty view of the Castle Schonburg from the terrace restaurant. The rooms are reasonably priced, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good with fresh grape juice every morning! Dinner at the restaurant was delicious. The Persch family spoke very good English and was very helpful assisting us with arrangements for our excursions. This wonderful little hotel is a great, central location to stay as you explore the beautiful Middle Rhine River.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrucianSugarbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have stayed in this delightful small hotel on most of our trips to Germany. We stay here to adjust to local time and relax. The family running the hotel are great. A real value for the location. We are always included in any activities taking place at this winery. We have been a part of the harvest and bottling and tasting. Food in the restaurant is excellent and a great variety. Their wines are excellent and we take a couple of bottles with us when we leave.

Room Tip: Request one of their larger rooms. We request the "Riesling" as it is on the side overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This historic vineyard hotel is reasonably priced with a view of the Schonburg castle. In spite of the low rates the place is super clean and the rooms are large and airy. We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast was very nice. The only caveat is that is located about 1.5 kilometers from downtown so travelers without a car have a hike to town and back. We will definitely choose this place again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on September 2 at Weinhotel and Gutsschaenke Sennerhof. We had dinner on their outdoor balcony terrace with views of the vineyards and Schoenburg Castle. The recommended riesling wine was the best I've ever had. The meal was also our favorite of our 21 day trip to Europe. Winfried and Karin were very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was delicious, served in the dining room of the inn. It is absolutely the place to stay while visiting the Rhine River near Oberwesel!

Bill and Pat
Carmel, IN 46032 USA

************************************************************************************************************

Wir genossen unseren Aufenthalt am 2. September im Weinhotel und Gutsschaenke Sennerhof. Wir hatten das Abendessen auf dem Balkon im Freien Terrasse mit Blick auf die Weinberge und Schönburg Burg. Die empfohlene Riesling war der beste den ich je hatte. Das Essen war auch unser Favorit unserer 21 Tage Reise nach Europa. Winfried und Karin waren sehr hilfsbereit und sprachen gutes Englisch. Das Frühstück war lecker, serviert im Speisesaal des Gasthauses. Es ist absolut der Ort für einen Besuch in den Rhein bei Oberwesel!

Bill und Pat
Carmel, IN 46032 USA

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Carmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberwesel
0.7 mi away
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
#3 of 5 in Oberwesel
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Goldener Pfropfenzieher
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
179 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
#1 of 2 in Oberheimbach
72 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weinhotel und Gaestehaus Gutsschaenke Sennerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weinhotel und Gaestehaus Gutsschaenke Sennerhof

Property: Weinhotel und Gaestehaus Gutsschaenke Sennerhof
Address: Rieslingstr. 1, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weinhotel und Gaestehaus Gutsschaenke Sennerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing